V's Barbershop franchise unit economics
V's Barbershop franchisees run barbershops that offer haircuts, shaves and men's facial services.
V's Barbershop franchise at a glance
Item 19 of V's Barbershop's 2026 FDD reports gross sales for the same 50 franchised shops in 2023, 2024 and 2025, with the average and median for each year.
V's Barbershop franchisees averaged $581,838 of sales in 2025, with a median of $564,065, according to Item 19 of V's Barbershop’s 2026 FDD, issued 25 March 2026. The 50 in that group are 81%* of V's Barbershop’s 62 shops. A V's Barbershop franchise costs $290,000 to $690,000 to open.
- A V’s Barbershop franchise costs $290,000 to $690,000 to open, according to Item 7, including the $40,000 initial franchise fee.
- V’s Barbershop charges a royalty of 6% of gross sales up to $600,000 and 3.5% above $600,000, plus an advertising payment of 1% to 3% of gross sales.
- V’s Barbershop reported average 2025 gross sales of $581,838 and a median of $564,065 across 50 franchised shops open at least three calendar years.
- V’s Barbershop’s same 50 shops averaged $530,215 in 2023 and $556,111 in 2024, a rise of 9.74%* over two years.
- V’s Barbershop’s reporting shops ranged from $182,334 to $1,372,201 of gross sales in 2025.
- V’s Barbershop had 62 franchised shops and no company-owned shops at the end of 2025, according to Item 20, with 22 signed franchise agreements for shops not yet open.
- V’s Barbershop estimates 6 to 12 months between signing the franchise agreement and opening a shop.
These figures come from V's Barbershop's 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, as the brand reported them, and were read by Averan Advisors. The two-year rise of 9.74% is an Averan calculation from the Item 19 averages for 2023 and 2025.
Own this franchise?
See what your numbers should look like every month.
Talk to Averan → Averan V’s Barbershop Conversion Package →- The 50 reporting shops averaged $581,838 of gross sales in 2025, and the median was $564,065. All 50 were open at least three calendar years as of December 31, 2025. The median is 96.9%* of the average. 24 shops met or exceeded the average and 25 met or exceeded the median.
- The same 50 shops grew average gross sales by 9.74%* from 2023 to 2025. The average went from $530,215 to $556,111 to $581,838, and the median from $516,217 to $533,463 to $564,065, a rise of 9.27%*.
- The royalty is 6% of gross sales up to $600,000 and 3.5% above $600,000. At the highest-selling shop’s $1,372,201 that is $63,027* a year, a blended 4.59%*, which is $19,305* less than 6% of the same sales.
- On the average shop, the 6% royalty comes to $34,910* a year. V’s Barbershop also charges an advertising payment of 1% to 3% of gross sales set by the franchisor, with the difference up to 3% spent on local store marketing, and a $150 monthly technology fee. Required point-of-sale software costs $275 to $300 a month, paid to a third party.
- Franchised shops went from 55 at the start of 2023 to 62 at the end of 2025. Item 20 shows 13 openings, 2 non-renewals and 4 shops that ceased operations over the three years, with no terminations. The franchisor owns no shops.
Gross sales, 2023 to 2025
How much does a V’s Barbershop franchise make?
| Measure | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | Change, 2023 to 2025* |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Average | $530,215 | $556,111 | $581,838 | +9.74%* |
| Median | $516,217 | $533,463 | $564,065 | +9.27%* |
| Highest shop | $1,134,269 | $1,225,792 | $1,372,201 | +21.0%* |
| Lowest shop | $170,098 | $167,445 | $182,334 | +7.2%* |
| Shops at or above the average | 24 (48%) | 21 (42%) | 24 (48%) | – |
| Shops at or above the median | 25 (50%) | 25 (50%) | 25 (50%) | – |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 19. Unaudited. The change column is an Averan calculation. Item 19 prints the 29 shops below the 2024 average as 48%; 29 of 50 is 58%*. The highest and lowest rows are the highest and lowest shop in each year; Item 19 does not say whether they are the same shops each year.
Item 19 reports gross sales for 50 franchised shops open at least three calendar years as of December 31, 2025. It excludes 12 shops that opened on or after January 1, 2023. There were 62 shops open on December 31, 2025, and none is company-owned. Gross sales are all sales of products and services, before sales taxes, and include business interruption insurance proceeds.
