Bricks 4 Kidz franchise unit economics
Bricks 4 Kidz franchisees run LEGO-based classes, camps and parties for children, usually mobile and working through the elementary schools inside a territory of up to three zip codes. Revenue runs from $0 to $518,827, with a median of $72,503, an average of $101,813 and the top 19 businesses averaging $242,104. Territorial protection begins at $75,000 of annual revenue, leaving the median business $2,497 short of keeping its own ground to itself.
- Primary source
- BFK Franchise Company LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
- Items read
- Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
- Population
- the locations the filing reports on
- Our calculations
- Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
- Last reviewed
- 26 September 2026
Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.
The median Bricks 4 Kidz business billed $72,503 last year. Territorial protection begins at $75,000. Three monthly minimums (royalty, marketing fund and local advertising) add up to $22,200 a year before a single class is sold, which is 30.6% of what the median business takes in and 11.6% of what the largest one does.
- The median business sits $2,497 under the revenue it takes to keep its territory. $72,503 against a $75,000 threshold *, $125 a year from each of the roughly 20 elementary schools a territory is drawn around.
- The local advertising minimum of $750 a month matches 2% of revenue only at $450,000 a year. *. The largest business in the published population billed $518,827, so the minimum.
- Brand charges take 30.6% of revenue at the median and 11.6% at the top. $22,200 of $72,503 against $60,072 of $518,827 *, the same three minimums, range over seven times the revenue.
- The eight businesses in the top tenth average $338,482 while the next eleven average $172,011. *, from a top-quarter average of $242,104 across 19 businesses. The top eight earn 96.8% more under the same territory rules.
- Forty-nine franchised outlets left through non-renewal in three years against 36 openings. 30, 15 and 4, with five terminations, taking franchised outlets from 155 to 137 while company-owned outlets went from zero to 20.
How much does a Bricks 4 Kidz franchise make?
The average Bricks 4 Kidz unit reported $101,813 of revenue in the 2026 FDD, and the median reported $72,503. The brand’s disclosure document discloses revenue and not profit, so what an owner keeps depends on the cost structure set out below. Fees come off the top first, at about 11% of sales across royalty, brand fund and the rest of the stack. Revenue is not income. Rent, wages, cost of goods and the franchise fees all come out before an owner is paid. The figures for the highest-selling and lowest-selling businesses are below.
What a business bills
Half the system bills under $6,042 a month.
That is the median of $72,503 range across twelve months. It is the whole picture of what a Bricks 4 Kidz business earns, because revenue is where these figures stop. The average of $101,813 runs 40.4% above the median, the signature of a few large businesses pulling the arithmetic upward while the bulk of the system clusters low.
| Measure | Sales | Against the median | A month |
|---|---|---|---|
| Highest | $518,827 | 7.16× | $43,236 |
| Top 10% (8 businesses) | $338,482 | 4.67× | $28,207 |
| Top 25% (19 businesses) | $242,104 | 3.34× | $20,175 |
| Average | $101,813 | 1.40× | $8,484 |
| Median | $72,503 | 1.00× | $6,042 |
| Lowest | $0 | n/a | $0 |
Sales means total sales and revenues from all customers of the business before deducting operating expenses, royalties, fees, marketing costs, wages, rent or taxes. Excludes sales tax collected and remitted.
The top eight earn 96.8% more than the eleven behind them.
The two published groups overlap, and the gap between them is where the system's real range lives. Nineteen businesses billed $4,599,976 between them; the eight at the top billed $2,707,856 of it. That leaves $1,892,120 for the eleven ranked ninth to nineteenth, an average of $172,011 each.
| Rank band | Businesses | Combined revenue | Average each |
|---|---|---|---|
| Top 8 | 8 | $2,707,856 | $338,482 |
| Ranks 9 to 19 | 11 | $1,892,120 | $172,011 |
| Top 19 | 19 | $4,599,976 | $242,104 |
The combined figures multiply each filed group averages by its filed business count, and the ranks 9 to 19 line is the difference between the two.
