Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Salons by JC franchise unit economics

Salons by JC franchisees build a 5,000 to 7,000 square foot location divided into private salon suites and sublease those suites to independent beauty and wellness practitioners, earning rent. Across 147 operational franchised salons the smallest group ran 89.59% occupancy cost on $459,380 of gross sales, while the largest ran 78.42% on $714,041. A leased suite produces about $16,400 a year whatever the salon’s size.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: J ’N C Real Estate Development, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
J ’N C Real Estate Development, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure
Population
142 of 154 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

A leased suite produces about $16,400 a year here, and that holds across every size of salon. What changes is how many of them are let: 89.59% in the smallest group and 78.42% in the largest. Twelve months after opening the gap is wider still, 90.89% against 68.36%.

Units reporting142 of 154 franchised salons, 2025
Building costs, smallest band89.59%
Building costs, largest band78.42%
Revenue a leased suiteabout $16,400
  1. Building costs falls 11.17 points as salons get bigger. 89.59% in the 4,500 to 6,500 square foot group and 78.42% above 8,500 *, so the larger box buys revenue and gives back fill rate.
  2. A small salon is full at twelve months; a large one is two thirds full. 90.89% against 68.36% *, a 22.53-point difference in how fast the building pays for itself.
  3. A leased suite produces about $16,400 a year regardless of salon size. $16,541, $16,495 and $16,303 across the first three groups *, so the business is suites let.
  4. The advertising requirement rises as occupancy cost falls. $1,500 a month below 50% occupancy cost, $1,000 between 50% and 75%. $600 above it, a $10,800 annual swing that lands when the salon can least afford it.
  5. The build is $1,352,200 to $1,900,500 before a landlord allowance averaging $429,853. Which the estimates leave out *, so the net figure is closer to $922,347 to $1,470,647.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No median. Only an average is published, which a few large locations can lift on their own.
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.
  • No attainment figure. The filing does not say how many locations reached the average it publishes.

Questions worth putting to Salons by JC

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Salons by JC locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

How many suites are let this month?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around $16,400 a leased suite, an 85% occupancy cost line that sets your advertising bill. A landlord allowance averaging $429,853 that the investment estimates leave out.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Salons by JC reads against the rest of the salon suites group: IMAGE Studios · MY SALON Suite · Phenix Salon Suites · Sola Salon Studios. The salon suites guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from J ’N C Real Estate Development. LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us, we are unaffiliated with the brand, calculations of our own are marked with an asterisk where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Salons by JC® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.