Pilates Addiction franchise unit economics
Pilates Addiction franchisees run reformer Pilates studios that sell memberships, class packages and retail products, with classes taught on the brand’s AURUM reformers.
Pilates Addiction franchise at a glance
Pilates Addiction’s 2026 FDD, issued 1 May 2026, makes no financial performance representation in Item 19, so it gives no sales or profit figure. A Pilates Addiction studio costs $328,620 to $761,610 to open, according to the 2026 FDD as amended on 1 September 2026.
- Pilates Addiction charges a $65,000 initial franchise fee for one studio, falling to $55,000 a studio for a three-studio commitment and $45,000 from the fourth studio.
- Pilates Addiction charges a royalty of 8% of gross sales and a brand fund fee of 2%, which it may raise to 4%.
- A Pilates Addiction studio pays $850 a month in technology fees and $599 a month for the member management system and app, $17,388 a year* in total, and must spend at least $2,500 a month on local advertising.
- Pilates Addiction had 11 franchised studios at the end of 2025, and 9 of them still traded under the WundaBar name.
- Pilates Addiction had signed 62 franchise agreements for studios not yet open at the end of 2025, and projects all 62 to open in 2026.
- The Pilates Addiction FDD, issued May 1, 2026 and amended on May 29 and September 1, 2026, makes no financial performance representation, so it gives no revenue figure for any studio.
These figures come from Pilates Addiction's 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, as the brand reported them, and were read by Averan Advisors. The $17,388 is an Averan calculation: ($850 technology fee + $599 member management system and app fee) x 12 months.
Own this franchise?
See what your numbers should look like every month.
Talk to Averan → Averan Pilates Addiction Conversion Package →- The Pilates Addiction FDD contains no financial performance representation. Item 19 of the Pilates Addiction FDD states that the franchisor does not make any financial performance representations. A buyer of an existing Pilates Addiction studio may be given that studio’s actual records.
- Pilates Addiction sets Minimum Sales Levels of $30,000 and $40,000 a month. These are contract requirements, not reported sales. A Pilates Addiction franchisee must reach average monthly gross sales of at least $30,000 in the first full calendar year after opening and $40,000 in each later year; missing them for two consecutive years is an event of default.
- Pilates Addiction receives $214,385 to $281,885 of the cost to open. At the low end that is 65.2%* of the Pilates Addiction estimate of $328,620, and at the high end 37.0%* of $761,610. The largest of these lines is the millwork and lighting system bought from the franchisor, at $106,000 to $127,000.
- Pilates Addiction fixed monthly charges come to $1,449 before local advertising. The Pilates Addiction technology fee is $850 a month and the member management system and app fee is $599 a month. With the $2,500 monthly local advertising minimum, a Pilates Addiction studio commits $47,388 a year* before any percentage fee.
- Pilates Addiction had 11 studios open and 62 signed at the end of 2025. All 11 Pilates Addiction studios were franchised; two in California traded under the Pilates Addiction name and nine were WundaBar studios. Pilates Addiction projects 62 new franchised studios in 2026, 14 of them in Texas.
Revenue
What the Pilates Addiction FDD discloses about revenue
The Pilates Addiction FDD makes no financial performance representation. Item 19 of the Pilates Addiction FDD says the franchisor does not make any financial performance representations and does not authorize its employees or representatives to make them. The Pilates Addiction FDD gives no average revenue, median, range or profit figure for any studio.
A buyer of an existing Pilates Addiction studio may receive that studio’s records. Item 19 says that if you are purchasing an existing outlet, Pilates Addiction may provide the actual records of that outlet.
Pilates Addiction sets Minimum Sales Levels in Item 12. A Pilates Addiction franchisee must achieve average monthly Gross Sales of at least $30,000 in the first full calendar year after opening and at least $40,000 in the second and each later full calendar year. These are thresholds in the Pilates Addiction franchise agreement, not figures reported by any studio.
Missing the Pilates Addiction Minimum Sales Levels in a year requires a business plan. The Pilates Addiction franchisee must write a business plan that the franchisor approves and carry it out the next year. Missing the levels for two consecutive years is an event of default, and Pilates Addiction may then reduce the territory or terminate the franchise agreement.
Pilates Addiction requires pre-sold memberships before opening. Item 11 of the Pilates Addiction FDD makes opening approval conditional on at least 200 members and/or memberships that will generate at least $25,000 in recurring monthly Gross Sales, starting on the opening date. That is an opening condition, not a sales result.
