Indoor recreation franchise finance
Find an indoor recreation brand
This guide covers eighteen brands, each from its own 2026 FDD. Open one, or pick two and compare them.
Top performers
These are the things that separate top performers in indoor recreation
Across the indoor recreation brands that publish both figures, the median top group of locations sells $2,551,115 a year and the median bottom group sells $1,210,987. Across these brands, a median of 43% of locations reach their own brand’s average.
Decided before you open
- Opening cost against sales.The top group sells $2,551,115 a year against a build that tops out at $6,232,089, so at the heavy end of the range a location sells $0.41 for every dollar it cost to open.
- Rent as a share of sales.Occupancy runs 17.0% of sales at the middle brand, which on median sales of $1,558,492 is $264,944 of rent a year. That same $264,944 is 10.4% of sales at the top group and 21.9% at the bottom. Top-group locations put more sales through the same square footage, with longer earning hours, a second daypart, and a site picked for traffic.
Live operating levers
- Four of the eighteen brands here sell admissions and parties.
Business model attribute
- Service
- Admissions and parties
- Unit economics
- Guests an open hour times the spend for each guest
- Ten of the eighteen brands here sell a membership.
Business model attribute
- Service
- Monthly memberships
- Unit economics
- Members times monthly dues, less members lost
- Five of the eighteen brands here can widen what they sell without widening the building.
Business model attribute
- Service
- Retail or higher service tiers
- Unit economics
- Sales per room per hour
- Three of the eighteen brands here publish how a new location builds up.
Business model attribute
- Service
- The FDD’s month-by-month build-up of a new location
- Unit economics
- Months until sales cover costs
- Wages by brand.Wages run 22.9% of sales at the middle brand and 18.7% to 26.0% across the eight that disclose it. The levers are scheduling against booked demand hour by hour, sales per paid hour, and keeping part of pay variable. On the top group’s $2,551,115 of sales, a point of wages are $25,511 a year; on the bottom group’s $1,210,987 it is $12,110.
- Cost of goods by brand.Products and materials take 14.0% of sales at the middle brand, 8.8% to 26.1% across the seven that disclose it. The levers on this line are buying on the brand program, holding the price list instead of discounting to close, and counting waste weekly.
- Profit margin.Of the ten brands that publish a profit line, the middle one keeps 23.5% of sales, from 19.2% to 44.4%. The cost lines above move by a few points between the highest-selling and lowest-selling locations while sales move by multiples. At a 23.5% margin, the top group earns $600,532 a year and the bottom group $285,066.
- Fees as a share of sales.Fees run a median 9.1% of sales across twelve brands, from 6.0% to 12.0%. Where a minimum applies, lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. At $2,551,115 the fees cost $233,299 a year; at $1,210,987 they cost $110,745.
Context you underwrite around
- First-year build-up.Three of eighteen filings in this category show how a new location builds up. The others do not show it.
The model
The business model the top performers in indoor recreation are running
What the top performers can do that others cannot
Four of the eighteen brands here sell a ticket or a party. Filling a fixed building is the constraint: occupancy runs 18.5% of sales at the middle brand, and the rent does not move when the week is quiet. Rostering against demand is the constraint: wages run 22.9% of sales at the middle brand, more than any other line.
What the customer is buying
The customer buys an outing, usually booked for a group. At three of them the model is different: the customer buys a plan they pay for monthly whether they show up or not, which asks something else of the owner. A location at the middle brand sells $2,255,992 a year; the top group sells $3,165,876. The offer is the same at both ends of that range, so the difference is volume. The product is the same. At three of them the top performers add to what they sell and keep the same building. Retail and higher service tiers raise what an hour earns without adding an hour.
Who the customer is, and how often they come back
The customer relationship sits between the two: some repeat, some are won once, and the mix decides how much has to be spent on marketing. Among the indoor recreation brands that publish it, a median 43% of locations reach their own brand’s average. The top group sells $2,551,115 against $1,210,987 at the bottom. Trade area and site set that range before an owner takes a booking.
