Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Big Blue Swim School franchise unit economics

Big Blue Swim School franchisees build and run a purpose-built indoor swim school teaching year-round lessons to children, inside an area of protection of roughly ten to fifteen minutes’ drive. Across 42 schools open all of 2025 the average was $1,636,545 of sales with a median of $1,620,442. A school in its second year already bills 76.3% of what a mature one does, and opening costs $1,898,350 to $3,478,100.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Big Blue Swim School Franchising, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Big Blue Swim School Franchising, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
42 of 30 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

A school in its second year already bills 76.3% of what a mature one does, $1,347,898 against $1,765,429. That build-up matters, because opening costs $1,898,350 to $3,478,100. And the local marketing requirement runs backwards: 6% of revenue below $1.5 million, falling to 2% above $2.5 million.

Units reporting42 of 52 schools, 2025
Average sales$1,636,545
Mature schools$1,765,429
Second-year schools$1,347,898
  1. A second-year school bills 76.3% of a mature one. $1,347,898 against $1,765,429 across all schools, and $1,320,055 against $1,728,979 among franchised ones *. The same ratio both ways, so the build-up is consistent.
  2. Local marketing falls as revenue rises, from 6% to 2%. 6% below $1,500,000, then 5%, 4%, 3% and 2% above $2,500,000. So Franchise fees runs 16.0% at a second-year school and 12.0% at the highest-selling one *.
  3. The minimum royalty is $71,500 a year and 6% overtakes it at $1,191,667. $5,500 for each four-week period *. The lowest-selling school billed $430,514, so its royalty is 16.6% of revenue against 6%.
  4. The build costs 1.19 to 2.18 times a franchised school’s annual revenue. $1,898,350 to $3,478,100 including real estate against $1,598,867 *, of which $90,850 to $133,600 goes to the brand.
  5. Zero schools closed and zero were terminated in three years. Franchised schools went 7 to 30 and the affiliate estate 11 to 22, so the whole system tripled from 18 to 52 * with one reacquisition as the only departure.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.

Questions worth putting to Big Blue Swim School

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Big Blue Swim School locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

Which marketing tier are you in?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around the trailing-revenue thresholds that each cut a point off your marketing requirement, the $1,191,667 where 6% overtakes the minimum royalty. What a build this size has to return.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Big Blue Swim School reads against the rest of the swim schools group: British Swim School · Goldfish Swim School. The swim schools guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Big Blue Swim School Franchising. LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Big Blue Swim School® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.