Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Mr. Rooter franchise unit economics

Mr. Rooter franchisees run residential and commercial plumbing and drain businesses from vans across a territory of 100,000 to 300,000 people. Across 193 businesses the 2025 average was $2,093,531 against a median of $1,257,146. The brand and marketing load is a flat 16% of sales for everyone billing above $625,000, and the required local spend inside it is larger than the royalty.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Mr. Rooter, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Mr. Rooter, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
193 of 238 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

Three charges apply to every dollar of sales. A 6% license fee, 2% to the marketing fund, and local marketing of $50,000 or 8% of last year’s sales. Above $625,000 those add to exactly 16% and stay there all the way to the largest business in the system. Below it the minimums take over, and the lowest-selling tenth pays between 43.8% and 48.2%.

Units reporting193 of 238 businesses, 2025
Average gross sales$2,093,531
Median$1,257,146
Franchise and marketing fees16% above $625,000
  1. The load is exactly 16% of sales from $625,000 upward. $334,965 at the system average of $2,093,531 and $1,305,921 at the top tenth’s $8,162,009 *, same share at both ends, so scale changes the dollars and leaves the percentage alone.
  2. The required local spend is bigger than the royalty. $167,482 against $125,612 at the system average *, 1.33 times, and it is money you direct, which makes it the largest controllable line in the franchise fees.
  3. The lowest-selling tenth averages $147,745 and pays 43.8% to 48.2%. A $50,000 local spend minimum and an $11,700 to $18,200 license minimum against $147,745 of sales *, the minimums govern everything below $625,000, which is most of the bottom half.
  4. The top half averages 5.79 times the bottom half. $3,557,458 against $614,354 *, on 97 businesses and 96, and the two weighted together return the filed all-system average of $2,093,531 to the dollar.
  5. The system added 29 businesses in three years. 209 to 238 franchised, on 56 openings against 27 departures, openings rose 11, 22, 23 while terminations rose 0, 4, 11.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.

Questions worth putting to Mr. Rooter

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Mr. Rooter locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

Where is your local marketing money actually going?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around the 8% you place yourself, the $625,000 line where it switches from a flat $50,000. The 16% load that holds at every size above it.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Mr. Rooter reads against the rest of the mechanical trades group: Aire Serv · Benjamin Franklin Plumbing · Mister Sparky · Mr. Electric · One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning · Plumbing Paramedics. The mechanical trades guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Mr. Rooter’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Mr. Rooter® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.