Bio-One franchise unit economics
Bio-One franchisees provide biohazard, crime and trauma scene, hoarding and medical waste cleanup from a business vehicle, usually run from home.
Bio-One franchise at a glance
In its 2026 FDD Bio-One reports 2025 revenue in four tiers for franchisees open at least 12 months, and expense and Adjusted EBITDA percentages from the P&L reports of 61 franchisees in 75 locations.
Bio-One franchisees averaged $372,962* of sales in 2025, according to Item 19 of Bio-One’s 2026 FDD, issued 8 April 2026. The 113 in that group are 78%* of Bio-One’s 144 franchised outlets. Fees paid to Bio-One come to about 11.59%* of sales. A Bio-One franchise costs $134,645 to $221,095 to open.
- Bio-One franchisees open at least 12 months averaged $802,263 of revenue in 2025 in the highest of four tiers and $80,429 in the lowest.
- Bio-One franchisees who sent 2025 P&L reports had an average Adjusted EBITDA of 16.11% of revenue and a median of 30.43%.
- A Bio-One franchise pays a royalty of 7.5% of gross sales, with a minimum royalty that rises from $750 a month to $2,250 a month from the 25th month.
- A Bio-One franchise also pays a 2% marketing fee and a $650 monthly technology maintenance fee, and must spend the greater of $3,000 or 5% of gross sales on local advertising.
- A Bio-One franchise costs $134,645 to $221,095 to open, including $103,095 paid to the franchisor or an affiliate.
- Bio-One had 144 franchised and 3 company-owned outlets at the end of 2025, after 51* franchised openings and 41* terminations from 2023 to 2025.
These figures come from Bio-One's 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, as the brand reported them, and were read by Averan Advisors. The $372,962 weighted average (each tier average times its count, divided by 113), the 51 openings and the 41 terminations (sums of the three years in Item 20) are Averan calculations.
Own this franchise?
See what your numbers should look like every month.
Talk to Averan → Averan Bio-One Conversion Package →- Item 19 reports 2025 revenue in four tiers, not one average. Tier averages were $802,263, $393,058, $226,545 and $80,429. The tier ranges do not overlap, so they work as quartiles. The highest tier’s average is 9.97 times* the lowest tier’s.
- Revenue among franchisees open at least 12 months ran from $5,280 to $1,380,424 in 2025. The lowest tier ran from $5,280 to $148,510 and the highest from $533,389 to $1,380,424. The text says 110 franchisees are in the table, while the four tier counts add to 113*.
- Franchisees who sent P&L reports averaged 16.11% Adjusted EBITDA, with a median of 30.43%. These are 61 franchisees in 75 locations, a different group from the revenue tiers. Payroll and personnel averaged 35.20% of revenue and includes owner draws and benefits, so the EBITDA figure is after what owners paid themselves.
- The minimum royalty triples over the first 25 months. It is $750 a month for months 1 to 12, $1,500 for months 13 to 24 and $2,250 after that, or $9,000, $18,000 and $27,000 a year*. A 7.5% royalty reaches $27,000 at $360,000* of annual gross sales. At the lowest tier’s average of $80,429, $27,000 would be 33.6%* of revenue.
- Bio-One opened 51 franchised outlets from 2023 to 2025 and ended with 144, the same count it started with. Terminations totalled 41*, non-renewals 6* and reacquisitions 3. In 2025 the franchisor reacquired 3 Georgia outlets, its first company-owned outlets. Item 20 projects 0 new franchised outlets for 2026.
Revenue by tier
How much does a Bio-One franchise make?
| Tier | Franchisees | Average | Median | Highest | Lowest | Above tier average |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tier 1 | 28 | $802,263 | $709,844 | $1,380,424 | $533,389 | 11 (39%) |
| Tier 2 | 28 | $393,058 | $385,848 | $498,160 | $314,948 | 13 (46%) |
| Tier 3 | 28 | $226,545 | $217,488 | $312,574 | $148,781 | 13 (46%) |
| Tier 4 | 29 | $80,429 | $73,138 | $148,510 | $5,280 | 13 (45%) |
| All four tiers* | 113* | $372,962* | – | $1,380,424 | $5,280 | – |
Source: Item 19. The All row is Averan’s weighted average: each tier average times its count, divided by 113. Item 19 does not print an average or median for all franchisees. Item 19 states that franchisees who did not report were left out.
Bio-One franchisees open at least 12 months averaged between $80,429 and $802,263 of revenue in 2025, depending on tier. Item 19 splits them into four tiers of 28 or 29. Averan’s weighted average across the four tiers is $372,962*. Franchisees with less than 12 months of revenue are not included.