Studio and territory
Studio format, territory and opening timeline
| Term | Pilates Addiction FDD |
|---|---|
| Standard prototype | One-story space of 1,500 to 1,800 square feet |
| Equipment | AURUM Reformers and related Pilates equipment, usually bought through lease-to-own financing |
| Territory | Typically about 50,000 people or a two-mile radius from the studio door, whichever includes fewer people |
| Typical time from signing to opening | About 11 to 13 months |
| Opening deadline | 13 months after the franchise agreement takes effect; extensions may cost $2,500 a month |
| Pre-opening sales condition | At least 200 members and/or memberships that will generate at least $25,000 in recurring monthly Gross Sales |
| Minimum Sales Levels | Average monthly Gross Sales of $30,000 in the first full calendar year, $40,000 after |
Source: Pilates Addiction FDD, Items 1, 11 and 12. In very high-density urban markets above one million people, Pilates Addiction may grant no territory or a territory of no more than a city block.
A Pilates Addiction territory is not exclusive. Pilates Addiction and its affiliates agree not to open or license another studio in the territory, except at non-traditional locations, and keep the right to run other business activities anywhere.
Pilates Addiction and WundaBar studios use the same reformers. The Pilates Addiction FDD says WundaBar studios operate in substantially the same manner as Pilates Addiction studios, with the reformers called WundaFormers there and AURUM Reformers in Pilates Addiction studios. Pilates Addiction intends to convert the WundaBar studios to the Pilates Addiction brand gradually.
Studios by state
Studios open and signed, December 31, 2025
| State | Franchised, open | Signed, not yet open | Projected franchised openings, 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| California | 6 | 5 | 5 |
| Colorado | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| Connecticut | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Florida | 0 | 6 | 6 |
| Georgia | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Idaho | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Indiana | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Kansas | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Kentucky | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Michigan | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Missouri | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Nevada | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| New Jersey | 1 | 3 | 3 |
| New York | 3 | 1 | 1 |
| North Carolina | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Ohio | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Pennsylvania | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| South Carolina | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Tennessee | 1 | 3 | 3 |
| Texas | 0 | 14 | 14 |
| Washington | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| All | 11 | 62 | 62 |
Source: Pilates Addiction FDD, Item 20, Tables 3 and 5. Table 5 also projects one new company-owned studio in California in 2026. Item 19 gives no results by studio, so this section shows where Pilates Addiction studios are open and signed.
Pilates Addiction had 11 open studios in four states and 62 signed agreements in 22 states. The Pilates Addiction open studios were in California (6), New York (3), New Jersey (1) and Tennessee (1). Texas had the most Pilates Addiction agreements signed but not yet open, at 14.
Two Pilates Addiction studios traded under the Pilates Addiction name at the end of 2025. Both were in California. The other nine Pilates Addiction franchised studios were WundaBar studios.
Pilates Addiction projects all 62 signed studios to open in 2026. The Pilates Addiction FDD as amended on September 1, 2026 adds a risk factor stating that the franchisor has signed a significant number of franchise agreements with franchisees who have not yet opened.
Brand charges
Brand charges
| Charge | Amount | When | A year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty | 8% of Gross Sales | Currently weekly | – |
| Brand Fund fee | 2% of Gross Sales; may rise to 4% | With the royalty | – |
| Technology fee | $850 a month ($750 during the three presale months); cap is the greater of $1,200 a month, 2% of Gross Sales or 120% of cost | Monthly | $10,200* |
| Member management system and app fee | $599 a month ($268 and $599 in the presale months); cap is the greater of $1,200 a month or 120% of cost | Monthly | $7,188* |
| Local advertising | At least $2,500 a month, spent by the franchisee; any shortfall may be payable to Pilates Addiction | Monthly | $30,000* |
| Opening marketing | At least $20,000, from 60 days before to 30 days after opening; may be paid to Pilates Addiction | Once | – |
| Music licensing fee | Provider charges plus an administrative fee of up to 5% | As arranged | – |
| Equipment Refresh Program | Then-current prices for required replacements | As incurred | – |
| Transfer fee | 25% of the then-current franchise fee for a change of control; $5,000 for other transfers | On transfer | – |
| Successor fee | 25% of the then-current franchise fee | On renewal | – |
| Fixed charges before percentage fees | $1,449 a month of technology fees plus $2,500 a month of local advertising | $47,388* |
Source: Pilates Addiction FDD, Item 6 and Item 11. Annual amounts are Averan calculations at the current monthly rates. Without an Item 19 average there is no sales figure to divide by, so Averan does not compute a total fee as a percentage of sales; the percentage charges come to 10%* of Gross Sales at current rates.