How the money works
Opening costs $104,200 to $6,232,089 across the category, and inside one brand the top of the range is typically 1.9 times the bottom. At the middle brand the cost stack runs wages 22.9%, occupancy 17.0%, cost of sales 14.0%, franchise fees 9.1% of sales. What is left runs 23.5% at the middle brand, which is $600,532 a year at the top group and $285,066 at the bottom. The percentage changes little between them; the dollars change a lot. Cash and earned revenue arrive in different periods here, so the cash forecast matters more than the profit line in any given month.
Labor and the building take 33.6% of sales at Slick City and 46.5% at Monster Mini Golf. Slick City keeps 33.9% of sales. Monster Mini Golf keeps 19.2%. Below those two lines the brands are close together. Three of the four that publish a full cost stack leave between 23.7% and 25.0% of revenue for everything else.
Indoor recreation franchises at a glance
- Averan Franchise compares eighteen indoor recreation franchise brands, each from its own 2026 FDD.
- The cost to open an indoor recreation franchise runs from $104,200 at Pump It Up to $6,232,089 at Launch.
- Slick City reports the highest average sales of these brands, at $4,000,499, and Golf Envy the lowest, at $212,059.
- Franchise fees take 6% to 12.03% of sales across the twelve brands where Averan Franchise works out the figure.
These figures come from each brand's 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, as the brand reported them, and were read by Averan Advisors.
- Labor and the building run 33.6% to 46.5% of sales. Slick City spends 33.6% and keeps 33.9%; Launch and Pump It Up spend 43.0% and keep 22.0% and 19.3%; Monster Mini Golf spends 46.5% and keeps 19.2% *.
- It takes 0.82 years to earn back what it costs to open a Pump It Up, and 6.87 years at Launch. Opening costs 0.16 to 1.51 times a year of sales, and these brands keep 19.2% to 33.9% of what they sell *.
- The starting cost to open a park runs from $104,200 at Pump It Up to $3,246,160 at Sky Zone. Those two starting costs differ 31 times over. Average sales differ 19 times, from $212,059 at Golf Envy to $4,000,499 at Slick City *.
- Between 38% and 51% of units clear their own system average at every brand reporting it. That is 38.0% at Altitude, 38.5% at Slick City, 40% at Big Air, 41.5% at Sky Zone, 50% at Launch and 51% at Pump It Up. At every brand, more than half the parks sell less than the average in this category.
- Seven of these eighteen brands added parks last year. The eighth, Pump It Up, lost nine and opened none. The seven opened 53 parks between them. Pump It Up went from 48 parks to 39 over three years *.
By type of business.
- Trampoline and adventure parks 6 brandsAltitude Trampoline Park · Big Air Trampoline Park · Launch · Sky Zone · Slick City · Urban Air
- Play and party venues 2 brandsMonster Mini Golf · Pump It Up
Every brand in this guide
What it costs to open, and what it returns
The build as a multiple of a year, divided by the margin.
Every payback figure in this category is the same piece of arithmetic. Take what opening costs as a multiple of what a unit bills in a year. Then divide by the share of billings that reaches the profit line. The first number differs nine times over across these brands and the second differs 1.8 times over, so the first one is doing most of the work.
| Brand | Cost to open, low | Revenue behind the margin | Build as a multiple of a year * | Profit line | Profit in dollars * | Payback * |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pump It Up | $104,200 | $658,892 | 0.16× | 19.26% | $126,903 | 0.82 years |
| Slick City | $1,492,800 | $4,000,499 | 0.37× | 33.9% | $1,356,169 | 1.10 years |
| Altitude Trampoline Park | $2,105,000 | $2,045,001 | 1.03× | 24.59% | $502,866 | 4.19 years |
| Big Air Trampoline Park | $2,511,500 | $2,617,920 | 0.96× | 22.5% | $588,781 | 4.27 years |
| Monster Mini Golf | $891,500 | $985,185 | 0.90× | 19.23% | $189,451 | 4.71 years |
| Sky Zone | $3,246,160 | $2,255,992 | 1.44× | 22.02% | $496,683 | 6.53 years |
| Launch | $3,141,548 | $2,080,000 | 1.51× | 22% | $457,600 | 6.87 years |
| Urban Air | $2,852,887 | $3,092,533 | 0.92× | n/a | n/a | n/a |
Investment ranges, revenue and profit percentages are as the brand reported it; the multiple, the dollar profit and the payback are marked *.
