Childcare and education franchise finance
Find a childcare and education brand
This guide covers forty-nine brands, each from its own 2026 FDD. Open one, or pick two and compare them.
Top performers
These are the things that separate top performers in childcare and education
Across the childcare and education brands that publish both figures, the median top group of locations sells $1,123,054 a year and the median bottom group sells $247,465. Across these brands, a median of 43% of locations reach their own brand’s average.
Decided before you open
- Opening cost against sales.The top group sells $1,123,054 a year against a build that tops out at $8,908,000, so at the heavy end of the range a location sells $0.13 for every dollar it cost to open.
- Rent as a share of sales.Occupancy runs 13.5% of sales at the middle brand, which on median sales of $633,950 is $85,678 of rent a year. That same $85,678 is 7.6% of sales at the top group and 34.6% at the bottom. Top-group locations put more sales through the same square footage, with longer earning hours, a second daypart, and a site picked for traffic.
Live operating levers
- Thirty-six of the forty-nine brands here sell a place for a child.
Business model attribute
- Service
- A place for a child, paid by the month or term
- Unit economics
- Places filled times the fee for each place
- Fifteen of the forty-nine brands here publish how a new location builds up.
Business model attribute
- Service
- The FDD’s month-by-month build-up of a new location
- Unit economics
- Months until sales cover costs
- Wages by brand.Wages run 35.3% of sales at the middle brand and 14.7% to 48.6% across the nineteen that disclose it. The levers are scheduling against booked demand hour by hour, sales per paid hour, and keeping part of pay variable. On the top group’s $1,123,054 of sales, a point of wages are $11,231 a year; on the bottom group’s $247,465 it is $2,475.
- Cost of goods by brand.Products and materials take 29.1% of sales at the middle brand, 0.5% to 47.2% across the nine that disclose it. The levers on this line are buying on the brand program, holding the price list instead of discounting to close, and counting waste weekly.
- Profit margin.Of the twenty brands that publish a profit line, the middle one keeps 24.2% of sales, from 14.7% to 31.6%. The cost lines above move by a few points between the highest-selling and lowest-selling locations while sales move by multiples. At a 24.2% margin, the top group earns $271,779 a year and the bottom group $59,887.
- Fees as a share of sales.Fees run a median 9.3% of sales across forty-three brands, from 5.0% to 18.4%. Where a minimum applies, lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. At $1,123,054 the fees cost $104,669 a year; at $247,465 they cost $23,064.
Context you underwrite around
- First-year build-up.Fifteen of forty-nine filings in this category show how a new location builds up. The others do not show it.
- Brands without sales bands.Twelve brands publish only an average, with no sales bands.
The model
The business model the top performers in childcare and education are running
What the top performers can do that others cannot
Thirty-six of the forty-nine brands here sell a place for a child. Rostering against demand is the constraint: wages run 35.3% of sales at the middle brand, more than any other line.
What the customer is buying
The customer buys a place held week after week. At two of them the model is different: the customer buys a class or session, often in a pack, which asks something else of the owner. A location at the middle brand sells $449,470 a year; the top group sells $797,806. The offer is the same at both ends of that range, so the difference is volume. The product is the same.
Who the customer is, and how often they come back
This is a retention business. The money is made in the second year of a customer, not the first month, so the number that decides the year is how many stay. Among the childcare and education brands that publish it, a median 43% of locations reach their own brand’s average. The top group sells $1,123,054 against $247,465 at the bottom. Trade area and site set that range before an owner takes a booking.
How the money works
Opening costs $34,200 to $8,908,000 across the category, and inside one brand the top of the range is typically 2.0 times the bottom. At the middle brand the cost stack runs wages 35.3%, occupancy 13.5%, cost of sales 29.1%, franchise fees 9.3% of sales. What is left runs 24.2% at the middle brand, which is $271,779 a year at the top group and $59,887 at the bottom. The percentage changes little between them; the dollars change a lot. Cash and earned revenue arrive in different periods here, so the cash forecast matters more than the profit line in any given month. Fifteen of these brands publish how a new location builds up, so the first year can be read out of the document instead of guessed at.
Every brand billing above $2 million a unit reports a margin of 21.8% or less. Below $700,000, margins run from 16.0% at Young Chefs Academy to 30.4% at Mathnasium. Sales per unit ranges 34.5 times over, from $80,569 to $2,779,923 *. The lowest margin, 14.7%, is at Lightbridge Academy, which bills $2,599,877 a unit.
Childcare and education franchises at a glance
- Averan Franchise compares forty-nine childcare and education franchise brands, each from its own 2026 FDD.
