Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

The Grounds Guys franchise unit economics

The Grounds Guys franchisees run crew-based grounds maintenance, landscaping, hardscaping and snow work across a territory of 125,000 to 500,000 people. Businesses past three years averaged $820,392 in 2025 against $392,054 for those under three, 2.09 times. The brand and marketing load runs 12.5% to 13.1% across most of the system, which is light for this family, and 44 of the 219 businesses trade under nine months a year.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: The Grounds Guys SPV LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
The Grounds Guys SPV LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
161 of 219 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

Getting past three years is worth 2.09 times the revenue, $820,392 against $392,054. Reaching that point is the harder part: openings fell from 43 to 12 across three years, 19 businesses were terminated in 2025 and another 19 in the first quarter of 2026 alone.

Units reporting161 of 219 businesses, 2025
Three years and over$820,392
Under three years$392,054
Franchise and marketing fees12.5% to 13.1%
  1. Three years of trading is worth 2.09 times the revenue. $820,392 against $392,054 on the averages and $533,092 against $294,312 on the medians *, so the build-up in this business is measured in years.
  2. Nineteen terminations landed in the first quarter of 2026, matching the whole of 2025. Against 12 openings in the same year, and openings fell 43, 31, 12 across the three years while the franchised count went 211 to 229 and back to 219.
  3. The brand and marketing load is 12.5% to 13.1% across most of the system. $102,549 on $820,392 and $51,364 on $392,054 *, a 5% local marketing requirement against the 8% common across this family, which is worth about three points of revenue.
  4. Each license threshold is worth half a percent of itself. $3,750 at $750,000 and $8,750 at $1,750,000 *. The rate is set on the previous calendar year and applies to every week of the next one. So December’s closing figure decides the following twelve months.
  5. Forty-four businesses trade under nine months a year. One in five of the 219 open at year end *, and the license minimum is itself seasonal, charged at one rate for April to November and another for December to March.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No median. Only an average is published, which a few large locations can lift on their own.
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.

Questions worth putting to The Grounds Guys

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many The Grounds Guys locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

Will December’s close move your rate?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around the $750,000 threshold that sets next year’s license rate, a 5% marketing requirement that switches on at $400,000. A season that decides when the money can be spent.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

The Grounds Guys reads against the rest of the lawn, pest and irrigation group: Conserva Irrigation · Lawn Doctor · Mosquito Joe · Mosquito Shield · Mosquito Squad · Pestmaster. The lawn, pest and irrigation guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from The Grounds Guys SPV LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. The Grounds Guys® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.