The franchisee count in the text and in the table do not match. The text says 110 franchisees fit in the table, and the tier counts of 28, 28, 28 and 29 add to 113*. This page uses 113 for the weighted average.
Item 19 also reports 2025 revenue by job category. Death-related biohazard work was the largest of five categories, at nearly half of the adjusted revenue in that table, followed by hoarding, non-death-related biohazard, mold and odor, and drug cleanup. That table is printed as an image and does not state which franchisees it covers.
Revenue is not income. Wages, owner draws, the vehicle, consumables, marketing, insurance and the brand charges all come out of revenue. The next section shows the expense percentages Item 19 reports.
Expenses and EBITDA
Expenses and Adjusted EBITDA, 2025
| Line | Average | Median |
|---|---|---|
| COGS | 9.30% | 8.53% |
| Facilities and supplies | 4.50% | 3.96% |
| Payroll and personnel | 35.20% | 26.64% |
| Marketing and advertising | 10.00% | 11.28% |
| Insurance | 3.20% | 3.37% |
| Legal and accounting | 2.10% | 1.44% |
| Auto and travel | 3.80% | 3.54% |
| Local tax and licensing | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Other business expenses | 3.50% | 1.85% |
| Meals and entertainment | 1.50% | 1.45% |
| Bank charges | 0.50% | 0.00% |
| Other income and expenses | 2.80% | 2.16% |
| Total costs | 76.39% | 62.07% |
| Adjusted EBITDA | 16.11% | 30.43% |
Source: Item 19. Item 19 states the average and median are based on 61 active franchisees in good standing who supplied 2025 P&L reports, operating in 75 locations; it also says 79 P&L reports were received. Payroll and personnel includes owner draws and benefits. Bank charges include bad debt. Item 19 also prints the full P&L of the lowest and highest Adjusted EBITDA locations.
Franchisees who sent 2025 P&L reports had an average Adjusted EBITDA of 16.11% of revenue and a median of 30.43%. Item 19 states that the figures were adjusted so the royalty and other fees match those in the current franchise agreement. Item 19 does not state the average revenue of this group, so the EBITDA cannot be turned into dollars.
Payroll and personnel was the largest cost, at an average of 35.20% of revenue and a median of 26.64%. This line includes owner draws and benefits as well as direct and indirect labor. An owner who draws pay through this line is already paid before the 16.11%.
The cost lines do not by themselves add to the Adjusted EBITDA. Total costs average 76.39% and Adjusted EBITDA 16.11%, which leaves 7.50 points* not shown in the table, the same size as the 7.5% royalty. The median column leaves the same 7.50 points*. Item 19 does not itemize the adjustment.
Results ranged from an Adjusted EBITDA of -166.76% to 53.97% of revenue. These are the lowest and highest locations by Adjusted EBITDA. At the lowest, total costs were 259.26% of revenue.
Spread across franchisees
Revenue spread across the tiers, 2025
| Comparison | Figure |
|---|---|
| Tier 1 average divided by Tier 4 average | 9.97 times* |
| Tier 1 average divided by Tier 2 average | 2.04 times* |
| Lowest revenue in Tier 1 | $533,389 |
| Highest revenue in Tier 4 | $148,510 |
| 7.5% royalty on the Tier 1 average | $60,170* |
| 7.5% royalty on the Tier 4 average | $6,032* |
| $27,000 minimum royalty as a share of the Tier 4 average | 33.6%* |
Source: Item 19 tiers and Item 6 royalty terms. The minimum royalty of $2,250 a month applies from the 25th month; Item 19 does not state how long each franchisee in Tier 4 had been open.
The Tier 1 average of $802,263 is 9.97 times* the Tier 4 average of $80,429. Each tier holds about a quarter of the franchisees, and the tier ranges do not overlap. The lowest franchisee in Tier 1 billed $533,389.
Within each tier, fewer than half of franchisees reached the tier average. 11 of 28 in Tier 1, 13 of 28 in Tiers 2 and 3, and 13 of 29 in Tier 4 were above their tier average. In each tier the median is below the average.
The lowest tier ran from $5,280 to $148,510. From the 25th month the minimum royalty is $27,000 a year*, which equals 33.6%* of the Tier 4 average. A 7.5% royalty reaches that minimum at $360,000* of gross sales, above the highest revenue in Tiers 3 and 4.
