Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Upgrade Labs franchise unit economics

Upgrade Labs franchisees run a 2,800 to 3,200 square foot recovery and performance studio. The fees take 7.5% royalty, 2% to its fund and requires 5% on local advertising, but monthly minimums of $2,500 and $1,500 mean the headline 14.5% only arrives at $900,000 of revenue. The build runs $880,500 to $1,560,500.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Upgrade Labs Franchise, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Upgrade Labs Franchise, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
0 of 5 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

The headline is 14.5%, 7.5% royalty, 2% fund, 5% local advertising. The minimums underneath it change that: $2,500 and $1,500 a month, which means the headline rate only arrives once the center bills $900,000 a year. At $300,000 the same three charges come to 21.0%.

Headline load14.5% of gross sales
Load at $300,00021.0%
Where 14.5% starts$900,000 of revenue
Build a square foot$314 to $488
  1. The brand fund minimum equals 2% only at $900,000 of revenue. $1,500 a month *, so every center below that figure is paying more than the stated rate.
  2. The load runs 21.0% at $300,000 and 14.5% at $900,000. *, six and a half points of margin decided entirely by the two minimums.
  3. The minimum royalty binds below $400,000 of annual sales. $2,500 a month against 7.5% *, so a young center pays a fixed $30,000 a year.
  4. The build costs $314 to $488 a square foot. $880,500 to $1,560,500 across 2,800 to 3,200 square feet *, among the most capital-intensive studios in this library.
  5. A temporary demo center must be leased three months before opening. 400 to 1,000 square feet at $3,000 to $5,000, a second lease running alongside the build.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No revenue figures. The filing makes no financial performance representation, so there is no disclosed sales number for any location.
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.
  • No range. The filing does not show the highest and lowest locations, so the spread inside the system is unknown.
  • No attainment figure. The filing does not say how many locations reached the average it publishes.
  • No ramp. The filing does not show how a new location builds up, so the first-year curve has to be assumed.

Questions worth putting to Upgrade Labs

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What did the highest and lowest locations sell last year, and what explains the gap?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Upgrade Labs locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

Which side of $900,000 are you on?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around minimums worth $48,000 a year, a headline rate that only arrives at $900,000. A build of up to $488 a square foot.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Upgrade Labs reads against the rest of the recovery, sauna & cryo group: beem Light Sauna · HOTWORX · Pause Studio · Perspire Sauna Studio · Restore Hyper Wellness · SweatHouz. The recovery, sauna & cryo guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Upgrade Labs Franchise. Inc.’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us, we are unaffiliated with the brand, calculations of our own are marked with an asterisk where they appear, the figures describe contractual requirements and estimated costs. This page is an educational summary, legal or tax advice. Upgrade Labs® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.