Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Challenge Island franchise unit economics

Challenge Island franchisees run a mobile children’s STEAM business delivering classes, camps, field trips and parties inside schools, preschools and parks departments, in a territory of roughly 30 elementary schools. Across 50 full-time franchisees the 2025 average was $80,569 with a median of $60,411. A single territory produced $62,486 while a second one added just $30,908, and the brand’s fixed minimums come to $9,800 a year whatever you bill.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Challenge Island Global, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Challenge Island Global, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
60 of 170 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

Two numbers decide this business. The brand’s minimums come to $9,800 a year (a $500 monthly royalty minimum, a $150 monthly marketing minimum and $500 a quarter of local spend) and the average full-time franchisee bills $80,569, which sits below the $85,714 where 7% would overtake the minimum. And a second territory adds $30,908 against a first that produced $62,486.

Units reporting60 of 93 franchisees, 2025
Average, full-time$80,569
Per territory, full-time$54,301
Fixed brand minimum$9,800 a year
  1. Most of this system pays a minimum. $9,800 a year of fixed brand charges against a 7% royalty crossover at $85,714 and a 2% marketing crossover at $90,000 *, and the full-time average is $80,569.
  2. The second territory earns half what the first one did. $30,908 added against $62,486 produced, and it costs $39,900 *, so the payback on buying territory is 1.3 years before any cost of working it.
  3. The bottom quarter pays 41.6% of revenue to the brand. $9,800 of minimums on $23,578 of sales *, against 10.1% in the top quarter, which is what fixed minimums do to a small business.
  4. A territory of about 6,000 children produces $54,301. Roughly 30 schools of 200 students, so $9.05 a child and $1,810 a school *, the cleanest yardstick for judging a territory before buying one.
  5. Twenty-three of 93 franchisees withheld their figures entirely. 24.7% of the system, alongside 3 that ceased and 7 under a year old *, so a third of this system sits outside what follows.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.

Questions worth putting to Challenge Island

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Challenge Island locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

Is your second territory earning its fee?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around $54,301 a territory, the $9,800 of brand minimums that apply whatever you bill. The $85,714 where a percentage finally takes over from a minimum.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Challenge Island reads against the rest of the stem and coding group: Bricks 4 Kidz · Code Ninjas · Engineering For Kids · Snapology. The stem and coding guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Challenge Island Global. LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Challenge Island® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.