Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Aqua-Tots franchise unit economics

Aqua-Tots franchisees build and run an indoor swim school of at least 6,000 square feet selling small-group and private lessons and pool parties, inside an exclusive territory that may be as small as a two-mile radius. Across 131 schools the 2025 average was $1,138,797 of sales with a median of $1,008,577. Eight California schools averaged $2,687,841 against $1,009,985 in the other 116, on a build costing $1,619,820 to $2,939,590 either way.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Aqua-Tots Swim School Holding LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Aqua-Tots Swim School Holding LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure
Population
the locations the filing reports on
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

Eight California schools averaged $2,687,841 in 2025. The other 116 averaged $1,009,985. The pool, the building and the curriculum are the same, and so is the $1,619,820 to $2,939,590 it costs to put one up, so the build returns 0.60 times a year of revenue in California and 2.91 times at the other end.

Units reporting131 schools, 2025
Average sales$1,138,797
California average$2,687,841
Everywhere else$1,009,985
  1. California schools bill 2.66 times what schools outside the five metro states do. $2,687,841 against $1,009,985 *, on an identical build, so location is the single largest decision an owner here makes.
  2. The same build costs 0.60 to 1.09 years of revenue in the West and 1.60 to 2.91 outside it. $1,619,820 to $2,939,590 against each region’s average *, a range created by where the school sits.
  3. Tenant improvements and the pool are $1,450,000 to $2,500,000 of the build. 85% of the low end *, which is why this is among the most capital-intensive models in the library.
  4. Brand charges run 10.5% of revenue and have zero minimum royalty. 6% royalty, 2% national advertising, 2% local spend and $465 a month of software *, with zero sales quota attached.
  5. The exclusive territory may be as small as a two-mile radius. About 12.6 square miles, genuinely exclusive while you comply, and adjustable by the brand only at renewal.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.

Questions worth putting to Aqua-Tots

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Aqua-Tots locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

Is your school billing what its region does?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around a $1,009,985 regional average, a build that costs the same everywhere. 10.5% to the brand with zero minimum beneath it.

Request the review

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Aqua-Tots Swim School Holding LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Aqua-Tots® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.