Zoomin Groomin business model breakdown
A Zoomin Groomin area representative sells and supports mobile pet-grooming franchises. The territory is priced at 10 cents a resident, $12,500 for each unit territory of about 125,000 people. In return the representative takes 50% of unit initial fees and 50% of royalties, and pays zero royalty upward. Representatives went from 11 to 57 in three years.
- Primary source
- Zoomin Groomin USA LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
- Items read
- Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
- Population
- 0 of 57 locations
- Our calculations
- Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
- Last reviewed
- 26 September 2026
Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.
This one sells the right to sell. An area representative buys a region at 10 cents a resident. That is $12,500 for each territory of about 125,000 people. The representative then recruits mobile grooming owners and keeps 50% of their initial fees and royalties. The only recurring cost is up to $350 a month.
- Each unit territory costs exactly $12,500.10 cents across 125,000 residents *, so a seven-territory region is $87,500 and a thirty-territory region $375,000.
- The representative pays zero royalty and keeps half of everything upward.50% of net unit initial fees and 50% of unit royalties, with zero advertising fund contribution and zero local marketing minimum.
- A broker-sold unit leaves the representative with a quarter of the fee.The broker fee, currently 50%, is deducted before the 50% commission is calculated *.
- Help from the brand’s own sales staff costs $5,000 an unit.Payable at the time of sale, so the cheapest unit to sell is the one you find yourself.
- The only ongoing charge is technology, at up to $350 a month.$4,200 a year *, the lightest recurring obligation in this library.
Ten cents per person
The price is a population count.
| Region size | Population * | Fee | A unit territory * |
|---|---|---|---|
| 7 unit territories | 875,000 | $87,500 | $12,500 |
| 15 unit territories | 1,875,000 | $187,500 | $12,500 |
| 30 unit territories | 3,750,000 | $375,000 | $12,500 |
| Rate | 10 cents for each resident of the region | ||
The brand reported the 10-cent rate, the 125,000-resident territory and the $87,500 to $375,000 range. We worked out the population and per-territory columns.
The price an unit territory holds flat at every region size. $12,500 whether the region fits seven or thirty *, so there is zero volume discount for taking more ground.
Veterans and first responders receive 10% off. $8,750 on the smallest region and $37,500 on the largest *.
A region already containing operating units is priced by negotiation. Based on how many exist and what royalty they generate, alongside density, competition and road layouts, so an established region is priced case by case.
The fee is refunded if the application is declined or training goes unpassed. Provided the materials come back, a narrow but real refund, uncommon at this size of check.
The brand finances zero part of it. So $87,500 to $375,000 is cash at signing.
Top performers
What separates the top Zoomin Groomin performers
Zoomin Groomin publishes no revenue figures, so neither the average nor the spread between locations is disclosed.
Decided before you open
- Territory, and how much of it is real.This model sells from a territory rather than a building, quoted at 125,000 people. Two owners with the same brand and different ground are running different businesses, and density decides how much driving sits between jobs.
- What you spend to open.Opening costs $96,150 to $395,400, a 4.1× range inside one brand. The high end usually buys more capacity, so the cheapest build is not always the cheapest route to the top band.
Live operating levers
- Pets served, the operating driver.This model bills on pets served. The owner counts how many pets come through in a day and how many come back within the month. It is worth watching every week, because by the time it turns up in a monthly close the quarter is half gone.
- Membership and rebooking.A recurring plan turns a high-fixed-cost business from an appointment book into a subscription, which smooths the utilisation that drives the wage line. Rebooking before the customer leaves is what builds it, not marketing spend afterwards.
- Service and retail mix.Attachment rate on retail, and the share of customers on the higher service tiers, lift what each hour earns without adding an hour or a room. It is the only lever that raises the ceiling without spending capital.
Context you underwrite around
- What the disclosure leaves out.Item 19 publishes no profit or cost data for franchised locations, no median, no performance bands, no attainment figure. Anything below the sales line has to come from the franchisor or from owners you call.
- What the rest of the category shows.Across the 13 Pet Care brands in this library that do publish bands, the top group sells 4.1× the bottom at the typical brand, and a median 44% of locations reach their own average *. Assume a spread of that order here until the franchisor shows you otherwise.
Top performers
How far apart the locations are
This filing does not split its locations into performance bands, so the gap between the highest and lowest Zoomin Groomin location is not disclosed. What it does publish is on the Model and Finance tabs.
What it costs to start
Almost the entire investment is the territory itself. (Item 7)
| Item | Low | High |
|---|---|---|
| Initial area representative fee | $87,500 | $375,000 |
| Initial advertising | $3,000 | $5,000 |
| Professional fees | $1,500 | $3,500 |
| Additional funds, three months | $3,000 | $5,000 |
| Everything else | $1,150 | $6,900 |
| Total | $96,150 | $395,400 |
| Outside the fee * | $8,650 | $20,400 |
Every figure is as the brand reported it and the final row subtracts the territory fee from the totals, marked *.
