Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Pet Supplies Plus franchise unit economics

Pet Supplies Plus franchisees run neighbourhood pet retail stores selling food, supplies, grooming and live animals. The 385 stores reporting for 2025 averaged $2,622,279 of gross sales. What is left after the cost of stock falls from 41.9% in year one to 36.9% after four years. Rent and wages fall 11.9 points over the same period. So a mature store sells more at a thinner markup and keeps a great deal more of it.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: PSP Franchise Operations SPV, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
PSP Franchise Operations SPV, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
385 of 498 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

The average store sells $2,622,279 and keeps 37.8% of that after the cost of its stock. What is left after stock falls five points as a store ages, from 41.9% in year one to 36.9% after four. Rent and wages together fall 11.9 points. A mature store sells more at a thinner markup, and the trade is worth 6.9 points of revenue.

Units reporting385 stores, 2025
Average gross sales$2,622,279
gross profit37.8% of sales
Total investment$520,250–$1,818,900
  1. Gross profit falls five points as a store matures. 41.9% in year one against 36.9% past four years, worth $131,114 a year at the average store *, and the opposite direction from what most people expect buying scale.
  2. Rent and labor fall 11.9 points across the same span, so maturity wins on balance. 31.9% of sales in year one against 20.0% past four years, leaving 10.0% and 16.9% after those three lines *, $160,934 against $477,125, or 2.96 times the money on 1.75 times the sales.
  3. Advertising costs more than the royalty at every store under $2,857,143 of sales. A 3% royalty against a 3.5% advertising requirement, which is $78,668 and $91,780 at the average store *, and the requirement has a $100,000 annual cap that starts working in the brand’s favor only above that sales line.
  4. The highest-selling stores bills 7.85 times the lowest-selling stores. $6,892,719 against $877,561 *, across 385 stores whose median sits at 94.9% of the mean, a tighter middle than that extreme suggests.
  5. Opening costs a fifth of a year’s sales at the low end. $520,250 against $2,622,279 *, rising to 0.69 times at the top. $150,000 to $260,000 of that is opening inventory, of which 75% to 90% is bought from the brand’s own distribution affiliate.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.

Questions worth putting to Pet Supplies Plus

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Pet Supplies Plus locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

Which way is your gross profit moving?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around margin against the 37.8% benchmark, labor against 14.4%, rent against 7.0%, and the contribution line underneath all three.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Pet Supplies Plus reads against the rest of the grooming and pet retail group: Aussie Pet Mobile · EarthWise Pet · Scenthound · Wag N Wash · Woof Gang Bakery · Zoomin Groomin. The grooming and pet retail guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from PSP Franchise Operations SPV, LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Pet Supplies Plus® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.