Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Express Employment Professionals franchise unit economics

Express franchisees run a staffing and recruiting office that places temporary workers and makes direct hires. The franchisor employs the workers, invoices the clients and funds wages, then remits the owner a share. The owner’s monthly take runs $1,199 in month one, $17,344 by month twelve and $25,646 by month twenty-four. An office open more than five years takes $784,572 a year on $5,775,277 of client billings.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Express Services, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Express Services, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure
Population
526 of 758 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

This brand prints its build-up month by month, and it is the most useful table an owner will see. The owner’s take runs $1,199 in month one, $14,075 by month six and $25,646 by month twenty-four. Across the first twelve months it totals $146,369, which sits inside the $75,000 to $175,000 of working capital the build assumes.

Units reporting526 offices open over 24 months, FY2025
Owner take, first 12 months$146,369
Owner take, mature office$784,572
gross profit on billings20.2% at every years open
  1. The first year returns $146,369 to the owner and the second returns $283,829.Cumulative monthly take across 24 months of operation *, so year two is worth 1.94 times year one, and the build-up still has years to run after that.
  2. Gross profit holds at about 20% of client billings at every years open.20.17% above 24 months, 19.93% at 24 to 60 months, 20.22% above 60 months *, so growth here is volume of hours, with the range on each hour fixed.
  3. The owner keeps 67% of gross profit, which is 13.5% of what clients are billed.$723,237 of a $1,077,371 margin on $5,342,686 of billings *, and the filed royalty works out at 8.4% of billings.
  4. An office open over five years takes $784,572 and one open two to five years takes $466,143.1.68 times *, so most of the earnings growth in this system arrives after the fifth year, later than in almost any other model.
  5. By month 24 the office has about 40 people on assignment.6,868 hours a month at full-time equivalents *, billed at $26.07 an hour, of which $3.73 reaches the owner.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.

Questions worth putting to Express Employment Professionals

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Express Employment Professionals locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

How many hours is your week carrying?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around $26.07 of billing an hour, the $3.73 of it that reaches you. a ramp that runs well past year five.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Express Employment Professionals reads against the rest of the staffing offices group: AtWork Group · Labor Finders · PrideStaff · Spherion.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Express Services, Inc.’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Express Employment Professionals® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.