Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

Qualicare franchise unit economics

Qualicare franchisees run a home-care agency inside a zip-code territory of up to 300,000 people. Nine reporting owners held 27 territories between them and averaged $852,618 of net revenue against a median of $330,000. The royalty is 5% of sales or $1,200 a month for each territory, whichever is higher. At three territories each, the average owner pays the minimum.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: Qualicare of America, Inc., 2025 disclosure document · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
Qualicare, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
9 of 33 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

The royalty is 5% of sales or $1,200 a month for every territory held, whichever is greater. Nine owners held 27 territories, so the typical owner faces a $43,200 minimum a year. 5% of the average $852,618 of sales is $42,631. The average owner pays the minimum, not the percentage.

Units reporting9 owners, 27 territories, FY2025
Average net revenue$852,618
Median net revenue$330,000
minimum royalty$1,200 a month a territory
  1. The minimum beats the rate at the system average. $43,200 against $42,631 of royalty at three territories *, so the owner who exactly matches the average pays a fixed sum.
  2. Escaping the minimum takes $288,000 a year for each territory held. *, $864,000 for the three-territory owner, which sits above the filed average.
  3. The average is 2.58 times the median. $852,618 against $330,000, with 3 of 9 owners reaching the average, a $522,618 gap * driven by one agency at $2,913,355.
  4. The median owner has a 22.47% franchise fees. $74,160 on $330,000 *, against 9.31% at the average and 6.95% at the top, because $61,200 of it is fixed.
  5. Twenty-nine territories opened and eighteen were terminated in three years. On a base that started at 26 and finished at 33, customers lost of roughly two thirds of the system.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.
  • No ramp. The filing does not show how a new location builds up, so the first-year curve has to be assumed.

Questions worth putting to Qualicare

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many Qualicare locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

Are you paying the rate or the minimum?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around $288,000 a territory, $70,860 of fixed brand cost at three territories. A median owner carrying more than twice the load of the average one.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

Qualicare reads against the rest of the non-medical home care group: Assisting Hands Home Care · CareBuilders At Home · Caring Senior Service · ComForCare · Comfort Keepers · Executive Home Care. The non-medical home care guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from Qualicare of America. Inc.’s 2025 disclosure document and is unaudited by us, we are unaffiliated with the brand, calculations of our own are marked with an asterisk where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Qualicare® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.