- The cost to open a childcare and education franchise runs from $34,200 at Bricks 4 Kidz to $8,908,000 at The Goddard School.
- Primrose Schools reports the highest average sales of these brands, at $2,779,923, and Challenge Island the lowest, at $80,569.
- Franchise fees take 5% to 18.35% of sales across the forty-three brands where Averan Franchise works out the figure.
These figures come from each brand's 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, as the brand reported them, and were read by Averan Advisors.
- Among the first ten brands in the profit table, every brand billing over $2 million keeps 21.8% or less, and every brand under $700,000 keeps 21.4% or more. That is 14.7% to 21.8% against 21.4% to 30.4% across those ten brands *, two groups separated by four tenths of a point.
- Staff take 40.1% to 48.6% of revenue at the childcare centers and 14.7% to 35.6% at the enrichment brands. Twelve brands publish it, and 4.5 points separate the two groups *, licensed staff-to-child ratios on one side, class size on the other.
- Payback on the cheapest way in runs from under six months to 4 years 9 months. i9 Sports opens at $59,900 against $129,545 of annual profit, and Primrose opens at $2,152,500 against $453,127 *.
- Franchise fees run from 5% to 18.35% of revenue. We Rock The Spectrum charges 5% and KidStrong charges 18.35% *, a gap of 13.35 points, which on KidStrong’s $771,838 average is $103,040 a year.
- Fourteen of the seventeen brands publishing attainment report fewer than half their units reaching the average. Bach to Rock and Soccer Shots are at 32%, Challenge Island at 34% and Celebree at 56%. So in most of this category the published average describes an upper-middle unit.
By type of business.
- Tutoring and learning centers 7 brandsBest in Class Education Center · Brain Balance · Huntington Learning Center · Kumon · LearningRx · Mathnasium · Sylvan Learning
- Early education and child care 7 brandsCelebree School · Kiddie Academy · Lightbridge Academy · Primrose Schools · Soccer Shots · The Goddard School · The Learning Experience
- STEM and coding 5 brandsBricks 4 Kidz · Challenge Island · Code Ninjas · Engineering For Kids · Snapology
- Music and art 4 brandsBach to Rock · School of Rock · We Rock The Spectrum · Young Rembrandts
- Swim schools and youth sports 9 brandsAqua-Tots · Big Blue Swim School · British Swim School · Goldfish Swim School · i9 Sports · SafeSplash Swim School · Skyhawks Sports Academy · The Little Gym · Water Wings Swim School
Every brand in this guide
Scale against margin
Bigger revenue, smaller share.
Twenty of the forty-nine brands publish a profit figure, and the table below shows fifteen of them. Among the first ten rows, sorted by margin, the brands sort almost exactly by size in reverse. Mathnasium bills $384,874 and keeps 30.4%. Primrose bills $2,779,923 and keeps 16.3%. The dollars still favor the large brands ($453,127 against $117,002) but they cost seventeen times as much to open.
| Brand | Average revenue | Margin | Profit * | Cost to open, low | Payback * |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mathnasium | $384,874 | 30.4% | $117,002 | $127,316 | 1.09 years |
| Soccer Shots | $222,830 | 28.3% | $63,061 | $42,950 | 0.68 years |
| i9 Sports | $514,066 | 25.2% | $129,545 | $59,900 | 0.46 years |
| School of Rock | $683,344 | 24.2% | $165,369 | $378,050 | 2.29 years |
| Bach to Rock | $587,341 | 24.2% | $142,137 | $259,100 | 1.82 years |
| The Goddard School | $2,507,631 | 21.8% | $546,664 | $1,003,500 | 1.84 years |
| LearningRx | $346,367 | 21.4% | $74,123 | $150,000 | 2.02 years |
| Primrose Schools | $2,779,923 | 16.3% | $453,127 | $2,152,500 | 4.75 years |
| Celebree School | $2,190,264 | 15.2% | $332,920 | $1,023,550 | 3.07 years |
| Lightbridge Academy | $2,599,877 | 14.7% | $382,182 | $834,868 | 2.18 years |
| Building Kidz School | $1,369,469 | 31.6% | $433,163 | $327,000 | 0.75 years |
| Jungle Driving School | $678,674 | 25.4% | $172,383 | $198,017 | 1.15 years |
| Montessori Kids Universe | $1,624,447 | 20.0% | $324,889 | $883,658 | 2.72 years |
| WorldKids School | $1,920,700 | 23.5% | $451,172 | $378,385 | 0.84 years |
| Young Chefs Academy | $266,024 | 16.0% | $42,564 | $238,735 | 5.61 years |
Average revenue and margin are as the brand reported it by each brand. The profit and payback columns are marked *, multiplying the filed margin by the filed average and dividing the low investment estimate by the result.
