Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Discover Strength franchise unit economics

Discover Strength franchisees run an 1,800 to 2,200 square foot studio delivering one-to-one and small-group strength training staffed by credentialed exercise physiologists, inside a protected territory of a three-mile radius or about 50,000 people. A studio open 13 to 24 months averaged $278,638 of gross sales and one open 24 months or more $872,951. Labor, payroll taxes and rent take 91.6% of the first and 59.7% of the second.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Discover Strength Franchising LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Discover Strength Franchising LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure
Population
14 of 25 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

Rent here is almost the same whether a studio bills $278,638 or $872,951, $8,138 a month against $8,717. That single fact is the whole model. Labor, payroll taxes and rent take 91.6% of a second-year studio’s sales and 59.7% of a mature one’s, a swing of 32 points bought almost entirely by filling a lease that was already being paid.

Units reporting14 of 25 franchised studios, 2025
Year two average$278,638
Mature average$872,951
Rent a month$8,138 young, $8,717 mature
  1. Three lines take 91.6% of a second-year studio’s sales and 59.7% of a mature one’s. Labor, payroll taxes and rent *, leaving 8.4% and 40.3% before royalty, marketing, utilities and insurance.
  2. Rent is 35.0% of a second-year studio’s sales and 12.0% of a mature one’s. $97,656 against $104,604 a year *, near-identical dollars, 23 points apart as a share.
  3. A mature studio bills 3.13 times a second-year one. $872,951 against $278,638, and labor falls from 50.7% of sales to 43.7% across the same span *.
  4. After the brand’s 12.6%, a second-year studio is 4.2 points under water. Against 29.5 points left at a mature one *, so year two is funded.
  5. The year-five sales requirement of $500,000 sits above the lowest-selling mature studio. Which billed $262,478, and missing it lets the brand shrink the territory or end the agreement.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.

Questions worth putting to Discover Strength

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Discover Strength locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

How far through the build-up are you?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around a lease that costs the same at $278,638 and $872,951, labor at 43.7% of sales. A $500,000 minimum written into the territory.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Discover Strength reads against the rest of the personal training group: Alloy Personal Training · Fit Body Boot Camp · Fitness Together · GYMGUYZ. The personal training guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Discover Strength Franchising LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Discover Strength® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.