Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

AtWork Group franchise unit economics

AtWork franchisees run a 1,000 to 1,250 square foot staffing office placing temporary workers and making direct hires in a protected territory of about 200,000 people. The franchisor acting as employer of record and remitting a monthly balance. Across 63 offices the 2025 average was $3,658,091 of revenue on 143,615 hours billed, producing $640,398 of gross profit. The 7% royalty sits on revenue, which is 40% of that gross profit.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: AtWork Franchise, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
AtWork Franchise, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure
Population
63 of 83 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

The royalty here is 7% of revenue, which sounds ordinary. On a staffing office that keeps 17.5 cents of every billed dollar, it is 40% of gross profit, and with the marketing fund, the $10,000 advertising commitment and the technology bundle it reaches 45.2%. The longer an office trades, the harder that lands, because margin falls as offices grow.

Units reporting63 of 83 offices, 2025
Average revenue$3,658,091
Gross profit$640,398 at 17.5% of revenue
Royalty as a share of gross profit40%
  1. A 7% royalty on revenue equals 40% of gross profit. $256,066 against $640,398 at the average office *, and the whole franchise fees reaches $289,721, or 45.2% of gross profit.
  2. That share rises with years open because margin falls. 30.3% of gross profit at one to three years and 41.1% beyond five *, as the gross profit rate drops from 23.1% to 17.0%.
  3. The filed 20.87% gross profit is an unweighted average of office ratios. Dividing the filed totals gives 17.51% *, 3.4 points, worth $122,912 a year at average revenue, so benchmark against 17.5%.
  4. Twenty-two offices closed during 2025 against 21 openings. 26.2% of an 84-office base *, and those 22 sit outside the figures on this page.
  5. An hour billed costs $25.47 of revenue and $4.46 of gross profit. At the average office *, so ten more people on assignment is worth $529,776 of revenue and $92,768 of gross profit a year.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.

Questions worth putting to AtWork Group

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many AtWork Group locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

What is your royalty really costing you?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around a 7% royalty that takes 40% of gross profit, the 17.5% margin this system actually converts. $15,364 of fixed brand charges every office pays alike.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

AtWork Group reads against the rest of the staffing offices group: Express Employment Professionals · Labor Finders · PrideStaff · Spherion.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from AtWork Franchise, Inc.’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. AtWork® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.