Two groups, and a 2.4-point corridor between them. Goddard at 21.8% is the highest of the big four and Bach to Rock at 24.2% the lowest-selling of the small four, with every brand outside the gap.
Soccer Shots returns $1.47 of annual profit for every dollar of opening cost; Primrose returns 21 cents. * That compares a $42,950 low estimate against $63,061 with a $2,152,500 low estimate against $453,127.
Where the money goes
Staffing splits the category in two.
Nine brands publish what staff cost them. Four run between 40.1% and 48.6% of revenue, and five run between 14.7% and 26.5%. The 13.6 points in between hold every brand outside, because the two groups are governed by different rules. A childcare center has licensed staff-to-child ratios that set headcount before a single enrollment is sold. An enrichment brand sets its own class size.
| Brand | Average revenue | Staff | Building costs | Franchise fees * | Margin |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Celebree School | $2,190,264 | 48.6% | 15.6% | 9.79% | 15.2% |
| Kiddie Academy | $2,193,815 | 46.49% | 16.90% | 9% | n/a |
| Lightbridge Academy | $2,599,877 | 45.0% | 15.0% | 10% | 14.7% |
| Primrose Schools | $2,779,923 | 44.4% | 12.3% | 9% | 16.3% |
| The Goddard School | $2,507,631 | 40.1% | 13.6% | 11% | 21.8% |
| LearningRx | $346,367 | 35.6% | 12.2% | 12.85% | 21.4% |
| i9 Sports | $514,066 | 28.3% | 11.0% | 10.31% | 25.2% |
| Bach to Rock | $587,341 | 26.5% | n/a | 10% | 24.2% |
| Soccer Shots | $222,830 | 22.4% | 3.8% | 8% | 28.3% |
| Mathnasium | $384,874 | 20.6% | 12.8% | 12% | 30.4% |
| Best in Class Education Center | $223,624 | 19.9% | 17.6% | 16% | n/a |
| School of Rock | $683,344 | 14.7% | 9.8% | 11% | 24.2% |
| Jungle Driving School | $678,674 | 43.4% | 6.8% | 9.35% | 25.4% |
| WorldKids School | $1,920,700 | 47.03% | 13.43% | 8% | 23.49% |
| Young Chefs Academy | $266,024 | 34% | 22% | 9.32% | 16% |
Revenue, staff share, occupancy cost share and margin are as the brand reported it by each brand; Franchise fees column is marked *.
Staff and premises together take 53.7% to 64.2% at the four childcare brands. Against 24.5% to 37.5% at the enrichment brands that publish both *, so the center model needs three times the revenue to reach a smaller margin.
Building costs run 9.8% to 17.6% everywhere except on the field. Best in Class pays the largest share at 17.6% on $223,624. School of Rock pays the smallest indoor share, 9.8% on $683,344. So a bigger room earns its rent by filling more hours.
Franchise fees
Nine percent, or twenty-two.
Royalty is the smaller part of the pattern. Eight of the fourteen brands charge a 7% royalty. What separates them is everything stacked on top. Advertising funds run up to 5%, and local advertising requirements from 1% to 6%. Technology charges from $100 to $1,450 a month. Sylvan reaches 22% and The Learning Experience stops at 9%.
