Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Pet Butler franchise unit economics

Pet Butler franchisees run wrapped pickup trucks on pet-waste removal routes through territories of up to 60,000 homes. Across 39 businesses trading a full year, a truck billed $102,592 at $19.45 a stop and 3.60 stops an hour. Royalty, the marketing fund and a flat $18,000 local advertising requirement take 33.7% of that.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Pet Butler, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Pet Butler, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure
Population
39 of 38 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

A truck-hour here is worth $70.02, $19.45 a stop at 3.60 stops an hour. A truck bills $102,592 a year, and royalty, the marketing fund, the software fees and a flat $18,000 of local advertising take $34,613 of it. That is a third of the truck before fuel, wages or the truck itself.

Units reporting39 franchised businesses, 2025
Revenue a truck$102,592
Revenue a truck-hour$70.02
Brand and advertising load33.7% of a truck
  1. A truck-hour is worth $70.02. $19.45 a stop at 3.60 stops an hour *, so the system-average truck runs about 28 hours of paid stop time a week to reach $102,592.
  2. The brand and advertising load is $34,613 on a $102,592 truck. 33.7% of it *, 1,780 stops, or 494 route hours, go to covering it before the owner earns a dollar.
  3. Local advertising is a flat $18,000 a territory until that territory bills $360,000. The requirement is the greater of 5% or $18,000 *, and 38 franchisees hold 93 territories, an average obligation of $44,053 each *.
  4. One household in 423 is a customer. 142 customers a truck against a 60,000-home territory *, so growth is a penetration problem.
  5. The lowest-selling truck gives up 52.2% and the highest-selling 19.6%. $52,988 against $384,043 *, because the $18,000 minimum advertising charge and $2,250 of fixed fees land the same on both.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.
  • No ramp. The filing does not show how a new location builds up, so the first-year curve has to be assumed.

Questions worth putting to Pet Butler

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Pet Butler locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

What is your truck-hour worth?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around $70.02 a truck-hour, an $18,000 minimum advertising charge that lands on every territory. A load that reaches 52% on a weak truck.

Request the review

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Pet Butler, LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us, we are unaffiliated with the brand, calculations of our own are marked with an asterisk where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Pet Butler® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.