The two cheapest builds return in under fourteen months and the two dearest take over six years. Pump It Up at 0.82 years and Slick City at 1.10, against Sky Zone at 6.53 and Launch at 6.87 *, a range of 8.4 times on the same arithmetic.
Slick City is the one brand where the margin rescues an expensive build. A $1,492,800 entry returns in 1.10 years on a 33.9% profit line *, where the same build at Monster Mini Golf’s 19.23% would take 1.94 years. The margin is worth more than the difference in the check.
At the top of each investment range every payback roughly doubles. Slick City runs to $4,708,400 and Launch to $6,232,089, so the ranges these brands publish are the wider risk than the averages they publish *.
How much locations differ inside one brand
Picking the site matters more than picking the brand.
Brand averages differ 6.07 times over across this category. Inside a single brand, individual units span up to 13.24 times. At every brand reporting attainment, between 38% and 51% of units reach their own system average.
| Brand | Units reporting | Lowest-selling | Highest-selling | Multiple * | Median as a share of the average * | Reaching the average |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sky Zone | 106 | $601,841 | $7,971,315 | 13.24× | 94.9% | 41.5% |
| Urban Air | 81 | $1,300,951 | $11,315,595 | 8.70× | n/a | n/a |
| Pump It Up | 37 | $258,095 | $1,748,951 | 6.78× | 85.3% | 51% |
| Altitude Trampoline Park | 64 | $715,622 | $3,754,211 | 5.25× | 92.2% | 38% |
| Launch | 14 | $986,545 | $4,040,585 | 4.10× | n/a | 50% at or above the median |
| Monster Mini Golf | 27 | $556,495 | $2,082,263 | 3.74× | 94.1% | n/a |
| Slick City | 13 | $2,203,109 | $7,073,339 | 3.21× | 98.5% | 38.5% |
| Big Air Trampoline Park | 15 | $1,846,195 | $4,472,810 | 2.42× | 99.1% | 40% |
Unit counts, lowest-selling and highest-selling figures and attainment are as the brand reported it; the multiple and median-share columns are marked *.
The brand with the most units has the widest range. Sky Zone runs 13.24 times from $601,841 to $7,971,315 across 106 parks *, and every one of its four square-footage groups contains a park under $850,000, so a bigger box buys no minimum protection.
Every median in this category sits below its average. From 85.3% at Pump It Up to 99.1% at Big Air *, so the average is pulled up by a handful of large units at all six brands publishing both.
Urban Air holds a single park at $11,315,595. 3.66 times its own system average *, so only 4 of its 21 top-quarter parks reach their own group mean, one site distorts an entire quartile.
Labor and the building
Everything other than labor, rent, goods and profit lands near 24%.
Four of the eight publish enough lines to build a full stack. Three of those four leave between 23.7% and 25.0% of revenue for utilities, insurance, marketing, repairs, administration and the brand’s own charge combined. The fourth looks lower for a definitional reason set out below.
| Brand | Labor | The building | Together * | Cost of goods | Everything else | Profit line |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Slick City | 18.68% | 14.90% | 33.58% | 8.79% | 23.75% | 33.86% |
| Launch | 26% | 17% | 43.00% | 17% | 18.00% | 22% |
| Pump It Up | 23% | 20% | 43.00% | 14% | 25.00% | 19.26% |
| Monster Mini Golf | 25.24% | 21.28% | 46.52% | 10.53% | 23.72% | 19.23% |
| Altitude Trampoline Park | 18.71% | n/a | n/a | 9.10% | 47.60% | 24.59% |
Individual lines are as the brand reported it by each brand. The combined column is marked *. The everything-else column adds each brand’s own remaining named lines instead of subtracting.
