Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Huntington Learning Center franchise unit economics

Huntington Learning Center franchisees run a tutoring and test preparation center offering individual instruction, academic evaluations and exam programs. That runs from leased premises with an exclusive area of up to three miles. Across 232 centers open all of 2025 the average was $609,454 of sales with a median of $533,106. Local advertising has a minimum of $57,000 a year, which alone is 23.0% of a bottom-quarter center.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Huntington Learning Centers, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Huntington Learning Centers, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure
Population
232 of 243 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

Local advertising is fixed at $57,000 a year and $2,000 a month, owed the same by a center billing $136,567 and one billing $3,093,560. Stack a 9.5% royalty, a 2% fund and $26,460 of required monthly services on top and the load reaches 45.8% of a bottom-quarter center against 19.0% of a top-quarter one.

Units reporting232 of 253 centers, 2025
Average sales$609,454
Median sales$533,106
minimum Local advertising charge$57,000 a year
  1. The minimum advertising charge alone is 23.0% of a bottom-quarter center.$57,000 against $247,465 of revenue *, and 41.7% of the lowest-selling center in the system at $136,567, with zero percentage alternative available.
  2. Brand and marketing charges take 45.8% at the bottom quartile and 19.0% at the top.$113,460 on $247,465 against $211,735 on $1,115,433 *, a 26.8-point range, built almost entirely from dollar minimums landing on smaller revenue.
  3. Forty-two centers were terminated in three years against twelve openings.Plus 5 non-renewals and 2 reacquisitions, taking the system from 280 to 243 *, a 13.2% fall, with terminations rising 10, 15 then 17.
  4. The top half averages 2.6 times the bottom half.$880,749 against $338,159 *, and 94 of the 232 centers reach the system average of $609,454, which is 40.5%.
  5. Thirty centers bill a million dollars or more, averaging $1,337,289.12.9% of the mature system *, and at that revenue Franchise fees falls to 17.7%, against 45.8% at the bottom quartile.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.

Questions worth putting to Huntington Learning Center

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Huntington Learning Center locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

What are your minimums costing you?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around the $83,460 that arrives whatever you bill, the $252,632 where 9.5% overtakes the minimum royalty, and what your advertising is enrolling.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Huntington Learning Center reads against the rest of the tutoring and learning centers group: Best in Class Education Center · Brain Balance · Kumon · LearningRx · Mathnasium · Sylvan Learning. The tutoring and learning centers guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Huntington Learning Centers. Inc.’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Huntington Learning Center® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.