Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

European Wax Center franchise unit economics

European Wax Center franchisees run a single 1,000 to 1,600 square foot retail suite with five or six waxing rooms, selling hair removal and skin care largely through prepaid wax passes and memberships. Across 1,028 centers open the whole of fiscal 2025 the average was $902,437 of gross sales, rising to $1,024,725 for the 724 centers past five years. The fees take a flat 9% of sales plus $585 a month, with zero separate local marketing requirement.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: EWC Franchisor LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
EWC Franchisor LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure
Population
1028 of 1042 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

The brand take here is one of the simplest in franchising: 6% royalty, 3% marketing fund, and $585 a month of technology and search, with zero separate local advertising requirement. Across 1,028 centers the 2025 average was $902,437 of gross sales, and the quarter a center lands in is mostly a question of age, 94.9% of the top quartile is past five years against 33.5% of the bottom.

Units reporting1,028 of 1,042 centers, 2025
Average gross sales$902,437
Past five years$1,024,725
Brand take9% plus $585 a month
  1. The whole brand take is 9% of sales plus $7,120 a year.$88,339 at the average center, which is 9.79% *. The 2% local advertising obligation was folded into the marketing fund in 2016, so the only hard local spend left is an one-time $12,000 at opening.
  2. quartile position is years open.94.9% of the top quartile has been open past five years against 33.5% of the bottom quartile, on averages of $1,428,602 and $475,545 *, three times the sales, and most of the difference is how long the doors have been open.
  3. Centers past five years average $1,024,725.13.6% above the $902,437 all-center figure *, across 724 of the 1,028, so the mature number is the one a fifth-year owner should be benchmarking against.
  4. Openings fell from 107 to 12 while closures rose from 7 to 32.A net loss of 20 centers in 2025 after gains of 100 and 23 *. The first decline the system has recorded across these three years.
  5. 175 centers changed hands in three years against zero terminations.One in six of the system, at 48, 76 and 51 a year *, and every one of the 59 exits was booked as ceasing for other reasons.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No median. Only an average is published, which a few large locations can lift on their own.
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.

Questions worth putting to European Wax Center

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many European Wax Center locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

Which benchmark applies to your center?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around the $1,024,725 mature average, the $902,437 all-center one. What your prepaid balance is doing to working capital.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

European Wax Center reads against the rest of the beauty & personal care group: Amazing Lash Studio · Blo Blow Dry Bar · Drybar · Hammer & Nails · The Lash Lounge · Waxing the City. The beauty & personal care guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from EWC Franchisor LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses, company results quoted on this page come from the franchisor’s parent’s own public filings and releases. This page is an educational summary, legal or tax advice. European Wax Center® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.