Services Work with us Who We ServeAboutResourcesContact Search and leadership ↗
Breakdown

BFT franchise unit economics

BFT studios run 2,400 to 2,800 square feet on memberships, which are 92% of revenue. The 36 studios that traded the whole of 2025 averaged $399,433 of sales on 185 monthly active members, $179.92 a member a month. Members leave at 6.6% a month, so an average member stays 15.2 months and is worth $2,726. The average studio has to sign 12.2 memberships a month before it grows at all.

By Scott Engler · Averan Advisors · Source: BFT Franchise SPV, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) · Updated 22 September 2026

Where these figures come from
Primary source
BFT Franchise SPV, LLC, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document
Items read
Items 5 and 6 for fees; Item 7 for cost to open; Item 19 for sales and any profit figure; Item 20 for the location count
Population
36 of 44 locations
Our calculations
Marked on the page with an asterisk. Method
Last reviewed
26 September 2026

Disclosure-based. Not a forecast, not an offer to sell a franchise, and not advice.

Key idea

A BFT member pays $179.92 a month and stays 15.2 months. At 6.6% leaving every month, the average studio loses 12.2 of its 185 members before it opens on the first of the month, and it signs 19, so 64.3% of a year’s selling goes on standing still.

Units reporting36 studios, 2025
A member a month$179.92
Monthly members leaving6.6%
Total investment$691,372–$1,151,135
  1. A member is worth $2,726 over 15.2 months.$399,433 across 185 members is $179.92 a month, and 6.6% monthly members leaving gives a 15.2-month stay *.
  2. The average studio signs 19 memberships a month and loses 12.2.64.3% of new selling replaces leavers *; at the worst members leaving on file, 11.6%, those 185 members lose 21.5 a month, more than the average studio signs.
  3. Thirteen studios closed during 2025 against eight opened.The count fell from 49 to 44, and every one of the thirteen had traded more than twelve months.
  4. A new studio’s revenue peaks in month six at $35,193 and sits at $31,629 by month eleven.Active members peak at 186 in month six and fall to 165, 21 members and $3,564 a month.
  5. Brand charges take 22.60% of the lowest-selling studios’s revenue and 11.84% of the highest-selling’s.$44,166 on $195,404 against $120,298 on $1,015,621 *, 245 member-months at the weak end.
What this filing does not disclose
  • No profit figure. The filing reports sales and not earnings, so what an owner keeps is not disclosed.
  • No cost lines. Wages, rent and cost of goods are not broken out, so margin cannot be rebuilt from the document.

Questions worth putting to BFT

The filing answers what it answers. These are the gaps an owner or a buyer should close directly.

  1. What do locations at the median spend on wages and rent as a share of sales? The filing reports sales only.
  2. What separates the highest-selling locations from the lowest: trade area, years open, size, or the owner?
  3. How long does a new location take to reach the average you publish, and what does the build-up look like month by month?
  4. At what level of sales do the minimum charges stop applying and the percentage take over?
  5. How many BFT locations closed, were sold, or changed hands last year, and why?

Run your own numbers.

The Franchise Finance Diagnostic runs the same checks on your own numbers. It scores where you stand and compares you with Item 19 of your brand’s FDD. It works out what one location earns and spends, and builds a 13-week cash forecast. Checks whether you are ready to open another one. It is free and it runs in your browser.

Launch the diagnostic →

What is your members leaving actually costing?

A structured review of your unit economics, cash forecast. Reporting, built around members in and members out each month, revenue a member, and the fixed charges measured in member-months.

Request the review
The same business, other brands

BFT reads against the rest of the group training studios group: 9ROUND · Burn Boot Camp · D1 Training · F45 Training · Orangetheory Fitness · SWEAT440. The group training studios guide compares all of them on the same figures.

Questions owners ask next

The figures above raise these, and each one is answered on its own page.

Scott Engler

Founder & Principal, Averan Advisors

Averan provides bookkeeping, controller, and fractional CFO support for franchise owners and has Certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors on the team. More about the team →

Where these figures come from.

Every figure here comes from BFT Franchise SPV, LLC’s 2026 FDD and is unaudited by us, except where the Latest tab cites a dated public source, we are unaffiliated with the brand, calculations of our own are labeled where they appear, the figures describe past performance at other businesses and are not a projection of yours. This page is an educational summary. It is not an offer to sell a franchise, and it is not financial, legal or tax advice. BFT® and Body Fit Training® are trademarks of their owner. How Averan reads a Franchise Disclosure Document.

If you want this done for you

What happens next

Everything above came out of a filing. Doing it on your own numbers means the books have to produce the same lines: sales, wages, occupancy, fees and what is left, by location, every month. That is the work.

  1. The call, twenty minutesYou describe the business and where the numbers are letting you down. We tell you honestly whether we can help, and what we would start with. No pitch deck.
  2. We look at the fileYou give us read access to the books as they are. We come back with what is wrong, what it will take to fix, and whether the answer is bookkeeping, controller work, or something else.
  3. A written scope and a priceWhat we do each month, what you get, the date it lands, and the fee. Agreed before anything starts, and it does not move without you agreeing it.
  4. Transition, then the first closeAccess, systems, and the opening balances. The first close lands on the date in the scope, and every one after it does too.

Averan is not a CPA firm and does not file taxes. Your CPA keeps that, and we keep the books they file from.