Brand charges
Brand charges
| Charge | Rate or amount | Minimum | At the four-tier average* |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty | 7.5% of gross sales, monthly | $750 a month (months 1–12), $1,500 (months 13–24), $2,250 (month 25 on) | $27,972* |
| Marketing fee | 2% of gross sales, may rise to 3% | $200 a month | $7,459* |
| Technology maintenance fee | $650 a month | – | $7,800* |
| Local advertising (spent by the franchisee) | 5% of gross sales | $3,000 | $18,648* |
| Accounting software, if designated | $0 to $250 a month | – | Not computed |
| Regional advertising cooperative | Currently $0 | – | – |
| Royalty, marketing fee and technology | 11.59% of gross sales* | $43,231* |
Source: Item 6 and Item 11. The local advertising amount is paid to local suppliers, subject to the franchisor’s approval, not to the franchisor; with it the total is 16.59%*. Item 6 does not state the period for the $3,000 local advertising minimum, and Item 7 and Item 11 separately require at least $2,000 a month of local marketing.
The royalty is the greater of 7.5% of gross sales or a minimum royalty. The minimum is $750 a month for the first 12 months, $1,500 from the 13th month and $2,250 from the 25th month to the end of the initial term. That is $9,000, $18,000 and $27,000 a year*. Royalties are drawn by ACH on or before the 16th of each month, and billing starts within 90 days of signing or the month after the first gross sales, whichever comes first.
The marketing fee is the greater of $200 or 2% of gross sales, and the franchisor may raise it to 3%. It must give at least 60 days of written notice. The $650 monthly technology maintenance fee, made up of a $100 technology fee and a $550 software fee, may be raised by any amount on the same notice.
At the four-tier average of $372,962*, the royalty, marketing fee and technology fee come to $43,231*, or 11.59%* of gross sales. The required local advertising adds 5%, and the three lines with it come to 16.59%*.
Other charges apply when triggered. Item 6 lists a QSP equipment package renewal of $10,000 no more than once every five years, consumables replacement that franchisees have spent $100 to $1,000 a month on, a $15,000 transfer fee, a $10,000 successor franchise fee, a $1,500 fee for additional or substitute manager training, a $1,500 mandatory non-attendance fee, a $150 late fee per month for each late fee, a $50 a day report late fee, a $750 audit fee plus costs, and default interest of 15% a year compounded monthly.
Cost to open
Cost to open
| Item | Low | High |
|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise fee | $60,000 | $60,000 |
| QSP equipment package | $39,500 | $39,500 |
| Technology startup fee | $1,595 | $1,595 |
| Annual conference registration deposit | $2,000 | $2,000 |
| Business vehicle | $0 | $45,000 |
| Business vehicle tax, title and license | $0 | $4,000 |
| Business vehicle insurance | $1,000 | $1,200 |
| Local marketing | $9,000 | $15,000 |
| Computer hardware, software and other electronics | $800 | $7,800 |
| OSHA training fee | $2,000 | $2,000 |
| Initial training expenses | $0 | $3,500 |
| OSHA training expenses | $0 | $3,500 |
| Certifications | $2,500 | $3,500 |
| Insurance and professional services | $1,250 | $4,000 |
| Rent and rental improvements | $0 | $1,500 |
| Furniture, fixtures and equipment | $0 | $2,000 |
| Additional funds, three months | $15,000 | $25,000 |
| Total | $134,645 | $221,095 |
Source: Item 7. The cover page states that $103,095 of the total is paid to the franchisor or an affiliate.
Item 7 estimates $134,645 to $221,095 to open a Bio-One franchise. The cover page states that $103,095 of this is paid to the franchisor or an affiliate. That is 76.6%* of the low estimate and 46.6%* of the high estimate. The franchise fee, the QSP equipment package and the technology startup fee are due at signing, and the conference deposit within 7 days.
The business vehicle accounts for $45,000 of the gap between the low and high estimates. The franchisee must own, buy or lease a late-model vehicle such as a Ford E350 box truck, 15 years old or less, bright white and free of material dents, scratches or rust. The low estimate assumes the franchisee already has one.
The business is intended to run from the owner’s home. The rent line of $0 to $1,500 is an optional three months for a 150 square foot office. Additional funds of $15,000 to $25,000 cover the first three months, including employee salaries and an owner’s salary or draw.
Item 5 offers two discounts on the initial franchise fee. Veterans and first responders may qualify for 15% off, and buying more than one franchise at the same time earns $10,000 off.
A franchisee must open within 90 days of signing. Item 11 states that franchisees typically open within 60 to 90 days. Item 12 states that a typical Protected Marketing Territory has a population of about 1,000,000, and that the franchisee does not receive an exclusive territory.