Rank nineteen is where the money changes character. $242,104 across the top quarter against $72,503 at the median means the business at the bottom of the top group bills roughly three times the middle of the system from a territory built to the same specification.
Top performers
What separates the top Bricks 4 Kidz performers
Bricks 4 Kidz publishes one average, $101,813, and nothing else. The gap between its best and worst locations is not in the filing. The middle location sold $72,503. The average was $101,813. More than half the system is below the number the brand quotes.
Decided before you open
- Territory, and how much of it is real.This model sells from a territory rather than a building. Two owners with the same brand and different ground are running different businesses, and density decides how much driving sits between jobs.
- What you spend to open.Opening costs $34,200 to $110,550, a 3.2× range inside one brand. The high end usually buys more capacity, so the cheapest build is not always the cheapest route to the top band.
Live operating levers
- Enrolment, the operating driver.This model bills on enrolment. The licence fixes how many places exist, so what is left is how many are filled, what each is priced at, and how long a family stays. It is worth watching every week, because by the time it turns up in a monthly close the quarter is half gone.
- Fees, and where the minimum bites.Fees run about 11.0% of sales. A minimum sits underneath the percentage, so the low-volume location pays the higher effective rate. The brand charges the weakest locations the most. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum and know which side of it you are on, because the answer changes what an extra dollar of sales is worth.
Context you underwrite around
- What the disclosure leaves out.Item 19 publishes no profit or cost data for franchised locations, no attainment figure. Anything below the sales line has to come from the franchisor or from owners you call.
- What the rest of the category shows.Across the 22 Childcare & Education brands in this library that do publish bands, the top group sells 4.1× the bottom at the typical brand, and a median 42% of locations reach their own average *. Assume a spread of that order here until the franchisor shows you otherwise.
Top performers
How far apart the locations are
This filing does not split its locations into performance bands, so the gap between the highest and lowest Bricks 4 Kidz location is not disclosed. What it does publish is on the Model and Finance tabs.
Where the minimums bite
Three minimums, $22,200 a year, owed whatever you bill.
The royalty is the greater of 7% or $700 a month. The marketing fund is the greater of 2% or $150 a month. Local advertising is currently 2%, subject to a minimum of $750 a month. Add the $250 monthly technology fee for a mobile business and the yearly minimum comes to $22,200 before any class runs.
| Charge | Rate | Monthly minimum | A year | Percentage catches the minimum at |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty | 7% | $700 | $8,400 | $120,000 |
| Marketing fund | 2% | $150 | $1,800 | $90,000 |
| Local advertising | 2% (up to 3%) | $750 | $9,000 | $450,000 |
| Technology, mobile | flat | $250 | $3,000 | n/a |
| Together | 11% plus flat | $1,850 | $22,200 | n/a |
Rates, minimums and the technology fee are as the brand reported it; the annual and crossover columns are marked *.
The same three minimums cost 30.6% at the median and 11.6% at the top.
Local advertising is the line that does the damage. Its $750 monthly minimum matches 2% only once a business bills $450,000 a year, a figure only the single largest business in the published population reached. For everyone else it works as a flat $9,000, which is 12.4% of revenue at the median and 1.7% at the top.
| Revenue | Royalty | Marketing | Local ad | Tech | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $72,503 median | $8,400 | $1,800 | $9,000 | $3,000 | $22,200 | 30.6% |
| $75,000 threshold | $8,400 | $1,800 | $9,000 | $3,000 | $22,200 | 29.6% |
| $101,813 average | $8,400 | $2,036 | $9,000 | $3,000 | $22,436 | 22.0% |
| $242,104 top 25% | $16,947 | $4,842 | $9,000 | $3,000 | $33,789 | 14.0% |
| $338,482 top 10% | $23,694 | $6,770 | $9,000 | $3,000 | $42,464 | 12.5% |
| $518,827 highest | $36,318 | $10,377 | $10,377 | $3,000 | $60,072 | 11.6% |
Every figure in this table is marked *, built by applying the filed rates and filed minimums to the filed revenue figures, taking the greater of the two on each line and adding the mobile technology fee at $250 a month.