The same 50 shops are reported for all three years. Their average rose 4.88%* from 2023 to 2024 and 4.63%* from 2024 to 2025. Because the group does not change, the rise is not the effect of new shops joining the figures.
The median shop sold $564,065 in 2025, which is 96.9%* of the $581,838 average. In each year, 25 of the 50 shops were at or above the median and 21 to 24 were at or above the average.
A second Item 19 table covers every shop open at least one calendar year. In 2025 that is 58 shops, with average gross sales of $578,395 and a median of $536,425; in 2024, 57 shops averaged $533,557; in 2023, 53 shops averaged $523,463. It excludes the shops that closed in each year and the 4 that opened in 2025. Worked back from the two 2025 averages, the 8 shops in the second table but not the first averaged $556,876*.
Item 19 gives gross sales only. It does not publish costs, wages, rent or profit for any shop, and it does not show how sales build up in a new shop’s first months.
Highest and lowest shops
Highest and lowest shops, 2023 to 2025
| Year | Highest shop | Lowest shop | Highest as a multiple of lowest* |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | $1,134,269 | $170,098 | 6.7* |
| 2024 | $1,225,792 | $167,445 | 7.3* |
| 2025 | $1,372,201 | $182,334 | 7.5* |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 19. The multiples are Averan calculations. The highest and lowest figures are the same in the 50-shop table and the table of every shop open at least one year.
Item 19 does not split the shops into quartiles or other performance bands. For each year it gives the average, the median, the highest and lowest shop, and the number of shops above and below the average and the median.
In 2025 the highest-selling shop had $1,372,201 of gross sales and the lowest $182,334. The highest is 7.5* times the lowest. The highest figure rose 21.0%* from 2023 to 2025 and the lowest 7.2%*; Item 19 does not say whether these are the same two shops in each year.
24 of the 50 shops, 48%, met or exceeded the 2025 average of $581,838. 25 shops, 50%, met or exceeded the median of $564,065. In the table of every shop open at least one year, 27 of 58 met or exceeded the 2025 average of $578,395.
The 2025 median of $564,065 is below the $600,000 point where the royalty rate drops. At least half of the reporting shops therefore paid 6% on all of their 2025 gross sales. The 2025 average is $18,162* below $600,000.
Brand charges
Brand charges
| Charge | Amount | On $581,838 of gross sales |
|---|---|---|
| Royalty | 6% of gross sales up to $600,000; 3.5% of gross sales above $600,000; weekly | $34,910* |
| Advertising payment | 1% to 3% of gross sales to the brand, weekly; the difference up to 3% is spent on local store marketing | $17,455* at 3% |
| Technology fee | $150 a month | $1,800* |
| Computer software maintenance | $275 to $300 a month, paid to a third-party provider | $3,300–$3,600* |
| Paid to the brand | Royalty, an advertising payment of 1% to 3% of gross sales set by the franchisor, and $150 a month | Depends on the advertising payment rate, which Item 6 does not state |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6. Dollar amounts on the average are Averan calculations. The 3% advertising figure combines the payment to the brand and the local store marketing that makes it up to 3%. Fees for an advertising cooperative, which Item 6 says do not yet exist, are not included.
The royalty is 6% of gross sales up to $600,000 and 3.5% of gross sales above $600,000. It is drawn weekly from the franchisee’s bank account. Item 6 states the royalty rises to up to 15% of gross sales for any period in which the franchisee is in default of its financial obligations.
The advertising payment is 1% to 3% of gross sales, set by the franchisor. If the payment is below 3%, the franchisee spends the difference on local store marketing to the franchisor’s requirements, so the total advertising requirement is 3% of gross sales.
The two monthly charges come to $5,100 to $5,400* a year. That is 0.88% to 0.93%* of the 2025 average. On the lowest-selling shop’s $182,334, all recurring charges together come to 11.80% to 11.96%* of gross sales; on the highest-selling shop’s $1,372,201 they come to 7.96% to 7.99%*.
Item 6 lists no minimum royalty or minimum advertising payment. Other charges are event-based: a transfer fee of $10,000 or the franchisor’s transfer expenses, whichever is greater; a renewal fee of a quarter of the then-current initial fee, up to $40,000; a $5,000 relocation fee; and a $5,000 fee to extend the opening deadline by one year.
