Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

CareBuilders At Home franchise unit economics

CareBuilders At Home franchisees run a non-medical home care agency, placing caregivers with older adults across a territory of roughly 30,000 to 40,000 people aged 65 or over. The franchisor handling wages funding and back office. Across 22 offices, the year to September 2025 averaged $1,909,010 of sales, with 35.00% left after caregiver costs. A 9% royalty on revenue therefore takes 25.7% of what the business keeps.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: CareBuilders At Home, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
CareBuilders At Home, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
22 of 28 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

This is one of the few home care documents that reports a cost line. On average 35.00% is left after caregiver wages, payroll taxes, benefits, insurance and card fees. On a $1,909,010 average that is $668,154 of gross profit, and a 9% royalty on revenue takes 25.7% of it.

Units reporting22 of 28 outlets, year to September 2025
Average revenue$1,909,010
gross profit35.00%
Royalty as a share of gross profit25.7%
  1. A 9% royalty on revenue is 25.7% of gross profit. Because the business keeps 35.00% of every dollar after direct costs *, and at the lowest-selling reported margin of 21.41% the same royalty takes 42.0%.
  2. Add local marketing and the brand’s share of gross profit reaches 28.6%. 1% of revenue or $1,000 a month, whichever is greater, 46.7% of gross profit at the lowest-selling margin and 20.7% at the highest-selling *.
  3. Gross profit runs from 21.41% to 48.25%. A 26.84-point range across 22 outlets *, and the median improved 2.23 points in two years, from 33.94% to 36.17%.
  4. Revenue grew 20.7% in two years. $1,581,248 to $1,909,010 on the average and $1,316,957 to $1,609,462 on the median *, with the highest-selling outlet reaching $5,347,452.
  5. The royalty minimum reaches $112,000 a year and then compounds. Zero in the first half-year, rising to $56,000 a half by year four, then 5% more every six months, $196,347 a year by year ten *.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.

Questions worth putting to CareBuilders At Home

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many CareBuilders At Home locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

What is a point of margin worth to you?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around the 35.00% system margin, the $19,090 a single point is worth. The semi-annual minimum your year is carrying.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

CareBuilders At Home reads against the rest of the non-medical home care group: Assisting Hands Home Care · Caring Senior Service · ComForCare · Comfort Keepers · Executive Home Care · FirstLight Home Care. The non-medical home care guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from CareBuilders At Home. LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. CareBuilders At Home® is a registered trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.