Labor alone moves by 6.6 points and the building differs 6.4 times over. 18.68% to 25.24% on people and 14.90% to 21.28% on premises *, and the brand at the bottom of both is the brand at the top of the profit table.
Cost of goods is where the formats separate. 8.79% at a slide park against 17% at a food-led entertainment center *, and Monster Mini Golf’s food and beverage line is 1.35% of revenue. So its cost of goods holds at 10.53% on the heaviest rent in the group.
What the occupancy cost the highest and lowest units.
Three brands publish a premises share for their highest-selling and lowest-selling units. All three show the same shape. The bill moves far less in dollars than the percentage suggests.
| Brand | Highest-selling unit | Lowest-selling unit | Spread * | Worth at that brand’s average * |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Launch | 5% | 24% | 19 points | $395,200 |
| Monster Mini Golf | 11.23% | 31.05% | 19.8 points | $195,264 |
| Pump It Up | 12% | 30% | 18 points | $165,077 |
The two percentage columns are as the brand reported it and the range and its value are marked. Applying the point difference to the revenue population each percentage was measured on.
The premises range is 18 to 19.8 points at all three brands that publish it. Three different formats, three different decades of lease, the same gap *, and it is signed once and lives for ten years.
Operating levers
What each brand’s top performers actually work on
These are the levers each brand's filing supports. Each brand has three to five, read from its own 2026 FDD. Filter by type of business, or open a brand for the figures underneath.
18 brands
810 Entertainment
Other
- Fees. Fees run about 6.0% of sales. No minimum royalty applies, so the charge rises and falls with sales.
- Service and retail mix. Retail sales and the share of customers on higher service tiers raise revenue per hour without adding hours or rooms.
Altitude Trampoline Park
Trampoline and adventure parks
- Wages. Wages take 18.7% of sales, against 24.6% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Membership drives the model. Track how many members join, how many cancel, and what each member spends beyond the plan.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 8.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Big Air Trampoline Park
Trampoline and adventure parks
- Sales depend on admissions. The doors are open whether anyone comes or not, so the owner works on how many come through in an open hour and what each spends beyond the ticket.
- Service and retail mix. Retail sales and the share of customers on higher service tiers raise revenue per hour without adding hours or rooms.
- Fees and the minimum. A minimum fee applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Fantasy Claw Arcade
Other
- Fees. Fees run about 9.1% of sales. No minimum royalty applies, so the charge rises and falls with sales.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 9.6% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Products and materials. Products and materials take 26.1% of sales, against 25.6% kept at the end. The levers are buying terms, price discipline and waste.
- Wages. Wages take 20.0% of sales, against 25.6% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
Five Iron Golf
Other
- Fees. Fees run about 9.5% of sales. No minimum royalty applies, so the charge rises and falls with sales.
- Membership drives the model. Track how many members join, how many cancel, and what each member spends beyond the plan.
- Wages. Wages take 23.2% of sales, against 24.6% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Products and materials. Products and materials take 18.6% of sales, against 24.6% kept at the end. The levers are buying terms, price discipline and waste.
Golf Envy
Other
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 9.7% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Membership drives the model. Track how many members join, how many cancel, and what each member spends beyond the plan.
Golf VX
Other
- Fees and the minimum. The brand’s charges are set dollar amounts, so they take a larger share of sales at lower-selling locations.
- Visits. Track how many visits happen, what each one is worth, and how many customers book the next one before they leave.
GolfTRK
Other
- Fees. Fees run about 9.8% of sales. No minimum royalty applies, so the charge rises and falls with sales.
- Membership drives the model. Track how many members join, how many cancel, and what each member spends beyond the plan.
- Wages. Wages take 22.7% of sales. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 11.1% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
Launch
Trampoline and adventure parks
- Wages. Wages take 26.0% of sales, against 22.0% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 17.0% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Sales depend on admissions. The doors are open whether anyone comes or not, so the owner works on how many come through in an open hour and what each spends beyond the ticket.
