Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Mr. Electric franchise unit economics

Mr. Electric franchisees run residential and commercial electrical service businesses across territories priced by population. The 169 businesses reporting for 2025 are grouped by how many people their territory holds. Population rises up to 16.7 times across those groups while average gross sales scale 5.0 times. The brand charges by population three separate ways, and at three of the four groups the typical business pays a minimum license fee against the 6% rate.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Mr. Electric, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Mr. Electric, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
169 of 236 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

The 169 reporting businesses are grouped by how many people their territory holds. Population scales up to 16.7 times across those groups while average gross sales scale 5.0 times. So a bigger territory bills more in total and far less per head, and the brand prices territory by the head, three separate ways.

Units reporting169 businesses, 2025
Average gross sales$1,114,087
License fee6% of sales, against a minimum
Total investment$159,500–$357,425
  1. Population rises up to 16.7 times across the four groups while sales rise 5.0 times. $514,894 in a territory of up to 300,000 people against $2,599,071 in one of up to 5,000,000 *, so the biggest territories are the least worked.
  2. At three of the four groups the typical business pays a minimum license fee against the 6% rate. The minimum runs to $3,000 a week, which is $156,000 a year and equals 6% only at $2,600,000 of sales *, against a median of $2,004,844 in that group.
  3. The brand charges by population three times over. $425 per 1,000 people up front on top of a $42,500 base, a minimum license fee set by population group. 6% of whatever the territory bills. Revenue per head falls as the territory grows.
  4. The largest single business sits in the second-largest territory group. $13,345,979 in a territory of up to 1,000,000 people, which is 8.7 times its own group average * and more than twice the best business in the largest group.
  5. Inside one group the range reaches 61 times. $35,793 to $2,195,756 among the 87 businesses in territories up to 300,000 *, so territory size sets the ceiling and the operator sets everything else.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No median. Only an average is published, which a few large locations can lift on their own.
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.
  • No attainment figure. The filing does not say how many locations reached the average it publishes.

Questions worth putting to Mr. Electric

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Mr. Electric locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

What is your effective license rate this month?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around revenue per head of territory, the license minimum against the 6% rate. The crossover point your own sales are sitting either side of.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Mr. Electric reads against the rest of the mechanical trades group: Aire Serv · Benjamin Franklin Plumbing · Mister Sparky · Mr. Rooter · One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning · Plumbing Paramedics. The mechanical trades guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Mr. Electric’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Mr. Electric® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.