Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

My Gym franchise unit economics

My Gym franchisees run a 2,000 to 3,000 square foot children’s fitness center inside a territory holding at least 7,500 children aged thirteen and under. Rent runs $60,000 to $180,000 a year, the royalty is 7%, and total advertising is capped at 1% of revenue. Franchised centers went from 163 to 160 across three years while company-owned centers doubled from 3 to 6.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Gym Consulting, LLC d.b.a. My Gym Enterprises, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Gym Consulting, LLC d.b.a. My Gym Enterprises, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
0 of 160 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

A territory here is measured in children, at least 7,500 of them aged thirteen and under, inside a circle of one to seven miles. The center that serves them occupies 2,000 to 3,000 square feet at $30 to $60 a foot, which works out at $8 to $24 of rent a year for every child in the territory.

Royalty7% of gross volume
Advertising, all inCapped at 1%
Rent a square foot$30 to $60
Fixed costs beyond royalty$14,940 a year
  1. Rent runs $30 to $60 a square foot. $60,000 to $180,000 a year on 2,000 to 3,000 square feet *, two to four times the rate a larger children’s gym format pays.
  2. That is $8 to $24 of rent a year for every child in the territory. Against a 7,500-child minimum *, so the rent decision is really a decision about how many of those children you can reach.
  3. Total advertising is capped at 1% of revenue. And the current $200 monthly fund contribution reaches that cap at $240,000 of revenue *, leaving the local share squeezed below it.
  4. Fixed annual costs beyond the royalty come to $14,940. $8,000 of minimum product purchases, $3,840 of software, $2,400 to the fund and $700 of music licensing *, which equals the royalty on $213,429 of revenue *.
  5. Franchised centers fell from 163 to 160 while company-owned doubled from 3 to 6. With exits rising 3, 5 then 6 and zero terminations in the last two years, owners leaving.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No revenue figures. The filing makes no financial performance representation, so there is no disclosed sales number for any location.
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.
  • No range. The filing does not show the highest and lowest locations, so the spread inside the system is unknown.
  • No attainment figure. The filing does not say how many locations reached the average it publishes.
  • No ramp. The filing does not show how a new location builds up, so the first-year curve has to be assumed.

Questions worth putting to My Gym

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What did the highest and lowest locations sell last year, and what explains the gap?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many My Gym locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

How many of your 7,500 children have you reached?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around rent at $30 to $60 a square foot, $14,940 of costs that arrive whatever you bill. A 1% ceiling on everything you can be asked to spend on advertising.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

My Gym reads against the rest of the youth sports and movement group: i9 Sports · Skyhawks Sports Academy. The youth sports and movement guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Gym Consulting, LLC d.b.a. My Gym Enterprises’ 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us, we are unaffiliated with the brand, calculations of our own are marked with an asterisk where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. My Gym® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.