Monthly billing makes the minimum worse than the annual arithmetic suggests. Every minimum is tested month by month, so a business that bills $15,000 in September and $1,500 in December still owes $1,850 in December. An after-school and camp business has several of those months a year.
Getting the royalty onto the percentage costs $120,000 of revenue. $10,000 a month, against a median of $6,042 *. Until then the royalty behaves as rent on the brand.
Holding your territory
$75,000 a year keeps your territory to yourself.
After the twelfth month of operation, territorial protection rests on two tests run together. Annual sales of at least $75,000. A ranking at or above the eighth percentile of United States franchisees open twelve months or longer. Fall short and the franchisor may place another franchised, company-owned or affiliate-owned business inside the same territory without paying compensation, and the agreement may be terminated.
| Measure | A year | A month | Per elementary school |
|---|---|---|---|
| Protection threshold | $75,000 | $6,250 | $3,750 |
| Median business | $72,503 | $6,042 | $3,625 |
| Shortfall at the median | $2,497 | $208 | $125 |
| Average business | $101,813 | $8,484 | $5,091 |
| Top 25% average | $242,104 | $20,175 | $12,105 |
The $75,000 threshold, the eighth-percentile test and the territory specification are as the brand reported it. The monthly and per-school columns are marked *, dividing by twelve and by the roughly 20 elementary schools that size a territory.
A territory is three zip codes and about twenty schools.
The boundary is set from school enrollment data, demographics and market conditions at the time of signing. It has limited conditional rights. Customers may attend any location they choose. The franchisor reserves every right it has yet to grant. Owning a Creativity Center has the right to run two approved centers inside the same territory.
| Boundary | Up to three contiguous zip codes |
| Schools inside it | Approximately 20 public and private elementary schools |
| Protection after month 12 | $75,000 annual revenue and the 8th percentile or better |
| Centers permitted inside it | Two approved Creativity Centers |
| Term | Five years |
| First renewal fee | The then-current initial franchise fee |
| Later renewal fees | Half the then-current initial franchise fee, plus costs |
| Relocation | 10% of the then-current initial franchise fee |
| Early exit after year two | 100% of the remaining royalty payments |
As the brand reported it.
Getting from the median to the threshold is $208 a month. One additional weekly class at a single school, or a handful of extra birthday parties across the year, covers a gap that governs whether the territory stays undivided *.
A five-year term against a $75,000 annual test makes revenue a renewal question. The first renewal costs a full initial franchise fee, currently $23,000 for a mobile business. So the five-year cycle has a charge equal to roughly a third of median annual revenue *.
Getting in and out
$34,200 gets you trading; $77,150 gets you a building.
Two models, and the choice sets the cost base for the whole term. A mobile business opens for $34,200 to $49,050 and pays $250 a month for technology. A Creativity Center opens for $77,150 to $110,550, pays $350 a month, and adds rent, utilities, build-out and signage that the mobile model skips entirely.
| Line | Mobile | Creativity Center | Difference at the low estimate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise fee | $23,000 | $25,000 | $2,000 |
| Software setup | $300 | $300 | n/a |
| Technology fees | $250 – $500 | $350 – $500 | $100 |
| Professional fees | $500 – $2,000 | $750 – $1,500 | $250 |
| Computer system | $1,000 – $2,500 | $2,000 – $4,000 | $1,000 |
| Office supplies | $200 – $300 | $500 – $1,000 | $300 |
| Licenses and permits | $50 – $200 | $1,000 – $2,000 | $950 |
| Products and supplies | $200 – $2,000 | $1,500 – $3,000 | $1,300 |
| Grand opening advertising | $1,000 | $2,000 | $1,000 |
| Training expenses, two people | $500 – $2,000 | $1,000 – $2,000 | $500 |
| Marketing materials | $0 – $500 | $1,000 – $2,000 | $1,000 |
| Insurance | $200 – $2,000 | $750 – $1,500 | $550 |
| Program supplies, initial inventory | $3,000 | $4,000 | $1,000 |
| Leasehold, furniture and fixtures | n/a | $15,000 – $25,000 | $15,000 |
| Architectural fees | n/a | $2,000 – $5,000 | $2,000 |
| Signage | n/a | $3,000 – $5,000 | $3,000 |
| Prepaid rent and deposits | n/a | $6,000 – $10,000 | $6,000 |
| Utility deposits | n/a | $1,000 – $2,000 | $1,000 |
| Additional funds, three months | $4,000 – $10,000 | $10,000 – $15,000 | $6,000 |
| Total | $34,200 – $49,050 | $77,150 – $110,550 | $42,950 |
Both columns are as the brand reported it and the difference column is marked *.
