Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Kumon franchise unit economics

Kumon franchisees run an after-school math and reading center and pay a flat dollar royalty for every enrolled student, $38 a student a subject a month once fully licensed, $42.75 before that. A center with 100 math students pays $45,600 a year. The system reached 1,705 franchised centers in 2025 while company-owned centers fell from 28 to 5.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Kumon North America, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Kumon North America, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
0 of 1705 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

The student is the unit of account here, priced in dollars. $38 a month for each enrolled student in each subject once fully licensed, $42.75 until then, and $30 once for every new enrollment. A center with 100 math students owes $45,600 a year whatever it charges those families.

Royalty a student a subject$38 a month
During the temporary license$42.75 a month
100-student center, a year$45,600
Franchised centers, end 20251,705
  1. Royalty is $456 a student a subject a year. $38 a month, so the 100-math-student center used for the insurance estimate owes $45,600 *, and a student taking both subjects costs $912.
  2. The temporary license costs $4.75 a student a month. $5,700 a year at 100 students *, and it ends only after cumulatively enrolling 600 math and 400 reading students.
  3. Reaching that gate means paying about $30,000 of enrollment royalties first. $30 each on 600 math and 400 reading enrollments *, which makes the discount something you buy.
  4. Customers lost is a royalty line. A center replacing 40 students a year pays $1,200 in enrollment royalties to stand still *, and a student away more than a month re-enrols at full price.
  5. Company-owned centers fell from 28 to 5 in three years. Thirty of them sold to franchisees while the franchised count rose from 1,618 to 1,705. The brand is handing its own centers to owners.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No revenue figures. The filing makes no financial performance representation, so there is no disclosed sales number for any location.
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.
  • No range. The filing does not show the highest and lowest locations, so the spread inside the system is unknown.
  • No attainment figure. The filing does not say how many locations reached the average it publishes.
  • No ramp. The filing does not show how a new location builds up, so the first-year curve has to be assumed.

Questions worth putting to Kumon

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What did the highest and lowest locations sell last year, and what explains the gap?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. What do the fees add up to as a share of sales at the average location, once minimums and technology charges are counted?
  5. How many Kumon locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

How many heads, in how many subjects?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around $456 a student a subject a year, a $4.75 premium that ends at 600 math and 400 reading enrollments. Tuition that is entirely yours to set.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Kumon reads against the rest of the tutoring and learning centers group: Best in Class Education Center · Brain Balance · Huntington Learning Center · LearningRx · Mathnasium · Sylvan Learning. The tutoring and learning centers guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Kumon North America. Inc.’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us, we are unaffiliated with the brand, calculations of our own are marked with an asterisk where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Kumon® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.