| Brand | Royalty | Ad fund | Local ad | Tech a month | Total * | At the average * |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Huntington Learning Center | 9.5% | 2% | n/a | $1,375 | 15.84% | $96,538 |
| Sylvan Learning | 11% | 5% | 6% | $114 | 16% | $60,125 |
| Best in Class Education Center | 12% | 2% | 4% | $100 | 16% | $35,780 |
| Brain Balance | 8% | 2% | 9% | $208 | 10% | $68,293 |
| Code Ninjas | 8.25% | 2% | 4% | $700 | 13.8% | $32,690 |
| Engineering For Kids | 7% | 2% | 2% | $200 | n/a | n/a |
| School of Rock | 8% | 3% | 3% | $345 | 11% | $75,168 |
| Bach to Rock | 7% | 3% | 3% | $250 | 10% | $58,734 |
| Snapology | 7% | 1% | 5% | $125 | 8% | $9,067 |
| LearningRx | 8% | 3% | 5% | $200 | 12.85% | $44,508 |
| Challenge Island | 7% | 2% | n/a | n/a | 12.16% | $9,797 |
| Lightbridge Academy | 7% | 3% | 2% | $400 | 10% | $259,988 |
| Celebree School | 7% | 2% | 2% | $1,450 | 9.79% | $214,427 |
| Mathnasium | 10% | 2% | n/a | $266 | 12% | $46,185 |
| The Goddard School | 7% | 4% | n/a | $700 | 11% | $275,839 |
| Skyhawks Sports Academy | 8% | 0% | 3% | n/a | 8% | $14,282 |
| Bricks 4 Kidz | 7% | 2% | 2% | $250 | 9% | $9,163 |
| Young Rembrandts | 10% | 1% | n/a | n/a | 11% | $15,739 |
| i9 Sports | 7.5% | 2% | n/a | $333 | 10.31% | $52,999 |
| Primrose Schools | 7% | 2% | 1% | n/a | 9% | $250,193 |
| Soccer Shots | 7% | 1% | 2% | n/a | 8% | $17,826 |
| The Learning Experience | 7% | 1% | n/a | $525 | 9% | $196,775 |
| Kiddie Academy | 7% | 2% | n/a | n/a | 9% | $197,443 |
| We Rock The Spectrum | 5% | n/a | n/a | $475 | 5% | n/a |
| Kumon | Zero | n/a | n/a | n/a | Per student | n/a |
| Building Kidz School | 7% | 1% | n/a | $360 | 8.32% | $113,940 |
| Ivybrook Academy | 7% | 2% | 1% | $250 | 9.32% | $87,011 |
| Jungle Driving School | 7% | 0% | 0% | $499 | 9.35% | $63,456 |
| KidStrong | 8.5% | 1.65% | 5% | $562 | 18.35% | $141,632 |
| Montessori Kids Universe | 7% | 0% | n/a | $500 | 8.11% | $131,743 |
| New Mom School | 7% | 2% | 3% | $260 | 13.14% | $67,114 |
| Shredder Indoor Ski and Snowboard School | 6% | 1% | 0% | $300 | 8.17% | $25,112 |
| theCoderSchool | 5% | 1% | n/a | $99 | 6.39% | $19,635 |
| Tutu School | 5% | 2% | 5% | $95 | 7.4% | $20,954 |
| WorldKids School | 6% | 2% | n/a | $700 | 8% | $153,656 |
| Young Chefs Academy | 6% | 2% | n/a | $250 | 9.32% | $24,782 |
Rates and technology charges are as the brand reported it. The total and the dollar column are marked *, adding the percentage charges and applying them to each brand's filed average revenue.
The 13-point range between the cheapest and dearest brand is worth $48,851 a year at Sylvan's average *. That is 77.5% of what a Soccer Shots territory keeps in a whole year.
Technology charges range from $100 a month to $1,450. Celebree is at the top and Best in Class at the bottom. That on Best in Class's $223,624 average is 0.5% of revenue and on Celebree's $2,190,264 is 0.8%.
Operating levers
What each brand’s top performers actually work on
These are the levers each brand's filing supports. Each brand has three to five, read from its own 2026 FDD. Filter by type of business, or open a brand for the figures underneath.
48 brands
Bach to Rock
Music and art
- Wages. Wages take 26.5% of sales, against 24.2% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Sales depend on admissions. The doors are open whether anyone comes or not, so the owner works on how many come through in an open hour and what each spends beyond the ticket.
- Service and retail mix. Retail sales and the share of customers on higher service tiers raise revenue per hour without adding hours or rooms.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 10.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
Best in Class Education Center
Tutoring and learning centers
- Wages. Wages take 19.9% of sales. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 17.6% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 16.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Big Blue Swim School
Swim schools and youth sports
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 10.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
Brain Balance
Tutoring and learning centers
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 10.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
Bricks 4 Kidz
STEM and coding
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 9.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
British Swim School
Swim schools and youth sports
- Wages. Wages take 32.9% of sales, against 25.1% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 16.8% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 12.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
Building Kidz School
Early education and child care
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 8.3% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
C2 Education Centers
Tutoring and learning centers
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 10.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Service and retail mix. Retail sales and the share of customers on higher service tiers raise revenue per hour without adding hours or rooms.
Celebree School
Early education and child care
- Wages. Wages take 48.6% of sales, against 15.2% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 15.6% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 9.8% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Challenge Island
STEM and coding
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Memberships and rebooking. A recurring plan turns appointments into a monthly subscription and keeps the schedule fuller. Rebooking before the customer leaves keeps it full.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 12.2% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Children’s Music Academy
Music and art
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 8.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
Code Ninjas
STEM and coding
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 13.8% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Engineering For Kids
STEM and coding
- Sales depend on sessions. The room holds a set number of people at a set time, so the owner works on how full each session runs.