The yearly minimum is 64.9% of the cheapest way in. $22,200 of brand charges against a $34,200 low estimate *, so a mobile owner rebuys two-thirds of the opening cost every year in minimums alone.
Additional funds run three months and the royalty minimum starts in month three. The working capital line ends in the same month the $700 minimum begins. Puts the first full-cost month at the point the opening reserve is spent.
Non-renewal takes more outlets out than openings put in.
Across the three fiscal years to September 2025, 36 franchised outlets opened and 54 left, 49 through non-renewal and five through termination. The count went 155 to 137. Over the same period company-owned outlets went from zero to 20, all of them opened or reacquired in 2023 and 2024.
| Year | Start | Opened | Terminated | Non-renewed | Reacquired | End |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 155 | 12 | 3 | 30 | 0 | 134 |
| 2024 | 134 | 18 | 2 | 15 | 0 | 135 |
| 2025 | 135 | 6 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 137 |
| Three years | 155 | 36 | 5 | 49 | 0 | 137 |
As the brand reported it, with the three-year row summed by us.
| Year | Start | Opened | Reacquired | Closed | Sold to franchisee | End |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| 2024 | 3 | 16 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 20 |
| 2025 | 20 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 20 |
As the brand reported it.
Departures ran 33, then 17, then 4. Openings ran 12, 18 and 6 across the same years, so the system moved from losing 21 outlets in 2023 to adding two in 2025.
The counted system and the described system differ by two. The outlet tables give 137 franchised and 20 company-owned at 30 September 2025, a total of 157. A stated 159 United States franchise locations, alongside 215 international ones that sit outside these tables entirely.
Questions we get asked
Questions owners ask.
What does a Bricks 4 Kidz business actually bill?
A median of $72,503 and an average of $101,813 for the fiscal year ended 30 September 2025, with a high of $518,827 and a low of zero. The top quarter, 19 businesses, averaged $242,104 and the top tenth, eight businesses, averaged $338,482.
What do I owe the brand each month whatever I bill?
$1,850 for a mobile business: a $700 royalty minimum from the third month of trading, a $150 marketing fund minimum, a $750 local advertising minimum and a $250 technology fee. That is $22,200 a year, which is 30.6% of median revenue.
How much revenue protects my territory?
$75,000 a year after the twelfth month of operation, together with a ranking at or above the eighth percentile of United States franchisees open twelve months or longer. Below either test the franchisor may place another business inside the territory and may terminate the agreement.
How big is a territory?
Up to three contiguous zip codes holding approximately 20 public and private elementary schools at the time of signing, sized from school enrollment data and demographics. It has limited conditional protection, and the boundaries may be redrawn when school boundaries, zip codes or market conditions change.
What does it cost to open?
$34,200 to $49,050 for a mobile business on a $23,000 initial franchise fee, or $77,150 to $110,550 for a Creativity Center on a $25,000 fee. Second and later territories cost $16,000 each.
- No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
- No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.
- No attainment figure. The filing does not say how many locations reached the average it publishes.
Questions worth putting to Bricks 4 Kidz
The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.
- What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
- What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
- How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
- At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
- How many Bricks 4 Kidz locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?
Run your own numbers.
The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.
Launch the diagnostic →How many months are you paying the minimum?
A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around month-by-month revenue against three separate minimums, a rolling twelve-month total against the $75,000 test. A renewal fee five years out.
Request the review