360 Painting franchise unit economics
360 Painting owners run a business from home. They sell and manage interior and exterior painting for houses and small commercial buildings, subcontracting the crews, inside a zip-code territory of 50,000 to 80,000 single family dwellings. Across 108 businesses the 2025 average was $453,268 of gross sales with a median of $387,352. Required advertising alone is $60,000 a year, and the 10% alternative only takes over above $600,000.
- Primary source
- 360 Painting, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
- Items read
- Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure
- Population
- 108 of 148 locations
- Our calculations
- Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
- Last reviewed
- 26 September 2026
Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.
The number that decides this business sits outside the fee table. Local advertising is $5,000 a month or 10% of sales, whichever is higher. The percentage only costs more above $600,000 of sales, which is above the average business at $453,268 and well above the median at $387,352. So most of this system pays a flat $60,000.
- The $60,000 minimum advertising charge is 13.2% of an average business’s sales. And 57.5% of a bottom-quarter one’s *, because the 10% alternative only overtakes it above $600,000.
- Brand charges plus required advertising come to 27.1% of gross sales. $123,041 at the average business *, against 21.3% at the top quartile, where the percentages finally beat the minimums.
- $26,780 a year of charges apply whatever you bill. Technology at $210 a week, accounting at $85 and the contact center minimum at $220 *, 25.7% of a bottom-quarter business’s sales.
- The top quartile bills 11.5 times the bottom. $1,202,784 against $104,394 a franchisee, and it holds 1.48 businesses each against 1.09, so the gap is per-business performance.
- Eighty-one of 189 businesses sit outside these figures. 42.9% *, part-year, or using a different system for reporting, so the averages describe the tracked 57%.
How much does a 360 Painting franchise make?
The average 360 Painting unit reported $453,268 of revenue in the 2026 FDD, and the median reported $387,352. The brand’s disclosure document discloses revenue and not profit, so what an owner keeps depends on the cost structure set out below. Fees come off the top first, at about 13.9% of sales across royalty, brand fund and the rest of the stack. Revenue is not income. Rent, wages, cost of goods and the franchise fees all come out before an owner is paid. The figures for the highest-selling and lowest-selling businesses are below.
Top performers
What separates the top 360 Painting performers
360 Painting splits its locations into groups instead of publishing one average. The best group averaged $1,202,784 a year. The worst averaged $104,394. Both run the same brand, on the same agreement, paying the same fees. The middle location sold $387,352. The average was $453,268. More than half the system is below the number the brand quotes.
Decided before you open
- Trade area and site.A 11.5× gap between bands is not an operating gap. Catchment, daytime population and what sits next door set the ceiling before the first customer arrives.
- Territory, and how much of it is real.This model sells from a territory rather than a building. Two owners with the same brand and different ground are running different businesses, and density decides how much driving sits between jobs.
- What you spend to open.Opening costs $112,350 to $196,000, a 1.7× range inside one brand. The high end usually buys more capacity, so the cheapest build is not always the cheapest route to the top band.
Live operating levers
- Painting jobs, the operating driver.This model bills on painting jobs. Every job is quoted, so the owner works on how many quotes close and how many crew days each job takes. It is worth watching every week, because by the time it turns up in a monthly close the quarter is half gone.
- Fees, and where the minimum bites.Fees run about 13.9% of sales. A minimum sits underneath the percentage, so the low-volume location pays the higher effective rate. The brand charges the weakest locations the most. Work out the sales level where the percentage overtakes the minimum and know which side of it you are on, because the answer changes what an extra dollar of sales is worth.
- The first year.This filing shows how a new location builds up, so the ramp can be underwritten from the document rather than assumed. Read two things out of it: the month sales cross the point where costs are covered, and how much cash you fund before that month arrives. Everything before break-even is paid for by you.
Context you underwrite around
- The reporting screen.108 of 148 locations are behind these figures. Locations open less than the full year, brand-owned, or not meeting the reporting criteria are excluded, so the numbers describe locations that cleared that screen, not the system as a whole.
- What the disclosure leaves out.Item 19 publishes no profit or cost data for franchised locations, no attainment figure. Anything below the sales line has to come from the franchisor or from owners you call.
Top performers
How far apart the locations are
This filing does not split its locations into performance bands, so the gap between the highest and lowest 360 Painting location is not disclosed. What it does publish is on the Model and Finance tabs.
