Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Engineering For Kids franchise unit economics

Engineering For Kids franchisees deliver STEM classes and camps inside a territory of roughly 100 K–8 schools. Of 22 locations trading at the end of 2025, 14 billed $75,000 or less, including 8 of the 16 open more than two years. The royalty steps down from 7% only within a single month, so the discount stays out of reach for almost every location.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Engineering for Kids International, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Engineering for Kids International, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
22 of 22 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

Fourteen of the 22 locations trading at the end of 2025 billed $75,000 or less, and half the locations open more than two years sat in that same group. The royalty is advertised as a sliding scale from 7% to 5%. But the steps are measured inside a single month. Keeps almost every location at the top rate all year.

Units reporting22 franchised locations, 2025
Billing $75,000 or less14 of 22
Mature locations at $75,000 or less8 of 16
TerritoryAbout 100 K–8 schools
  1. Fourteen of 22 locations billed $75,000 or less. Including 8 of the 16 open more than two years *, so time in the business alone moves this number very little.
  2. The royalty discount resets every month. 6% starts above $25,000 in a single month and 5% above $50,000, so a location billing $200,000 a year pays a flat 7% *.
  3. Even the largest location pays 6.52%. At $575,000 range evenly across the year *. The 5% rate needs more than $600,000, which is where the disclosed range stops.
  4. A $300 monthly minimum governs below $51,429 of annual sales. *, and it starts in month seven, so a slow first year is charged at a minimum.
  5. A school in your territory is worth $750 a year at the bottom group. And an extra school costs $225 once *, so territory pays for itself in 3.6 months at even the lowest-selling run rate *.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No revenue figures. The filing makes no financial performance representation, so there is no disclosed sales number for any location.
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.
  • No attainment figure. The filing does not say how many locations reached the average it publishes.

Questions worth putting to Engineering For Kids

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Engineering For Kids locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

What is a school worth to you?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around $750 a school at the bottom and $5,750 at the top, a royalty that steps down only inside a single month. Schools you can add for $225.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Engineering For Kids reads against the rest of the stem and coding group: Bricks 4 Kidz · Challenge Island · Code Ninjas · Snapology. The stem and coding guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Engineering for Kids International. LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us, we are unaffiliated with the brand, calculations of our own are marked with an asterisk where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Engineering For Kids® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.