- Fees and the minimum. A minimum fee applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
Eye Level Learning Center
Tutoring and learning centers
- Fees and the minimum. The brand’s charges are set dollar amounts, so they take a larger share of sales at lower-selling locations.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
Goldfish Swim School
Swim schools and youth sports
- Wages. Wages take 35.3% of sales, against 28.1% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 11.4% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 8.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
Huntington Learning Center
Tutoring and learning centers
- Accounts. Accounts bill year after year. Track how many you keep as well as how many you win.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 15.8% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
i9 Sports
Swim schools and youth sports
- Products and materials. Products and materials take 29.1% of sales, against 25.2% kept at the end. The levers are buying terms, price discipline and waste.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 11.0% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 10.3% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Ivybrook Academy
Early education and child care
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 9.3% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
JEI Learning Center
Tutoring and learning centers
- Fees and the minimum. The brand’s charges are set dollar amounts, so they take a larger share of sales at lower-selling locations.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
Jungle Driving School
Other
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 9.3% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Wages. Wages take 43.4% of sales, against 25.4% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
Kiddie Academy
Early education and child care
- Wages. Wages take 46.5% of sales. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 16.9% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 9.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
KidStrong
Swim schools and youth sports
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 18.4% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Membership drives the model. Track how many members join, how many cancel, and what each member spends beyond the plan.
- Sales depend on sessions. The room holds a set number of people at a set time, so the owner works on how full each session runs.
Kumon
Tutoring and learning centers
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Service and retail mix. Retail sales and the share of customers on higher service tiers raise revenue per hour without adding hours or rooms.
LearningRx
Tutoring and learning centers
- Wages. Wages take 35.6% of sales, against 21.4% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 12.2% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Sales depend on customers. The owner works on how many customers are won, how many are lost, and what each spends in a year.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 12.8% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Lightbridge Academy
Early education and child care
- Wages. Wages take 45.0% of sales, against 14.7% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 15.0% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 10.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Lil' Angels Photography
Other
- Fees and the minimum. The brand’s charges are set dollar amounts, so they take a larger share of sales at lower-selling locations.
- Accounts. Accounts bill year after year. Track how many you keep as well as how many you win.
- Sales depend on customers. The owner works on how many customers are won, how many are lost, and what each spends in a year.
Mathnasium
Tutoring and learning centers
- Products and materials. Products and materials take 37.7% of sales, against 30.4% kept at the end. The levers are buying terms, price discipline and waste.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 12.8% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 12.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Montessori Kids Universe
Early education and child care
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 8.1% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
New Mom School
Other
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 13.1% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
- Sales depend on sessions. The room holds a set number of people at a set time, so the owner works on how full each session runs.
Primrose Schools
Early education and child care
- Wages. Wages take 44.4% of sales, against 16.3% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 12.3% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 9.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
SafeSplash Swim School
Swim schools and youth sports
- Wages. Wages take 32.7% of sales, against 21.3% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 20.0% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Service and retail mix. Retail sales and the share of customers on higher service tiers raise revenue per hour without adding hours or rooms.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 8.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
School of Rock
Music and art
- Products and materials. Products and materials take 36.7% of sales, against 24.2% kept at the end. The levers are buying terms, price discipline and waste.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 9.8% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 11.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Shredder Indoor Ski and Snowboard School
Other
- Fees. Fees run about 8.2% of sales. No minimum royalty applies, so the charge rises and falls with sales.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Service and retail mix. Retail sales and the share of customers on higher service tiers raise revenue per hour without adding hours or rooms.
Skyhawks Sports Academy
Swim schools and youth sports
- Sales depend on sessions. The room holds a set number of people at a set time, so the owner works on how full each session runs.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 8.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
Snapology
STEM and coding
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 8.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Soccer Shots
Early education and child care
- Products and materials. Products and materials take 43.2% of sales, against 28.3% kept at the end. The levers are buying terms, price discipline and waste.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 3.8% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 8.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
STEM Builders Learning Center
STEM and coding
- Fees and the minimum. The brand’s charges are set dollar amounts, so they take a larger share of sales at lower-selling locations.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
Sylvan Learning
Tutoring and learning centers
- Sales depend on student hours. Families buy hours in blocks, so the owner works on how many hours are delivered each week and how long a family keeps buying them.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 16.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
The Goddard School
Early education and child care
- Wages. Wages take 40.1% of sales, against 21.8% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 13.6% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 11.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
The Learning Experience
Early education and child care
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Memberships and rebooking. A recurring plan turns appointments into a monthly subscription and keeps the schedule fuller. Rebooking before the customer leaves keeps it full.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 9.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
The Little Gym
Swim schools and youth sports
- Membership drives the model. Track how many members join, how many cancel, and what each member spends beyond the plan.