The minimum nobody escapes
Twenty-seven percent of sales, committed before a wall is painted.
| Charge | Rate or minimum | Top quartile | Average business | Median 50% | Bottom quartile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross sales | n/a | $1,202,784 | $453,268 | $430,894 | $104,394 |
| Royalty | 6% or $150 a week | $72,167 | $27,196 | $25,854 | $7,800 |
| Marketing fund | 2% or $50 a week | $24,056 | $9,065 | $8,618 | $2,600 |
| Contact center | 2%, minimum $220 a week | $24,056 | $11,440 | $11,440 | $11,440 |
| Technology | $210 a week | $10,920 | $10,920 | $10,920 | $10,920 |
| Accounting | $85 a week | $4,420 | $4,420 | $4,420 | $4,420 |
| To the brand | n/a | $135,618 | $63,041 | $61,252 | $37,180 |
| Local advertising | $5,000 a month or 10% | $120,278 | $60,000 | $60,000 | $60,000 |
| Total committed | n/a | $255,897 | $123,041 | $121,252 | $97,180 |
| Share of sales | n/a | 21.3% | 27.1% | 28.1% | 93.1% |
The rates, minimums and gross sales are as the brand reported it and the annual dollar figures apply the rates and minimums to each group's sales, marked *.
The local advertising requirement appears with the advertising obligations. $5,000 a month or 10% of sales, whichever is greater, with monthly evidence of spend. At $60,000 a year it is the single largest committed line for most of this system.
A bottom-quarter business owes more in charges and required advertising than it bills. $97,180 against $104,394 of sales, or 93.1% *, which is the arithmetic behind why the bottom of this system struggles.
Every percentage charge is set for a business billing $130,000 or more. 6% equals the $150 weekly minimum royalty at $130,000 of sales, and 2% equals the $50 marketing minimum at the same point *. The contact center minimur holds all the way to $572,000.
The contact center caps at $770 a week. $40,040 a year, which binds above $2,002,000 of sales, so only the very highest-selling businesses in this system see any relief there.
A non-compliance fee runs $1,000 to $4,000 per deviation. Rising with repeats, alongside $100 per late payment and $100 per late report a week, charges that fall the same whatever the business bills.
By sales and years open
Eleven times between the top quarter and the bottom.
| Group | Franchisees | Businesses | Average | Median | High | Low |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Top quartile | 23 | 34 | $1,202,784 | $1,002,669 | $2,586,017 | $727,830 |
| Median 50% | 46 | 49 | $430,894 | $416,860 | $717,152 | $229,576 |
| Bottom quartile | 23 | 25 | $104,394 | $100,793 | $219,028 | $11,190 |
| 12 to 23 months | 17 | 17 | $323,987 | $229,576 | $1,293,403 | $50,639 |
| 24 to 35 months | 15 | 21 | $422,583 | $389,037 | $1,321,524 | $67,613 |
| 36 months and over | 60 | 70 | $507,203 | $411,455 | $2,586,017 | $15,187 |
Every figure is as the brand reported it for the 92 franchisees operating 108 businesses for the whole of 2025 under the same owner.
Years open adds 57% across three years and then stops explaining much. $323,987 at 12 to 23 months, $422,583 at 24 to 35 and $507,203 past 36 months *. The oldest group also holds the system's lowest business, at $15,187.
The top quartile runs 1.48 businesses a franchisee against 1.09 at the bottom. 34 across 23 and 25 across 23 *, so per business the gap is $813,648 against $96,042, still 8.5 times.
The median business bills 85.5% of the average. $387,352 against $453,268, while per franchisee the median is 76.5% of the average, so multi-unit owners stretch the top further.
The quartile table recombines to $933,269 more than the filed total. $49,886,218 against $48,952,949 *. The published average of $537,944 an owner is above the $532,097 the total gives across 92, so treat the quartiles as indicative.
Eighty-one of 189 businesses are outside the figures. Part-year, or reporting through a system the brand is unable to read, so these averages describe the 57% it can see.
Territory and what it costs to open
Fifty to eighty thousand homes, and a home office.
| Line | Low | High |
|---|---|---|
| Franchise fee | $65,000 | $65,000 |
| Technology fee | $5,000 | $5,000 |
| Marketing | $10,000 | $20,000 |
| Designated manager salary | $0 | $30,000 |
| Additional funds, six months | $17,500 | $40,000 |
| Everything else | $14,850 | $36,000 |
| Total | $112,350 | $196,000 |
The brand reported every line. Our "everything else" row groups the vehicle, premises, equipment, insurance, signage, opening event, training, licenses and professional fees, marked *.
The build is 0.25 to 0.43 times a year of average sales. *, light for a home services brand, because it runs from a home office and the painting crews are subcontracted.
A territory holds 50,000 to 80,000 single family dwellings. So the average business bills $5.67 to $9.07 a home a year *. The most useful yardstick for judging whether a territory is worked or merely held.
Fees actually collected in 2025 ranged from $40,500 to $65,000. Against a $65,000 list price with 10% off for veterans, first responders and existing franchisees of affiliated brands, so some paid well under the stated discount.