Royalty by sales level
Royalty at different sales levels
| Annual gross sales | Royalty | Blended rate | Difference from a flat 6% |
|---|---|---|---|
| $400,000 | $24,000* | 6.00%* | None |
| $581,838, the 2025 average | $34,910* | 6.00%* | None |
| $600,000 | $36,000* | 6.00%* | None |
| $800,000 | $43,000* | 5.38%* | $5,000* |
| $1,000,000 | $50,000* | 5.00%* | $10,000* |
| $1,372,201, the 2025 highest shop | $63,027* | 4.59%* | $19,305* |
Source: Averan calculation from the royalty rates in Item 6 of the 2026 FDD. The $400,000, $800,000 and $1,000,000 rows are illustrations, not Item 19 figures.
The royalty rate drops from 6% to 3.5% on each dollar of gross sales above $600,000. Below $600,000 a shop pays 6% of everything it sells.
At $800,000 of gross sales the royalty is $43,000*, a blended 5.38%*. At the highest 2025 shop’s $1,372,201 it is $63,027*, or 4.59%*, against $82,332* at a flat 6%.
With the 3% advertising requirement, each dollar above $600,000 carries 6.5%* in royalty and advertising, against 9%* below it. The monthly technology and software charges are fixed and do not change with sales.
Cost to open
Cost to open
| Line | Low | High | Paid to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Furniture, fixtures, equipment, in-store artwork and signage | $145,000 | $259,000 | Approved vendors |
| Leasehold improvements | $60,000 | $250,000 | Approved contractor |
| Initial franchise fee | $40,000 | $40,000 | Franchisor |
| Additional funds and working capital, 3 months | $1,500 | $25,000 | Vendors, suppliers |
| Initial barber supplies and inventory | $15,000 | $20,000 | Franchisor or affiliates |
| Project management fees | $0 | $30,000 | Approved project manager |
| Architect fees | $8,000 | $15,000 | Approved architect |
| Initial real estate expenses | $2,500 | $14,500 | Landlord |
| Computer hardware and software | $3,500 | $6,500 | Approved vendors |
| Miscellaneous | $1,500 | $6,000 | Various |
| Attorneys’ lease review fee | $5,000 | $5,000 | Approved attorney |
| Grand opening advertising | $5,000 | $5,000 | Media |
| Initial training fee (transfers and second shops) | $0 | $5,000 | Franchisor |
| Space planner fee | $1,500 | $2,000 | Approved space planner |
| Travel and living while training | $0 | $2,000 | Airlines, hotels, restaurants |
| Permits and licenses | $500 | $2,000 | State barber board and agencies |
| Initial insurance premiums | $500 | $1,500 | Insurer |
| Utility deposits and installation | $500 | $1,500 | Utilities |
| Total | $290,000 | $690,000 | $55,000–$65,000 to the franchisor or affiliates |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7 and cover page. The Item 7 totals are printed as $290.000 and $690.000; the cover page gives $290,000 and $690,000. Both columns add to those totals. Item 7 states costs other than royalties and advertising may be up to 200% higher in Alaska, Hawaii and some urban areas.
Furniture, fixtures, equipment, artwork and signage is the largest line at both ends of the range. At $145,000 it is 50%* of the $290,000 low total. Leasehold improvements run $60,000 to $250,000, and Item 7 says that estimate assumes a landlord tenant allowance of $25 per square foot, which is not guaranteed.
$55,000 to $65,000 of the investment is paid to the franchisor or its affiliates. That is 19.0%* of the low total and 9.4%* of the high total.
The initial franchise fee is $40,000 for a first shop. It is $36,000 for a second or later shop and for current or honorably discharged members of the U.S. armed forces, and $30,000 for each additional shop under a development agreement for at least three shops.
Item 7 budgets $1,500 to $25,000 of additional funds for the first 3 months. The estimate includes $0 to $20,000 of wages not covered by sales, excludes any pay for the owner and assumes the owner manages the shop. The 2025 average shop sold $48,487* a month.
Item 7 states a typical shop is 1,000 to 1,500 square feet, in an upscale strip or lifestyle center. Rent has typically been $3,500 to $7,500 a month, which over a year is 7.2% to 15.5%* of the 2025 average shop’s gross sales. The shop must open within 12 months of signing, and Item 11 estimates 6 to 12 months.
Locations
Locations, 2023 to 2025
| Year | Start | Opened | Non-renewed | Ceased operations | End | Transfers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 55 | 6 | 1 | 2 | 58 | 1 |
| 2024 | 58 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 60 | 4 |
| 2025 | 60 | 4 | 1 | 1 | 62 | 3 |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 20, Tables 1 to 3. No terminations or reacquisitions are recorded in any year. Each row balances. The franchisor and its affiliates own no shops.