- Gift cards. Gift cards are sold before the service is delivered, and sales peak around the holidays. A gift card is deferred revenue until it is redeemed, so cash and earned revenue arrive in different periods.
- Service and retail mix. Retail sales and the share of customers on higher service tiers raise revenue per hour without adding hours or rooms.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 9.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
theCoderSchool
STEM and coding
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees. Fees run about 6.4% of sales. No minimum royalty applies, so the charge rises and falls with sales.
Tutu School
Other
- Fees. Fees run about 7.4% of sales. No minimum royalty applies, so the charge rises and falls with sales.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
Water Wings Swim School
Swim schools and youth sports
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 9.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Membership drives the model. Track how many members join, how many cancel, and what each member spends beyond the plan.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 20.1% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Wages. Wages take 35.5% of sales. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
We Rock The Spectrum
Music and art
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 5.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
WorldKids School
Early education and child care
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 8.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Wages. Wages take 47.0% of sales, against 23.5% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 13.4% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
Young Chefs Academy
Music and art
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Wages. Wages take 34.0% of sales, against 16.0% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 22.0% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 9.3% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Young Rembrandts
Music and art
- Enrollment. The license sets the number of places. Track how many are filled, the price of each, and how long families stay.
- Gift cards. Gift cards are sold before the service is delivered, and sales peak around the holidays. A gift card is deferred revenue until it is redeemed, so cash and earned revenue arrive in different periods.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 11.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
All 49 brands
All 49 brands, side by side
| Brand | What it does | Units reporting | Average revenue | Median | Franchise fees * | Cost to open |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Primrose Schools | Premium early education and child care | 520 | $2,779,923 | n/a | 9% | $2,152,500–$7,960,300 |
| Lightbridge Academy | Early education and child care | 47 | $2,599,877 | $2,664,063 | 10% | $834,868–$1,409,735 |
| The Goddard School | Premium early education and child care | 620 | $2,507,631 | $2,329,913 | 11% | $1,003,500–$8,908,000 |
| Kiddie Academy | Licensed early childhood academies | 315 | $2,193,815 | $2,075,740 | 9% | $590,000–$1,010,000 |
| Celebree School | Early education with an outdoor playground | 18 | $2,190,264 | $2,260,904 | 9.79% | $1,023,550–$1,404,100 |
| The Learning Experience | Early education and child care | 266 | $2,186,393 | $2,168,511 | 9% | $805,799–$5,658,799 |
| School of Rock | Performance-based music school | 243 | $683,344 | $658,980 | 11% | $378,050–$756,100 |
| Brain Balance | Cognitive development center | 67 | $682,933 | $559,395 | 10% | $221,503–$503,681 |
| Huntington Learning Center | Tutoring and test preparation | 232 | $609,454 | $533,106 | 15.84% | $191,992–$340,632 |
| Bach to Rock | Music lessons, classes and camps | 47 | $587,341 | $541,256 | 10% | $259,100–$574,000 |
| i9 Sports | Seasonal youth sports leagues | 213 | $514,066 | $406,242 | 10.31% | $59,900–$69,900 |
| Mathnasium | Supplemental maths instruction | 914 | $384,874 | $326,428 | 12% | $127,316–$165,846 |
| Sylvan Learning | Supplemental tutoring | 409 | $375,780 | n/a | 16% | $117,600–$288,400 |
| LearningRx | One-to-one cognitive training | 40 | $346,367 | $315,310 | 12.85% | $150,000–$220,000 |
| Code Ninjas | Coding education by subscription | 230 | $236,884 | $216,697 | 13.8% | $73,500–$265,750 |
| Best in Class Education Center | After-school tutoring | 27 | $223,624 | $224,996 | 16% | $84,875–$146,000 |
| Soccer Shots | Children's soccer programs | 149 | $222,830 | $189,390 | 8% | $42,950–$54,300 |
| Skyhawks Sports Academy | Youth sports camps and classes | 32 | $178,521 | $198,902 | 8% | $44,800–$96,750 |
