Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Spherion franchise unit economics

Spherion franchisees run a roughly 1,500 square foot general staffing office placing temporary and full-time workers. The franchisor employs the staff, bills the customers and pays a commission out of gross profit. Across 57 franchisees with at least a year of years open the 2025 average was $6,947,291 of billings and $1,424,192 of gross profit, of which the owner keeps 70%. A ten-year office earns 2.56 times what an one-to-five-year office does.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Spherion Staffing, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Spherion Staffing, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
57 of 180 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

An owner here is paid a commission: 70% of gross profit, worth $996,934 at the average franchisee and $579,843 at the median. The number to watch is the gross profit rate, and the headline 22.2% is an average of individual ratios, the system actually converts 20.5 cents of every billed dollar into gross profit.

Units reporting57 franchisees, 2025
Average billings$6,947,291
Owner commission$996,934 average, $579,843 median
Gross profit rate20.5% across the system
  1. The filed 22.2% gross profit rate overstates what the system converts. $1,424,192 of gross profit on $6,947,291 of billings is 20.5% *, 1.7 points, worth $118,104 a year at average billings, so benchmark against 20.5%.
  2. A ten-year office earns 2.56 times an one-to-five-year office. $1,286,076 of commission against $501,448 *, and the sales gap is almost identical at 2.63 times, so the build-up here is volume.
  3. The median owner takes 58% of what the average owner takes. $579,843 against $996,934 *, because the largest office in the system billed $55,061,325 against a smallest at $439,570.
  4. Workers’ comp, insurance and paid leave are deducted before the split. They sit inside direct costs, so the owner has 70% of every one of them. That is why the gross profit rate is the number that decides the year.
  5. Missing the gross profit quota costs the brand’s 30% of the shortfall. Payable as a deficiency fee and enforceable by termination, so a quiet year is billed as though it had happened.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.

Questions worth putting to Spherion

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Spherion locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

What is your gross profit rate really?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around the 20.5% this system converts, the $48,631 a single point is worth. A quota whose shortfall is billed at the brand's 30%.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Spherion reads against the rest of the staffing offices group: AtWork Group · Express Employment Professionals · Labor Finders · PrideStaff.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Spherion Staffing, LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Spherion® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.