Pilates Addiction percentage charges come to 10% of Gross Sales. The Pilates Addiction royalty is 8% and the brand fund fee is 2%*. Pilates Addiction may raise the brand fund fee to 4%, which would make the percentage charges 12%*.
Pilates Addiction fixed charges come to $47,388 a year at current rates. That is $17,388* of technology and member app fees paid to Pilates Addiction and $30,000* of required local advertising. The technology and member app fees may each rise to at least $1,200 a month.
Pilates Addiction local advertising is spent by the franchisee. The $2,500 monthly minimum is in addition to the Pilates Addiction brand fund fee. If a Pilates Addiction franchisee does not spend or document it, the franchisor may require the shortfall to be paid to it as an extra brand fund fee or for local marketing.
Pilates Addiction charges liquidated damages if a franchise agreement is terminated after opening. The amount is the average monthly royalty over the prior 12 months multiplied by the lesser of the months left in the term or 36.
Cost to open
Cost to open
| Line | Low | High | Paid to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise fee | $65,000 | $65,000 | Pilates Addiction |
| Equipment package, financed (first four months) | $22,955 | $70,025 | Designated vendor |
| Presale kit | $6,000 | $7,000 | Pilates Addiction |
| Initial retail inventory kit | $6,000 | $7,000 | Pilates Addiction |
| Sound system | $14,000 | $26,000 | Pilates Addiction |
| Millwork and lighting system | $106,000 | $127,000 | Pilates Addiction |
| Travel during initial training | $1,000 | $6,000 | Travel providers |
| Utility deposits | $900 | $2,500 | Landlord, utilities |
| Lease security deposit | $3,200 | $13,000 | Landlord |
| Rent, three months | $9,600 | $39,000 | Landlord |
| Net leasehold improvements | $19,430 | $248,000 | Third-party vendors |
| Signage | $14,000 | $25,000 | Pilates Addiction |
| Technology system | $5,200 | $9,800 | Vendors and Pilates Addiction |
| Technology-related fees, presale | $3,385 | $3,385 | Pilates Addiction |
| Business licenses | $250 | $1,000 | Government agencies |
| Professional fees | $2,500 | $5,000 | Professionals |
| Construction and real estate management services | $15,500 | $15,500 | Designated vendor |
| Insurance deposit and premiums | $1,300 | $4,000 | Insurer |
| Opening marketing | $20,000 | $22,000 | Vendors or Pilates Addiction |
| Instructor onboarding and related costs | $0 | $13,000 | Pilates Addiction and travel providers |
| Additional funds, three months | $10,000 | $50,000 | Various |
| Total as printed | $328,620 | $761,610 |
Source: Pilates Addiction FDD, Item 7, as amended on September 1, 2026. The 21 lines add to $326,220 and $759,210*, $2,400* below each printed total. The cover says $214,385 to $281,885 of the total is paid to the franchisor or its affiliates.
Pilates Addiction estimates $328,620 to $761,610 to open one studio. Of that, $214,385 to $281,885 is paid to Pilates Addiction or its affiliates, which is 65.2%* of the low estimate and 37.0%* of the high estimate.
The Pilates Addiction millwork and lighting system is $106,000 to $127,000. It covers reception desks, built-in storage, shelving, display fixtures, carpentry and the standard lighting package, and it is bought from Pilates Addiction.
The Pilates Addiction estimate assumes the reformers are financed. The $22,955 to $70,025 line covers an origination fee, four months of lease-to-own payments at 5.9% to 8.9%, and shipping and taxes. Buying the Pilates Addiction equipment package outright is estimated at $190,827 to $201,162 before shipping and taxes.
The Pilates Addiction leasehold line assumes a landlord allowance. Pilates Addiction says its recently developed studios received tenant improvement allowances of $35 to $118 per square foot, averaging $64.60.
Pilates Addiction reduces the franchise fee for multi-studio commitments. A Pilates Addiction development fee of $165,000 to $480,000 for three to 10 studios is paid at signing. Pilates Addiction collected franchise fees of $35,000 to $65,000 in 2025.