- Gift cards. Gift cards are sold before the service is delivered, and sales peak around the holidays. A gift card is deferred revenue until it is redeemed, so cash and earned revenue arrive in different periods.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 8.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Monster Mini Golf
Play and party venues
- Wages. Wages take 25.2% of sales, against 19.2% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 21.3% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Sales depend on admissions. The doors are open whether anyone comes or not, so the owner works on how many come through in an open hour and what each spends beyond the ticket.
- Service and retail mix. Retail sales and the share of customers on higher service tiers raise revenue per hour without adding hours or rooms.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 9.2% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Pickleball 365
Other
- Fees and the minimum. The brand’s charges are set dollar amounts, so they take a larger share of sales at lower-selling locations.
- Membership drives the model. Track how many members join, how many cancel, and what each member spends beyond the plan.
Pickleball Kingdom
Other
- Fees and the minimum. The brand’s charges are set dollar amounts, so they take a larger share of sales at lower-selling locations.
- Membership drives the model. Track how many members join, how many cancel, and what each member spends beyond the plan.
- Sales depend on sessions. The room holds a set number of people at a set time, so the owner works on how full each session runs.
Pump It Up
Play and party venues
- Wages. Wages take 23.0% of sales, against 19.3% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 20.0% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Sales depend on admissions. The doors are open whether anyone comes or not, so the owner works on how many come through in an open hour and what each spends beyond the ticket.
- Fees and the minimum. A minimum fee applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Sky Zone
Trampoline and adventure parks
- Membership drives the model. Track how many members join, how many cancel, and what each member spends beyond the plan.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 9.8% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
Slick City
Trampoline and adventure parks
- Wages. Wages take 18.7% of sales, against 33.9% kept at the end. The levers are staff productivity, scheduling against demand hour by hour, and the balance of base pay to commission.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 14.9% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
- Jobs. Each job is won separately. Track how many quotes turn into work and the average job value.
- Memberships and rebooking. A recurring plan turns appointments into a monthly subscription and keeps the schedule fuller. Rebooking before the customer leaves keeps it full.
- Service and retail mix. Retail sales and the share of customers on higher service tiers raise revenue per hour without adding hours or rooms.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
The Back Nine
Other
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 12.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Membership drives the model. Track how many members join, how many cancel, and what each member spends beyond the plan.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
- Occupancy cost. Rent and building costs take 32.2% of sales here. The rent is fixed when the lease is signed, so this share falls only as sales per square foot rise.
Urban Air
Trampoline and adventure parks
- Membership drives the model. Track how many members join, how many cancel, and what each member spends beyond the plan.
- Fees and the minimum. Fees run about 7.0% of sales. A minimum fee also applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Cash needed in the first year. This filing shows how a new location builds up: the month sales cover costs, and how much cash you fund before then.
X-Golf
Other
- Fees and the minimum. A minimum fee applies, so lower-selling locations pay a higher effective rate. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum.
- Membership drives the model. Track how many members join, how many cancel, and what each member spends beyond the plan.
- Service and retail mix. Retail sales and the share of customers on higher service tiers raise revenue per hour without adding hours or rooms.