Franchised shops went from 55 to 62 over 2023 to 2025. 13 opened and 6 left, a net gain of 7, or 12.7%* of the starting count. Arizona had the most shops at the end of 2025, with 19, followed by Texas with 7.
22 franchise agreements were signed for shops not yet open at December 31, 2025. Item 20 projects 9 new franchised shops in 2026. The 22 signed agreements equal 35%* of the 62 shops open at the end of 2025.
8 shops changed owners over the three years. Item 20, Table 2 lists 1 transfer in 2023, 4 in 2024 and 3 in 2025, in Arizona, California, New Jersey and Washington.
The franchisor does not operate any shops. Item 1 states its parent operated shops in Phoenix from January 2012 to December 2017, and an affiliate from November 1999 to January 2012. Item 20 gives the end of company operation as December 2016. Item 19 includes no company-owned shops.
A franchisee does not receive an exclusive territory. Item 12 gives a right of first refusal if the franchisor wants to place another shop within the Applicable Radius, which is 5 miles or the smaller radius that holds a population of 50,000.
Questions we get asked
Questions owners ask
How much does it cost to open a V’s Barbershop franchise?
Item 7 of the 2026 FDD puts the total at $290,000 to $690,000 for one shop, including the $40,000 initial franchise fee. The largest line is furniture, fixtures, equipment, artwork and signage at $145,000 to $259,000. $55,000 to $65,000 of the total is paid to the franchisor or its affiliates.
What fees does a V’s Barbershop franchisee pay?
The royalty is 6% of gross sales up to $600,000 and 3.5% above it. The advertising payment is 1% to 3% of gross sales, with the difference up to 3% spent on local marketing. There is a $150 monthly technology fee, and $275 to $300 a month of point-of-sale software paid to a third party. Item 6 does not state the advertising payment rate the franchisor currently sets.
How much revenue does a V’s Barbershop make?
Item 19 reports average 2025 gross sales of $581,838 and a median of $564,065 across 50 franchised shops open at least three calendar years. The highest shop sold $1,372,201 and the lowest $182,334. Item 19 does not report costs or profit.
Have V’s Barbershop sales grown?
The same 50 shops averaged $530,215 in 2023, $556,111 in 2024 and $581,838 in 2025, a rise of 9.74%* over two years. The median rose from $516,217 to $564,065, or 9.27%*.
How many V’s Barbershop locations are there?
Item 20 shows 62 franchised shops at the end of 2025, up from 55 at the start of 2023, and no company-owned shops. 22 franchise agreements were signed for shops not yet open, and the franchisor projects 9 openings in 2026.
How long does it take to open a V’s Barbershop?
Item 11 estimates 6 to 12 months from signing the franchise agreement to opening. The franchise agreement requires the shop to open within 12 months, and the deadline can be extended by one year for a $5,000 fee.
Questions worth putting to V's Barbershop
These are questions the filing leaves open. An owner or a buyer can put them to the franchisor directly.
- Is the revenue in Item 19 gross sales or collected revenue, and how many locations sit below the average?
- Which factors does V's Barbershop see in its highest-selling locations, such as territory, years open and staffing?
- How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
- At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
- How many V's Barbershop locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?
Run your own numbers.
The Franchise Numbers Check runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. It also checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.
Launch the diagnostic →Reporting for a V's Barbershop owner
We review your unit economics and cash forecast and build your monthly reporting around the figures on this page.
Talk to Averanthe franchise library, all 431 brands · how franchise unit economics work · running the books across several locations · what Averan does for franchise owners
Other brands in the Salon, Lash, Wax and Tan guide:
Questions owners ask next
The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.
- At what level of sales does a minimum fee stop costing me more than the percentage?It works out the sales level where a minimum fee stops applying.
- How much cash do I fund before a new location covers its own costs?It builds a 13-week forecast for the months before break-even.
- What does this location earn on the money I put into it?It works out the payback period and cash-on-cash return for one unit.
- How much of Item 19 can I rely on?It explains what an Item 19 financial performance representation tells you and what it leaves out.
Where these figures come from
Every figure here comes from V's Barbershop Franchise, LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear. The figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. V's Barbershop is a trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.
These figures come from the brand's disclosure. They are not a forecast, an offer to sell a franchise or advice. Source: V's Barbershop Franchise, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued 25 March 2026.