Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Brain Balance franchise unit economics

Brain Balance franchisees run an after-school cognitive development center where enrolled children and adults work through a program of physical and cognitive exercises with nutrition guidance, delivered by a center director, a program director and coaches. Across 67 centers open all of 2025 the average was $682,933 of revenue with a median of $559,395. Local advertising has a minimum of $72,000 a year, which overtakes its own 9% rate below $800,000 of sales.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: BB Franchising LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
BB Franchising LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure
Population
67 of 73 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

Local advertising is set at 9% of revenue with a minimum of $6,000 a month, and 9% overtakes that minimum only at $800,000 of sales. The median center bills $559,395, so it spends 12.9% on advertising against 9%, and the brand and marketing load runs from 19.0% at the top third to 31.7% at the bottom.

Units reporting67 of 73 centers, 2025
Average revenue$682,933
Median revenue$559,395
minimum advertising charge$72,000 a year
  1. The minimum advertising charge is $72,000 a year and it binds below $800,000 of sales. The median center bills $559,395, where 9% would be $50,346, so the minimum costs $21,654 more and takes 12.9% of revenue *.
  2. Brand and marketing take 31.7% of a bottom-third center and 19.0% of a top-third one. $105,248 on $332,477 against $213,380 on $1,123,054 *, a 12.7-point gap created almost entirely by the three monthly minimums.
  3. The lowest-selling center billed $111,600 against $86,400 of minimums. 77.4% of its revenue *, $12,000 of minimum royalty, $2,400 of brand fund and $72,000 of required advertising, all owed whatever the enrollments did.
  4. Revenue stood still while the system grew. The average went $686,778 to $682,933 and the median $558,573 to $559,395 as reporting centers rose from 61 to 67 *, so the new centers arrived at roughly the existing average.
  5. The top third rose 2.6% while the bottom third fell 5.1%. $1,123,054 against $332,477, a range of 3.38 times *, and the lowest-selling center fell 40.3% in a year, from $187,073 to $111,600.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.

Questions worth putting to Brain Balance

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Brain Balance locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

Is your minimum advertising charge buying enrollments?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around the $72,000 advertising requirement, the $800,000 point where 9% overtakes it. What each thousand dollars of spend is actually enrolling.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Brain Balance reads against the rest of the tutoring and learning centers group: Best in Class Education Center · Huntington Learning Center · Kumon · LearningRx · Mathnasium · Sylvan Learning. The tutoring and learning centers guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from BB Franchising LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses, nothing here describes or endorses any health or educational outcome. This page is an educational summary, legal or tax advice. Brain Balance® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.