Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Bar Method franchise unit economics

Bar Method studios run about 1,700 square feet. The 73 that traded the twelve months to 28 February 2026 averaged $422,969 of sales on 143 monthly members and 224 monthly unique customers. So 81 people a month take a class without a membership agreement. Dues are 61.9% of revenue, retail 5.7%, and the remaining 32.4% is class packages, drop-ins and everything else sold by the session.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: The Bar Method, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
The Bar Method, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
73 of 77 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

Every Bar Method studio pays about the same rent: base rent of $29.51 a square foot and common-area charges of $11.03, so the recommended 1,700-square-foot box costs $68,918 a year, 9.44% of what a top-quarter studio bills and 32.68% of what a bottom-quarter one does.

Units reporting73 studios, to Feb 2026
Dues a member a month$152.58
Rent and CAM a year$68,918
Total investment$240,288–$491,358
  1. The same 1,700 square feet costs 9.44% of revenue at the top and 32.68% at the bottom. $68,918 of rent and common-area charges against $730,249 and $210,862 *, 23.2 points of margin decided before a class is taught.
  2. A member pays $152.58 a month in dues and $246.49 in total. $261,825 of membership revenue and $422,969 of everything across 143 members *, so dues are 61.9 cents of each revenue dollar.
  3. 81 of every 224 monthly customers attend without a membership agreement. 36.2% of the people in the room *, and $137,066 of the year sits outside dues and retail.
  4. The top quarter holds 2.76 times the members and charges $36.93 more a month each. 218 against 79, and $169.08 against $132.15 *, volume has 69.5% of the $317,043 dues gap.
  5. One studio sold $153,183 of retail. 72.6% of what a bottom-quarter studio bills in total *, against a system average of $24,078 and a low of $3,112.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.

Questions worth putting to Bar Method

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Bar Method locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

What share of your revenue is the lease taking?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around rent and common-area charges as a share of revenue, dues a member. The customers in your room who have yet to sign an agreement.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Bar Method reads against the rest of the pilates, barre and yoga group: barre3 · BODYBAR Pilates · Club Pilates · Pure Barre · Yoga Six. The pilates, barre and yoga guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from The Bar Method’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. The Bar Method® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.