Locations
Locations, 2023 to 2025
| Year | Franchised at start | Opened | Terminated | Non-renewed | Reacquired | Ceased, other | Franchised at end | Transfers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 144 | 18 | 13 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 146 | 8 |
| 2024 | 146 | 21 | 11 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 152 | 4 |
| 2025 | 152 | 12 | 17 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 144 | 2 |
| 2023–2025* | 144 | 51* | 41* | 6* | 3 | 1 | 144 | 14* |
Source: Item 20, Tables 1 to 4. Company-owned outlets were 0 until 2025, when the franchisor reacquired 3 franchised outlets in Georgia. Total outlets at the end of 2025 were 147.
Bio-One had 144 franchised outlets at the start of 2023 and 144 at the end of 2025. Over the three years 51* franchised outlets opened, 41* were terminated, 6* were not renewed, 3 were reacquired and 1 ceased operation for other reasons.
In 2025 franchised outlets fell from 152 to 144. There were 12 openings and 17 terminations. Terminations in 2025 equal 11.2%* of the franchised outlets at the start of the year. California went from 17 to 12 and Florida from 12 to 9.
The franchisor had 3 company-owned outlets at the end of 2025, all in Georgia. All three were reacquired from franchisees in 2025; Item 20 shows none before that.
Item 20 lists 3 franchise agreements signed for outlets not yet open, 1 in California and 2 in Texas. It projects 0 new franchised outlets and 0 new company-owned outlets in the next fiscal year.
Item 1 gives a different count. It states that Ringside Development Company had 127 franchises in operation at December 31, 2025, while Item 20 shows 144 franchised outlets. The FDD does not explain the difference.
Questions we get asked
Questions owners ask
How much does it cost to open a Bio-One franchise?
The 2026 FDD estimates $134,645 to $221,095, including the $60,000 initial franchise fee and the $39,500 QSP equipment package. $103,095 of the total is paid to the franchisor or an affiliate. The business vehicle, at $0 to $45,000, is the largest variable line.
What fees does a Bio-One franchisee pay?
A royalty of 7.5% of gross sales with a minimum that rises from $750 to $2,250 a month, a marketing fee of 2% (at least $200, and it may rise to 3%), and a technology maintenance fee of $650 a month. The franchisee must also spend the greater of $3,000 or 5% of gross sales on local advertising.
How much revenue does a Bio-One franchise make?
Item 19 reports 2025 revenue for franchisees open at least 12 months in four tiers. Tier averages were $802,263, $393,058, $226,545 and $80,429, and revenue ranged from $5,280 to $1,380,424. Averan’s weighted average across the 113 franchisees in the tiers is $372,962.
Does the Bio-One FDD show profit?
Yes. Franchisees who sent 2025 P&L reports had an average Adjusted EBITDA of 16.11% of revenue and a median of 30.43%. Payroll and personnel costs, which include owner draws, averaged 35.20% of revenue.
How many Bio-One locations are there?
At the end of 2025 there were 144 franchised and 3 company-owned outlets, 147 in total. Franchised outlets opened 51 times and were terminated 41 times from 2023 to 2025, and the count ended where it started.
How long does it take to open a Bio-One franchise?
Item 11 states that franchisees typically open within 60 to 90 days of signing and must open within 90 days. At least one of two trainees must finish Initial Training before opening.
Questions worth putting to Bio-One
These are questions the filing leaves open. An owner or a buyer can put them to the franchisor directly.
- Is the revenue in Item 19 gross sales or collected revenue, and how many locations sit below the average?
- Which factors does Bio-One see in its highest-selling locations, such as territory, years open and staffing?
- How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
- At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
- How many Bio-One locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?
Run your own numbers.
The Franchise Numbers Check runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. It also checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.
Launch the diagnostic →Reporting for a Bio-One owner
We review your unit economics and cash forecast and build your monthly reporting around the figures on this page.
Talk to Averanthe franchise library, all 431 brands · how franchise unit economics work · running the books across several locations · what Averan does for franchise owners
Other brands in the Restoration guide:
Questions owners ask next
The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.
- At what level of sales does a minimum fee stop costing me more than the percentage?It works out the sales level where a minimum fee stops applying.
- How much cash do I fund before a new location covers its own costs?It builds a 13-week forecast for the months before break-even.
- What does this location earn on the money I put into it?It works out the payback period and cash-on-cash return for one unit.
- How much of Item 19 can I rely on?It explains what an Item 19 financial performance representation tells you and what it leaves out.
Where these figures come from
Every figure here comes from Ringside Development Company d/b/a Bio-One Colorado, Inc.’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us. We are unaffiliated with the brand. Calculations of our own are labeled where they appear. The figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. Bio-One is a trademark of its owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.
These figures come from the brand's disclosure. They are not a forecast, an offer to sell a franchise or advice. Source: Ringside Development Company d/b/a Bio-One Colorado, Inc., 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, issued 8 April 2026.