Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

TruBlue franchise unit economics

TruBlue franchisees sell handyman work, home maintenance and ageing-in-place modifications to older homeowners across a territory of at least 175,000 people. The 42 franchises open a full year averaged $438,095 in 2025 with a median of $347,879. The agreement requires local advertising of the greater of 2% of revenue or $2,500 a month. That $30,000 minimum reaches 2% only at $1,500,000, 3.4 times what the average franchise bills.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: T.B. Franchising Systems, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
T.B. Franchising Systems, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
42 of 135 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

TruBlue requires local advertising of the greater of 2% of revenue or $2,500 a month. That $30,000 minimum reaches 2% only at $1,500,000 of revenue, and the 42 reporting franchises average $438,095. So the minimum applies across the whole system, at the median it is 4.3 times what the percentage alone would ask.

Units reporting42 franchises, 2025
Average revenue$438,095
minimum advertising charge$30,000 a year
Total investment$73,050–$99,400
  1. The $30,000 minimum advertising charge matches 2% only at $1,500,000 of revenue. 3.4 times the system average *, so at the median franchise it is 8.62% of revenue against the $6,958 that 2% would give.
  2. The rebate ladder’s first rung asks for $450,000 a year and the system averages $438,095. $900,000 over two years against $876,190 *, the average franchise misses the first of four rungs by $23,810.
  3. A first full calendar year already reaches 87.2% of the system average. $382,174 across eight owners against $438,095 *, so most of the climb happens before the first full year begins.
  4. Brand charges and advertising take 23.94% of a fourth-quartile franchise’s revenue and 10.13% of the highest-selling’s. $51,165 on $213,744 against $187,170 on $1,848,303 *.
  5. The top quarter alone differs 3.68 times over, from $501,720 to $1,848,303. And the highest-billing owner in the system ran a single territory.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.

Questions worth putting to TruBlue

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many TruBlue locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

What is the minimum advertising charge returning?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around cost per booked job against the $30,000 minimum, revenue per technician day. The minimum fees measured as a share of what you bill.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

TruBlue reads against the rest of the handyman and home repair group: Ace Handyman Services · Mr. Handyman. The handyman and home repair guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from T.B. Franchising Systems, Inc.’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. TruBlue® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.