Everything beyond the territory costs $8,650 to $20,400. *, 9.0% and 5.2% of the two totals, so this is a purchase.
The business runs from home or any office. With relocation needing notice, rent is $0 at the low end for that reason.
Three months of working capital is $3,000 to $5,000. Excluding any salary for the owner or staff, so the income has to start arriving from unit sales quickly.
Initial advertising of $3,000 to $5,000 is the recruitment budget. The only marketing figure in the whole estimate, and it targets franchisees.
A transfer costs $10,000. Modest against a territory that can cost $375,000, 2.7% at that end *.
Territory and the system
Eleven to fifty-seven in three years.
| Year | Start | Opened | Terminated | Reacquired | Ceased, other | End |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 11 | 19 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 30 |
| 2024 | 30 | 16 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 46 |
| 2025 | 46 | 15 | 0 | 2 | 2 | 57 |
| Three years | n/a | 50 | 0 | 2 | 2 | n/a |
Every figure is as the brand reported it for area representative outlets, with unit grooming franchises disclosed separately and one company-owned representative outlet added in 2025.
Fifty representative regions opened in three years with zero terminations. *, and the first four exits came in 2025, two reacquired and two ceasing.
Fifty-seven regions cover between 399 and 1,710 unit territories. *, which is the size of the grooming business those representatives are expected to build.
Territorial rights depend on yearly development minimums. A set number of unit agreements signed and units open and operating, and falling short lets the brand withdraw the right to develop further.
The brand keeps internet, catalog, telemarketing and direct marketing. Though an unit fee it accepts inside your region is credited to you, so the channel is reserved but the commission follows the territory.
The term is ten years. On rights that produce income only while units keep operating and paying, so unit survival is the representative’s real asset.
Questions we get asked
Questions an owner asks.
What is this business?
Recruiting and supporting mobile pet-grooming franchisees across a region. The representative earns half the initial franchise fees and half the royalties those units pay.
What does the territory cost?
10 cents for each resident. A region fits 7 to 30 unit territories of about 125,000 people each. So the fee runs $87,500 to $375,000, exactly $12,500 for each unit territory on our reading, with zero volume discount.
What does the representative pay ongoing?
Up to $350 a month of technology, which is $4,200 a year. There is zero royalty upward, zero advertising fund contribution and zero local marketing minimum.
What reduces the 50% share?
Two things. If a broker sells the territory, the broker's fee comes off first. That fee is currently 50% of the territory fee. On our reading the representative is left with about a quarter. If the brand's own sales staff assist, the representative pays $5,000 for that unit.
What does it cost to start?
$96,150 to $395,400, of which $87,500 to $375,000 is the territory. Everything else is $8,650 to $20,400 on our reading, and the business runs from home.
Are there development obligations?
Yes. Territorial rights continue subject to minimum yearly unit agreements signed and cumulative units open and operating. Falling short lets the brand withdraw the right to develop further, though the share of fees and royalties on existing units continues while you comply.
What is the system doing?
Growing fast. Area representative outlets went from 11 at the start of 2023 to 57 at the end of 2025, with 50 opened, zero terminated, two reacquired and two ceasing. Unit grooming franchises are disclosed separately.
Which two numbers should run monthly?
Unit agreements signed against the development minimums, because those keep the territory. Units open and paying royalties, because half of that royalty stream is the whole return on the purchase.
- No revenue figures. The filing makes no financial performance representation, so there is no disclosed sales number for any location.
- No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
- No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.
- No range. The filing does not show the highest and lowest locations, so the spread inside the system is unknown.
- No attainment figure. The filing does not say how many locations reached the average it publishes.
- No ramp. The filing does not show how a new location builds up, so the first-year curve has to be assumed.
Questions worth putting to Zoomin Groomin
The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.
- What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
- What did the highest and lowest locations sell last year, and what explains the gap?
- How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
- What do the fees add up to as a share of sales at the average location, once minimums and technology charges are counted?
- How many Zoomin Groomin locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?
Run your own numbers.
The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.
Launch the diagnostic →How many units are open and paying?
A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around $12,500 an unit territory, a 50% share that a broker can cut to a quarter. Development minimums that keep the map yours.
Request the reviewthe franchise library, all 243 brands · how franchise unit economics work · running the books across several locations · what Averan does for franchise owners
Zoomin Groomin reads against the rest of the grooming and pet retail group: Aussie Pet Mobile · EarthWise Pet · Pet Supplies Plus · Scenthound · Wag N Wash · Woof Gang Bakery. The grooming and pet retail guide compares all of them on the same figures.
Questions owners ask next
The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.
- At what level of sales does a minimum fee stop costing me more than the percentage?How royalty, ad fund and minimums actually work on a monthly statement.
- How much cash do I fund before a new location covers its own costs?A 13-week forecast for the months before break-even.
- My payroll percentage keeps climbing. Is that a payroll problem?Usually it is a revenue problem wearing a payroll costume.
- How much of Item 19 can I rely on?What a financial performance representation does and does not tell you.
- What should I be looking at every week?The handful of numbers that move before the P&L does.