Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

OpenWorks franchise unit economics

OpenWorks franchisees buy a book of commercial cleaning accounts, $7,000 to $25,000 a month of billing, costing $24,850 to $72,000. The brand bills the customers and deducts 21.6% before remitting. The window for delivering the largest package runs to 780 days. Franchised outlets fell from 654 to 402 in three years.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: O.P.E.N. America, Inc. d/b/a OpenWorks, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
O.P.E.N. America, Inc. d/b/a OpenWorks, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
0 of 402 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

You buy billing, and the brand collects it for you. A book of $7,000 to $25,000 a month of cleaning accounts, priced at 24 to 29.6 cents for each dollar of annual billing, then 21.6% is deducted before the money reaches you, and the delivery window can run 780 days.

Deducted before remittance21.6% of billing
Accounts cost24¢ to 29.6¢ a dollar of annual billing
Delivery window240 to 780 days
Franchised outlets, end 2025402
  1. Twenty-one point six percent is deducted before remittance. 15% royalty, 2.5% advertising, 0.5% technology and 3.6% insurance *, and the stated caps would take it to 23.6% *.
  2. The largest package delivers over as much as 780 days. Two years and seven weeks *, against 240 days for the smallest, so $72,000 can buy accounts that arrive across two years.
  3. Accounts cost 24 to 29.6 cents a dollar of annual billing. *, and the largest package at 24 cents undercuts the 25 cents charged for adding accounts later *.
  4. A $25,000-a-month book nets $235,200 a year after the deduction. From $300,000 of billing *, before wages, supplies or vehicle.
  5. Four hundred and forty-eight outlets were terminated in three years against 198 opened. A 38.5% fall in the franchised count *, with 257 of those terminations in 2024 alone.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No revenue figures. The filing makes no financial performance representation, so there is no disclosed sales number for any location.
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.
  • No range. The filing does not show the highest and lowest locations, so the spread inside the system is unknown.
  • No attainment figure. The filing does not say how many locations reached the average it publishes.
  • No ramp. The filing does not show how a new location builds up, so the first-year curve has to be assumed.

Questions worth putting to OpenWorks

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What did the highest and lowest locations sell last year, and what explains the gap?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many OpenWorks locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

Is your book full yet?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around 21.6% deducted before remittance, accounts at 24 to 29.6 cents a dollar. A delivery window that can run 780 days.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

OpenWorks reads against the rest of the commercial cleaning group: Aire-Master · Anago Cleaning Systems · City Wide Facility Solutions · Coverall · Enviro-Master · JAN-PRO. The commercial cleaning guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from O.P.E.N. America, Inc. D/b/a OpenWorks’ 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us, we are unaffiliated with the brand, calculations of our own are marked with an asterisk where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. OpenWorks® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.