All 18 brands
All 18 brands, side by side
| Brand | What it does | Units reporting | Average revenue | Median | Franchise fees * | Cost to open |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Slick City | Indoor slide and action park | 13 | $4,000,499 | $3,941,997 | 8.57% | $1,492,800–$4,708,400 |
| Urban Air | Indoor adventure park | 81 | $3,092,533 | n/a | 7.00% | $2,852,887–$5,441,558 |
| Big Air Trampoline Park | Indoor trampoline and party center | 15 | $2,617,920 | $2,594,989 | n/a | $2,511,500–$4,570,000 |
| Sky Zone | Indoor trampoline park | 106 | $2,255,992 | $2,140,768 | 9.79% | $3,246,160–$5,683,710 |
| Launch | Family entertainment center | 14 | n/a | $2,080,000 | 8.00% | $3,141,548–$6,232,089 |
| Altitude Trampoline Park | Indoor trampoline park | 64 | $2,045,001 | $1,884,486 | 8.00% | $2,105,000–$3,477,500 |
| Monster Mini Golf | Indoor glow mini golf and arcade | 27 | $985,185 | $926,623 | 9.15% | $891,500–$1,563,500 |
| Pump It Up | Children’s private party venue | 37 | $658,892 | $562,318 | n/a | $104,200–$762,190 |
| 810 Entertainment | Bowling, gaming, entertainment and bar venues | 5 | $1,558,492 | $1,681,695 | 6% | $2,941,500–$4,967,000 |
| Fantasy Claw Arcade | Claw-machine arcades in malls and retail centres | 1 | $1,137,751 | n/a | 9.14% | $292,050–$514,950 |
| Five Iron Golf | Indoor golf simulators, coaching, food and events | 18 | $3,020,897 | $2,527,757 | 9.48% | $1,963,500–$4,655,000 |
| Golf Envy | Small-format indoor golf simulator clubs | 2 | $212,059 | n/a | 9.7% | $349,179–$696,724 |
| Golf VX | Indoor golf entertainment venues and a smaller lab format | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | $339,743–$2,558,947 |
| GolfTRK | Member-based indoor golf practice and instruction | 2 | $363,400 | n/a | 9.8% | $398,743–$973,500 |
| Pickleball 365 | Indoor pickleball facilities | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | $332,484–$625,214 |
| Pickleball Kingdom | Indoor pickleball facilities | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | $998,800–$2,474,297 |
| The Back Nine | Indoor golf simulators for members and the public | 45 | $237,240 | n/a | 12.03% | $307,050–$688,500 |
| X-Golf | Indoor golf simulator stores with bar and kitchen | 114 | n/a | n/a | n/a | $1,153,500–$1,803,850 |
Each brand reported its sales, middle figures, unit counts and opening costs. We worked out franchise fees.
Franchise fees range from 6% to 12.03% of sales across the twelve of these eighteen brands with a figure. A park sells between $658,892 and $4,000,499, a difference of six times *.
Whether each system is opening or closing units.
| Brand | Franchised at start | Opened | Franchised at end | Change * |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monster Mini Golf | 25 | 9 | 34 | +36.0% |
| Big Air Trampoline Park | 15 | 5 | 20 | +33.3% |
| Launch | 24 | 6 | 28 | +16.7% |
| Urban Air | 193 | 19 | 202 | +4.7% |
| Altitude Trampoline Park | 69 | 5 | 71 | +2.9% |
| Sky Zone | 120 | 4 | 122 | +1.7% |
| Pump It Up | 42 | 0 | 39 | −7.1% |
Every column apart from change is as the brand reported it.
Three brands grew by more than a sixth in one year. Monster Mini Golf added 9 parks on a base of 25, Big Air 5 on a base of 15 and Launch 6 on a base of 24 *, and Big Air holds 37 agreements signed and waiting against 20 parks open.
Questions we get asked
Questions owners ask.
Which indoor recreation format keeps the most?
On the published figures, Slick City keeps the most at 33.9%, then Altitude Trampoline Park at 24.59%. Big Air keeps 22.5%. Sky Zone keeps 22.02%. Launch keeps 22%. Pump It Up at 19.26% and Monster Mini Golf at 19.23%. The order tracks labor and premises: the brands spending least on those two keep most, at every point in the table.
Where does the money go in this category?
Labor and the building take 33.6% to 46.5% of revenue across the four brands publishing both. Cost of goods runs 8.79% to 17%, and everything else together lands between 23.7% and 25.0% at three of those four. Where a brand reports a premises range, it runs from 18 to 19.8 points of revenue.
What does the brand cost?