| Young Rembrandts | Drawing and art enrichment | 46 | $143,084 | $124,927 | 11% | $51,650–$60,100 |
| Snapology | STEM enrichment, mobile | 53 | $113,332 | n/a | 8% | $74,950–$105,600 |
| Bricks 4 Kidz | LEGO-based classes and camps | n/a | $101,813 | $72,503 | 9% | $34,200–$110,550 |
| Challenge Island | Mobile STEAM enrichment | 60 | $80,569 | $60,411 | 12.16% | $58,465–$74,050 |
| Kumon | Supplemental tutoring | n/a | n/a | n/a | Per student | $101,630–$233,780 |
| We Rock The Spectrum | Sensory gym | n/a | n/a | n/a | 5% | $178,525–$388,425 |
| Engineering For Kids | STEM enrichment | 22 | n/a | n/a | n/a | $71,200–$139,750 |
| Building Kidz School | Early education and child care | 27 | $1,369,469 | n/a | 8.32% | $327,000–$1,543,000 |
| C2 Education Centers | Tutoring and test preparation centre | n/a | n/a | n/a | 10% | $216,200–$426,100 |
| Children’s Music Academy | Children's music school | n/a | n/a | n/a | 8% | $72,200–$138,200 |
| Eye Level Learning Center | Supplemental tutoring for school-age students | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | $49,968–$133,200 |
| Ivybrook Academy | Early education and child care | 27 | $933,598 | $852,482 | 9.32% | $643,400–$1,174,500 |
| JEI Learning Center | Supplemental tutoring for school-age students | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | $85,000–$139,000 |
| Jungle Driving School | Teen driver training | 1 | $678,674 | $678,674 | 9.35% | $198,017–$308,748 |
| KidStrong | Children's Fitness | 109 | $771,838 | $768,159 | 18.35% | $319,300–$671,200 |
| Lil' Angels Photography | Children's photography at child care centers, schools and youth organizations | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | $41,263–$45,780 |
| Montessori Kids Universe | Early education and child care | 18 | $1,624,447 | $1,503,632 | 8.11% | $883,658–$1,844,008 |
| New Mom School | Postnatal support and education studio | 1 | $510,761 | n/a | 13.14% | $132,630–$221,100 |
| Shredder Indoor Ski and Snowboard School | Indoor ski and snowboard school | 4 | $307,368 | $316,712 | 8.17% | $231,676–$439,209 |
| STEM Builders Learning Center | STEM Enrichment | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | $45,000–$104,700 |
| theCoderSchool | Coding school for children, in person and online | 66 | $307,448 | $274,500 | 6.39% | $79,200–$197,950 |
| Tutu School | Children's ballet studio | 52 | $283,159 | $267,542 | 7.4% | $124,000–$272,000 |
| WorldKids School | Early education and child care | 8 | $1,920,700 | $1,249,890 | 8% | $378,385–$3,826,265 |
| Young Chefs Academy | Children's cooking classes | 26 | $266,024 | $222,612 | 9.32% | $238,735–$563,164 |
| Aqua-Tots | Indoor swim school | 131 | $1,138,797 | $1,008,577 | 8.49% | $1,619,820–$2,939,590 |
| Big Blue Swim School | Swim school | 42 | $1,636,545 | $1,620,442 | 10% | $1,898,350–$3,478,100 |
| British Swim School | Swim school | 168 | $432,912 | $295,286 | 12% | $122,700–$176,050 |
| Goldfish Swim School | Children's swim school | 169 | $1,994,169 | $1,781,634 | 8% | $1,663,263–$3,746,733 |
| SafeSplash Swim School | Children's swim school, dedicated and hosted formats | 37 | $1,058,090 | $964,348 | 8% | $57,500–$1,348,785 |
| The Little Gym | Children's motor-skill development gym | 166 | $658,446 | n/a | 9% | $420,324–$722,773 |
| Water Wings Swim School | Indoor swim school | 8 | $1,592,892 | $1,516,103 | 9.02% | $1,033,500–$1,469,700 |
Revenue, medians, unit counts and investment ranges are as the brand reported it by each brand; Franchise fees column is marked *.
Average revenue differs 27 times over across the category. That is $101,813 at Bricks 4 Kidz to $2,779,923 at Primrose, and the cost to open differs 260 times over, from $34,200 to $8,908,000.
Eight of the twelve brands publishing both put their median below their average. The median sits at 95% of it *, with Bricks 4 Kidz furthest apart at 71% and Skyhawks the other way at 111%.
Questions we get asked
Questions owners ask.
Which model actually returns more?
On the published figures the small-format enrichment brands return more per dollar invested and the center brands return more in absolute dollars. Soccer Shots produces $63,061 on a $42,950 opening cost; Primrose produces $453,127 on $2,152,500. The center model pays a bigger salary and the enrichment model pays a bigger return on capital.
Why do the childcare brands keep so much less?
Staff. The four childcare brands publishing it run 40.1% to 48.6% of revenue on wages against 14.7% to 26.5% at the enrichment brands, because licensed staff-to-child ratios set headcount before enrollment does. Add occupancy cost of 12.3% to 15.6% and the fixed base is above 52% before anything else is paid.
