Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Sit Means Sit franchise unit economics

Sit Means Sit franchisees run a mobile dog-training business inside an exclusive trade area holding at least 50,000 estimated dogs. The royalty depends on when you bought: 6% or $800 a month for owners since July 2023, and flat monthly fees of $900 or $600 for earlier vintages. The required software costs $800 a month on its own.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Sit Means Sit Franchise, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Sit Means Sit Franchise, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
0 of 148 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

The required software costs exactly as much as the minimum royalty, $800 a month each. Which of them ends up the larger bill depends on when you bought: owners since July 2023 pay 6% above $160,000 of revenue, while earlier vintages pay a flat monthly fee that at $500,000 of sales works out five times cheaper.

Royalty, current vintage6% or $800 a month
Required software$800 a month
6% starts at$160,000 of revenue
Trade area50,000 estimated dogs
  1. Software costs the same as the minimum royalty. $800 a month each, so a center billing under $160,000 pays the brand $9,600 and its software provider another $9,600 *.
  2. At $500,000 of sales the royalty ranges from $6,000 to $30,000. Depending only on the year the owner bought *, a five-fold difference between neighbors doing identical work.
  3. Six percent starts at $160,000 of revenue. $13,333 a month *, below that the $800 minimum applies and the royalty behaves as a fixed bill.
  4. A trade area is 50,000 dogs, worked out from a stated formula. Population divided by 2.5, times 0.372, times 1.7, about 197,700 people *.
  5. Advertising obligations are the lightest in this library. 1% of quarterly sales spent locally, with zero brand fund and zero cooperative requirement, $2,500 a year at $250,000 of sales *.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No revenue figures. The filing makes no financial performance representation, so there is no disclosed sales number for any location.
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.
  • No range. The filing does not show the highest and lowest locations, so the spread inside the system is unknown.
  • No attainment figure. The filing does not say how many locations reached the average it publishes.
  • No ramp. The filing does not show how a new location builds up, so the first-year curve has to be assumed.

Questions worth putting to Sit Means Sit

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What did the highest and lowest locations sell last year, and what explains the gap?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Sit Means Sit locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

What is a dog worth in your trade area?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around a 50,000-dog territory, a royalty that turns from a bill into a rate at $160,000. Software that costs as much as the brand does.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Sit Means Sit reads against the rest of the dog training group: Bark Busters · Zoom Room. The dog training guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Sit Means Sit Franchise. Inc.’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us, we are unaffiliated with the brand, calculations of our own are marked with an asterisk where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Sit Means Sit® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.