Advertising or soliciting outside the territory needs written consent. As does advertising on the internet at all, unusual, and it puts the whole $60,000 advertising requirement inside a fixed set of zip codes.
Leaving costs a $10,000 warranty payment. A bond of 0.5% of the prior 24 months&rsquo. Gross sales, or $10,000 if that would be less, alongside a renewal fee of the greater of $15,000 or 25% of the then-current franchise fee.
A system getting smaller
A hundred and sixty down to a hundred and forty-eight.
| Year | Start | End | Net change |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 141 | 160 | +19 |
| 2024 | 160 | 153 | −7 |
| 2025 | 153 | 148 | −5 |
The counts are as the brand reported it. The 2025 status table fails its own arithmetic by three outlets with 13 individual state rows also failing, which we flag instead of adjust.
The system peaked at 160 in 2023 and has fallen in both years since. 22 openings against 27 departures across 2024 and 2025, and zero company-owned businesses throughout.
The 2025 outlet table fails to reconcile. 153 plus 22 openings less 24 departures gives 151 against a filed 148, with 13 state rows also failing while every 2023 and 2024 row passes. So read the 2025 column with care.
The 40 state rows fall short of the total in every year. Three to five businesses sit in states with no rows in the table, California among them.
An Illinois addendum defers all initial fees. Imposed by the state attorney general’s office, in its own words, because of the franchisor’s financial condition, a signal worth reading alongside the audited statements.
There is no sales target to keep the territory. The $60,000 minimum advertising spend and the weekly minimums are the only pressure the agreement applies.
Questions we get asked
Questions an owner asks.
What does a 360 Painting business bill?
Across 108 businesses run by 92 franchisees for the whole of 2025, gross sales averaged $453,268 a business with a median of $387,352. $537,944 a franchisee with a median of $411,455. By quartile the franchisee averages were $1,202,784, $430,894 and $104,394. Total reported sales were $48,952,949.
What does the brand take?
A 6% royalty, never less than $150 a week. 2% to the marketing fund, never less than $50. A contact center fee of 2%, never less than $220 a week and a $770 weekly cap, $210 a week of technology and $85 a week of accounting. On our reading that is $63,041 at the average business, or 13.9% of sales.
What has to be spent on local advertising?
The greater of $5,000 a month or 10% of gross sales, with monthly evidence required. On our reading, 10% only costs more than the minimum above $600,000 of sales, so most owners pay $60,000 a year. That requirement appears with the advertising obligations.
What does that add up to?
On our reading, 27.1% of gross sales at the average business, 28.1% across the median half, 21.3% at the top quartile and 93.1% at the bottom quartile. The load falls as sales rise because most of it is minimums.
Which charges apply whatever you bill?
$26,780 a year, technology at $210 a week, accounting at $85 a week and the contact center minimum at $220 a week. With the $60,000 minimum advertising spend, $86,780 is committed before any percentage applies, on our reading.
Does years open help?
Up to a point. Businesses operating 12 to 23 months averaged $323,987, those at 24 to 35 months $422,583 and those beyond 36 months $507,203, a 57% gain across three years. The oldest group also holds the system's lowest business, at $15,187.
What territory do you get?
A protected territory delineated by zip codes containing 50,000 to 80,000 single family dwellings. An exclusive territory is expressly excluded, though the brand agrees to keep other 360 Painting businesses out while you comply. Advertising or soliciting outside it, and advertising on the internet at all, need prior written consent.
Which two numbers should run monthly?
Watch sales against $50,000 a month. That is where 10% passes the $5,000 minimum and the advertising requirement stops being fixed. And committed charges against 27.1% of sales, because most of them hold steady while revenue moves.
- No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
- No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.
Questions worth putting to 360 Painting
The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.
- What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
- What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
- How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
- At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
- How many 360 Painting locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?
Run your own numbers.
The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.
Launch the diagnostic →What is committed before you quote a job?
A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around a $60,000 minimum advertising charge, $26,780 of charges that apply whatever you bill. The $600,000 where percentages finally take over.
Request the reviewthe franchise library, all 243 brands · how franchise unit economics work · running the books across several locations · what Averan does for franchise owners
360 Painting reads against the rest of the painting group: CertaPro Painters · Five Star Painting · Fresh Coat · WOW 1 DAY PAINTING. The painting guide compares all of them on the same figures.
Questions owners ask next
The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.
- At what level of sales does a minimum fee stop costing me more than the percentage?How royalty, ad fund and minimums actually work on a monthly statement.
- How much cash do I fund before a new location covers its own costs?A 13-week forecast for the months before break-even.
- My payroll percentage keeps climbing. Is that a payroll problem?Usually it is a revenue problem wearing a payroll costume.
- How much of Item 19 can I rely on?What a financial performance representation does and does not tell you.
- What should I be looking at every week?The handful of numbers that move before the P&L does.