What does the brand cost?
Fees paid to the brand take a median of 9.32% of revenue across the forty-three brands with a figure, from 5% at We Rock The Spectrum to 18.35% at KidStrong. Royalty alone is 7% at nineteen of the thirty-nine brands that set one, so the difference between brands sits in advertising funds and monthly technology charges.
Should I benchmark against the average or the median?
The median where a brand reports one, and the attainment figure where it reports that. Eight of the eleven brands reporting attainment show fewer than half their units reaching the average. That puts the average somewhere in the upper half of the range.
Who does bookkeeping for a childcare or education franchise?
Averan does. We work with owners in this category on the monthly close, enrollment and tuition revenue recognition, staff cost against ratio requirements. The cash forecast that sits behind a second location. Get in touch.
Run your own numbers.
The Franchise Numbers Check runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.
Launch the diagnostic →What share of your revenue is staff?
We review your unit economics and cash forecast and build your reporting around wages measured against enrollment week by week, occupancy cost against the hours a room is actually used. The reporting also sets a second-location gate on cash.
Talk to AveranWhere these figures come from.
Every figure here comes from the named brand’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Childcare and Education Franchise Finance | Averan Advisors® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.
Childcare and education cost lines as a share of sales
Nineteen of the forty-nine childcare and education brands in Averan Franchise disclose what their locations spend on wages, rent and space, or cost of goods. Each figure is a share of the average location's sales, from the brand's 2026 FDD. Rent and space covers rent and the other costs of the premises.
| Brand | Wages | Rent and space | Cost of goods |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bach to Rock | 26.5% | Not disclosed | 0.5% |
| Best in Class Education Center | 19.9% | 17.6% | Not disclosed |
| British Swim School | 32.9% | 16.8% | 2.7% |
| Celebree School | 48.6% | 15.6% | Not disclosed |
| Goldfish Swim School | 35.3% | 11.4% | Not disclosed |
| i9 Sports | 28.3% | 11.0% | 29.1% |
| Jungle Driving School | 43.4% | 6.8% | 47.2% |
| Kiddie Academy | 46.5% | 16.9% | Not disclosed |
| LearningRx | 35.6% | 12.2% | Not disclosed |
| Lightbridge Academy | 45.0% | 15.0% | Not disclosed |
| Mathnasium | 20.6% | 12.8% | 37.7% |
| Primrose Schools | 44.4% | 12.3% | Not disclosed |
| SafeSplash Swim School | 32.7% | 20.0% | Not disclosed |
| School of Rock | 14.7% | 9.8% | 36.7% |
| Soccer Shots | 22.4% | 3.8% | 43.2% |
| The Goddard School | 40.1% | 13.6% | Not disclosed |
| Water Wings Swim School | 35.5% | 20.1% | 3.1% |
| WorldKids School | 47.0% | 13.4% | Not disclosed |
| Young Chefs Academy | 34.0% | 22.0% | 10.0% |
How fast new childcare and education locations build sales
The pages for twelve of the forty-nine childcare and education brands in Averan Franchise show how a new location's sales build after opening, by month or by years open, in dollars from each brand's FDD. The months before sales cover costs are the ones to plan cash for, and the minimum fee calculator shows what the fees cost during them.
Common questions
How much does a childcare and education franchise cost to open?
Among the forty-nine childcare and education brands in Averan Franchise that publish it, the cost to open runs from $34,200 at Bricks 4 Kidz to $8,908,000 at The Goddard School, according to their 2026 FDDs.
Which childcare and education franchise costs the least to open?
Bricks 4 Kidz has the lowest starting cost of the childcare and education brands in Averan Franchise, at $34,200 to $110,550.
Which childcare and education franchise has the highest average sales?
Primrose Schools reports the highest average sales of the childcare and education brands in Averan Franchise, at $2,779,923 in its 2026 FDD.
What do childcare and education franchise fees cost as a share of sales?
Across the forty-three childcare and education brands where Averan Franchise works out the figure, franchise fees take 5% to 18.35% of sales.
Questions owners ask next
The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.
- Money arrives before the service does. How should that be booked?It explains deferred revenue and why the bank balance and the profit line disagree.
- At what level of sales does a minimum fee stop costing me more than the percentage?It works out the sales level where a minimum fee stops applying.
- How much cash do I fund before a new location covers its own costs?It builds a 13-week forecast for the months before break-even.
- Do I need a bookkeeper, a controller, or a CFO?It explains what each role owns and when the next hire pays for itself.
- Revenue was the highest it has been. Why did profit not move?It traces where the extra revenue went, line by line.