Locations
Locations, 2023 to 2025
| Year | Franchised, start | Franchised added | Terminated, not renewed or ceased | Franchised, end | Affiliate-owned, end | All studios, end |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 8 | 10 |
| 2024 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 9 | 11 |
| 2025 | 2 | 9 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 11 |
Source: Pilates Addiction FDD, Item 20, Tables 1, 3 and 4. Before February 2025 the system was franchised by WundaBar Franchising Inc., whose affiliates owned the affiliate-owned studios. No studio was transferred, reacquired, terminated or closed in the three years.
Pilates Addiction had 11 studios at December 31, 2025, all franchised. The nine Pilates Addiction franchised studios added in 2025 were existing affiliate-owned WundaBar studios that became franchised studios after Pilates Addiction acquired the system.
The Pilates Addiction system grew from 10 studios to 11 over 2024. The affiliate-owned count rose by one studio in 2023 and one in 2024, and the total stayed at 11 through 2025.
The Pilates Addiction company-owned table does not add up in two places. Tennessee shows one studio opened in 2023 but a year-end count of 0, with 2024 starting at 1. In 2025 the state rows show 8 studios sold to franchisees against a printed total of 9.
Questions we get asked
Questions owners ask
How much does it cost to open a Pilates Addiction franchise?
The Pilates Addiction FDD estimates $328,620 to $761,610 for one studio. Of that, $214,385 to $281,885 is paid to Pilates Addiction or its affiliates, including the $65,000 franchise fee and the $106,000 to $127,000 millwork and lighting system. The estimate assumes the reformers are financed.
What fees does Pilates Addiction charge?
Pilates Addiction charges a royalty of 8% of Gross Sales and a brand fund fee of 2%, which may rise to 4%. Pilates Addiction also charges a technology fee of $850 a month and a member management system and app fee of $599 a month, and requires at least $2,500 a month of local advertising.
How much does a Pilates Addiction franchise make?
The Pilates Addiction FDD does not say. Item 19 makes no financial performance representation, so there is no average, median or profit figure for any Pilates Addiction studio. The $30,000 and $40,000 monthly Minimum Sales Levels are contract thresholds, not reported sales.
How many Pilates Addiction locations are there?
Pilates Addiction had 11 franchised studios at December 31, 2025, in California, New York, New Jersey and Tennessee. Two traded under the Pilates Addiction name and nine as WundaBar studios. Pilates Addiction had signed 62 more agreements and projects all 62 to open in 2026.
What happens if a Pilates Addiction studio misses its Minimum Sales Levels?
A Pilates Addiction franchisee that misses the levels in a calendar year must prepare a business plan for approval and carry it out the next year. Missing them two years in a row is an event of default, and Pilates Addiction may reduce the territory or terminate the agreement.
How long does it take to open a Pilates Addiction studio?
Pilates Addiction estimates about 11 to 13 months from signing to opening, and the studio must open within 13 months of the franchise agreement taking effect. Before opening, a Pilates Addiction studio must have at least 200 members and/or memberships that will generate at least $25,000 in recurring monthly Gross Sales.
Questions worth putting to Pilates Addiction
These are questions the filing leaves open. An owner or a buyer can put them to the franchisor directly.
- Is the revenue in Item 19 gross sales or collected revenue, and how many locations sit below the average?
- Which factors does Pilates Addiction see in its highest-selling locations, such as territory, years open and staffing?
- How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
- At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
- How many Pilates Addiction locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?
Run your own numbers.
The Franchise Numbers Check runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. It also checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.
Launch the diagnostic →Reporting for a Pilates Addiction owner
We review your unit economics and cash forecast and build your monthly reporting around the figures on this page.
Talk to Averanthe franchise library, all 431 brands · how franchise unit economics work · running the books across several locations · what Averan does for franchise owners
Other brands in the Pilates, Barre And Yoga guide:
Questions owners ask next
The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.
- At what level of sales does a minimum fee stop costing me more than the percentage?It works out the sales level where a minimum fee stops applying.
- How much cash do I fund before a new location covers its own costs?It builds a 13-week forecast for the months before break-even.
- What does this location earn on the money I put into it?It works out the payback period and cash-on-cash return for one unit.
- How much of Item 19 can I rely on?It explains what an Item 19 financial performance representation tells you and what it leaves out.
Where these figures come from
Every figure here comes from Pilates Addiction Franchisor LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear. The figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Pilates Addiction is a trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.
These figures come from the brand's disclosure. They are not a forecast, an offer to sell a franchise or advice. Source: Pilates Addiction Franchisor LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued 1 May 2026.