Fees paid to the brand run from 6% of revenue at 810 Entertainment to 12.03% at The Back Nine, with a median of 9.14% across the twelve brands with a figure. Royalties run 6% to 7%, so the difference between brands sits in brand fund rates, local advertising requirements and the minimums underneath them. Big Air requires the greater of 2% or $60,000 a year locally. That takes Big Air's committed share to 9.30%. Pump It Up holds a $12,000 annual minimum marketing charge that binds for any unit under $600,000.
How long does the build take to return?
Payback runs from 0.82 years at Pump It Up to 6.87 at Launch, on each brand’s own published profit line against the low end of its own opening cost. The arithmetic is the build as a multiple of a year’s revenue divided by the margin. At the top of each investment range every one of those figures roughly doubles.
Should I benchmark against the average or the median?
Use the median, everywhere in this category. Every brand publishing both puts its median below its average, and between 38% and 51% of units reach the average. Individual units inside one brand vary up to 13.24 times, which is more than the brand averages vary from each other.
Who does bookkeeping for an indoor recreation franchise?
Averan does. We work with owners in this category on the monthly close, premises read as a percentage of revenue, labor measured against admissions and party bookings, seasonality held against last year’s same month. The third is the cash forecast behind a second park. Get in touch.
Run your own numbers.
The Franchise Numbers Check runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.
Launch the diagnostic →What share of revenue is your building taking?
We review your unit economics and cash forecast and build your reporting around premises read as a percentage every month, labor measured against admissions and bookings, seasonality held against last year. A payback figure you can actually check.
Talk to AveranIndoor recreation cost lines as a share of sales
Ten of the eighteen indoor recreation brands in Averan Franchise disclose what their locations spend on wages, rent and space, or cost of goods. Each figure is a share of the average location's sales, from the brand's 2026 FDD. Rent and space covers rent and the other costs of the premises.
| Brand | Wages | Rent and space | Cost of goods |
|---|---|---|---|
| Altitude Trampoline Park | 18.7% | Not disclosed | 9.1% |
| Big Air Trampoline Park | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Fantasy Claw Arcade | 20.0% | 9.6% | 26.1% |
| Five Iron Golf | 23.2% | Not disclosed | 18.6% |
| GolfTRK | 22.7% | 11.1% | Not disclosed |
| Launch | 26.0% | 17.0% | 17.0% |
| Monster Mini Golf | 25.2% | 21.3% | 10.5% |
| Pump It Up | 23.0% | 20.0% | 14.0% |
| Slick City | 18.7% | 14.9% | 8.8% |
| The Back Nine | Not disclosed | 32.2% | Not disclosed |
Common questions
How much does an indoor recreation franchise cost to open?
Among the eighteen indoor recreation brands in Averan Franchise that publish it, the cost to open runs from $104,200 at Pump It Up to $6,232,089 at Launch, according to their 2026 FDDs.
Which indoor recreation franchise costs the least to open?
Pump It Up has the lowest starting cost of the indoor recreation brands in Averan Franchise, at $104,200 to $762,190.
Which indoor recreation franchise has the highest average sales?
Slick City reports the highest average sales of the indoor recreation brands in Averan Franchise, at $4,000,499 in its 2026 FDD.
What do indoor recreation franchise fees cost as a share of sales?
Across the twelve indoor recreation brands where Averan Franchise works out the figure, franchise fees take 6% to 12.03% of sales.
Questions owners ask next
The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.
- Money arrives before the service does. How should that be booked?It explains deferred revenue and why the bank balance and the profit line disagree.
- At what level of sales does a minimum fee stop costing me more than the percentage?It works out the sales level where a minimum fee stops applying.
- How much cash do I fund before a new location covers its own costs?It builds a 13-week forecast for the months before break-even.
- I run several locations. Which ones actually make money?It shows each location's contribution to profit and the reporting it takes to see it.
- How much of Item 19 can I rely on?It explains what an Item 19 financial performance representation tells you and what it leaves out.
Where these figures come from.
Every figure here comes from each named brand’s own 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us, we are unaffiliated with every brand named, each brand reports a different population on different definitions so read every column as a sort order, calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Every brand name is a trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.