Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Fresh Coat franchise unit economics

Fresh Coat franchisees sell residential and commercial painting through subcontracted crews from a territory of 175,000 to 200,000 people. The 62 franchises reporting a full year averaged $751,964 in 2025 against $659,219 in 2024, up 14.1%. Average gross profit after direct labor and paint fell from 43.79% to 37.8%. On those two figures the average franchisee billed $92,745 more and kept $4,430 less.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Fresh Coat Franchise Co., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Fresh Coat Franchise Co., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
62 of 182 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

Fresh Coat reports the same 62 franchises for two years running. Revenue rose 14.1% to $751,964 and average gross profit fell 5.99 points to 37.8%. Multiply one by the other and the average franchisee billed $92,745 more and kept $4,430 less.

Units reporting62 franchises, two years
Average revenue$751,964
Gross profit37.8%
Total investment$86,150–$125,250
  1. Revenue rose $92,745 and gross profit fell $4,430. $751,964 at 37.8% against $659,219 at 43.79% *, 14.1% more billing for 1.5% less kept.
  2. The bottom quarter nearly doubled while the top quarter rose 6.4%. $146,705 to $291,457 against $1,388,967 to $1,477,436, the gap between the two narrowed from 9.5 times to 5.1 times *.
  3. The rebate ladder returns the whole $54,900 fee at $4,000,000 over five years. $800,000 a year *, against a system average of $751,964, a shortfall of $240,180 across the five.
  4. Local advertising has a minimum of $36,000, which is 12.35% of a bottom-quarter franchisee’s revenue. Brand charges and marketing together take 22.41% there against 15.20% at the highest-selling franchisees *.
  5. The second quartile’s median gross profit of 61.3% sits above its own highest of 42.8%. 61.3% is also the highest figure across all 62 franchises.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.

Questions worth putting to Fresh Coat

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Fresh Coat locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

Is your growth buying margin or spending it?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around gross profit per job after crew and paint, lead cost against the minimum advertising charge. The royalty step measured across the calendar year.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Fresh Coat reads against the rest of the painting group: 360 Painting · CertaPro Painters · Five Star Painting · WOW 1 DAY PAINTING. The painting guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Fresh Coat Franchise Co.’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Fresh Coat® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.